Remote Monitoring & Chronic Care
N

Nanowear

Nanowear weaves the sensors into clothing. SimpleSense is a gender neutral, size adjustable undergarment of patented cloth based nanosensors that records two ECG leads, respiration rate, heart sounds and activity, which the company says amounts to more than 120 million data points per patient per day, and reports AI enabled analytics to physicians.

FDA has cleared four Nanowear products: SimplECG (2016), SimpleSENSE (2020), the SimpleSENSE Platform (2021), whose indication is to record, display and store those signals at home, in a healthcare facility or in research under a licensed professional's direction, and SimpleSense-BP (December 2023), a fixed ensemble model that estimates blood pressure retrospectively from the garment's signals with cuff recalibration every 21 days, validated in 147 and 91 subject studies.

The product page markets the garment as an FDA cleared remote diagnostic platform replacing the blood pressure line, digital stethoscope, multi channel ECG, hemodynamic monitor, spirometer and actigraphy monitors, which goes beyond the cleared indications. The company hosts on Amazon Web Services, is working towards SOC 2 Type II, and has a data partnership ingesting Dexcom glucose readings. Founded in 2014 and headquartered in New York, with research operations in Berkeley and University Park, it is led by co-founder and chief executive Venk Varadan and holds 13 awarded and 12 pending patents. No pricing is published.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 27, 2026
Compare Nanowear with other vendors
Founded
2014
Headquarters
New York, New York, United States
Categories
remote-monitoring, home-care-operations, diagnostics-and-genomics
Indexed Products
SimpleSense, SimpleSense-BP, SimplECG
Buyer Segments
Health System, Physician Practice
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Regulatory Filing

Learned models are the engine of the platform's analytics, and the cleared garment has value without them. SimpleSense is an undergarment of cloth nanosensors that records two ECG leads, respiration rate by thoracic impedance, heart sounds and activity, which is the cleared indication for the platform (K212160) and is directly readable by a clinician.

On top of that the company sells AI enabled analytics in reports for physicians, and its cleared blood pressure product (SimpleSense-BP, K232053, December 2023) is an ensemble of models that estimates systolic and diastolic pressure from features of the garment's signals and the patient's demographics, a measurement that exists only as an inference. The company describes itself as building deep learning based diagnostics from more than 120 million data points per patient per day. Remove the models and the garment still records cleared physiological data, so the model is the engine of a core module rather than the whole product.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Regulatory Filing

The boundary is published in regulatory language and the operational rules are not. The company's security page publishes the platform's indication for use: to record, display and store two ECG leads, respiration rate, heart sounds and activity, under the direction of a licensed medical professional.

The blood pressure filing (K232053) adds that the estimates are retrospective, produce no alarms, are not for active patient monitoring, require recalibration with a cuff every 21 days, and are rejected when movement is detected. Output reaches physicians as reports.

What is missing is operation: who reviews the reports in home use, what triggers escalation, how quickly, and what the AI enabled real time analytics the product page describes do between reports, which sits awkwardly beside a filing that rules out active monitoring.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Regulatory Filing

The sensing and one model are described specifically. The garment uses cloth based nanosensors in a gender neutral, size adjustable undergarment that the company says captures electrophysiological, hemodynamic, acoustic and activity signals time synchronously.

The SimpleSense-BP filing (K232053) describes an ensemble of models estimating systolic and diastolic pressure from features extracted from garment data plus age, gender, height and weight, states that the algorithm is fixed rather than adaptive, and requires cuff recalibration every 21 days; company material has described it as four decision trees.

The deep learning behind the AI enabled real time analytics in physician reports is not described, with no model, operating point or version, and the company's description of a platform that gets smarter with each patient is not reconciled with the fixed model in the filing. The company holds 13 awarded and 12 pending patents across sensors, manufacturing, platform, ingestion and algorithms.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

The chain is structurally short at the model layer and partly named around it. The blood pressure model is Nanowear's own, cleared as a fixed algorithm (K232053) that cannot be changed without regulatory change control, and the company's patents cover its sensors, manufacturing, platform, ingestion pipeline and algorithms, so no third party model provider appears in published material.

The security page names Amazon Web Services as host, and the company has named partners whose data or products meet the platform: Dexcom for continuous glucose readings, a blood collection patch developer and a surgical device distributor. No subprocessor register or contract manufacturer is published, and nothing states the retention and training terms that govern data exchanged with partners or the consent basis for any model learning from deployed data.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Regulatory Filing

One product has published validation with method, and the headline claim is much broader. The SimpleSense-BP summary (K232053) reports two studies under IEEE 1708: induced blood pressure change in 147 usable subjects across hypertension categories (mean difference 0.09 mmHg, SD 4.08 systolic) and a 21 day calibration study of 91 subjects with no evidence of drift.

The product page claims the garment captures more than 120 million data points a day and replaces the blood pressure line, digital stethoscope, multi channel ECG, hemodynamic monitor, spirometer and actigraphy monitors; the evidence published answers blood pressure estimation, not that claim.

The company has named a remote diagnostic research alliance with a New Jersey hospital system and a Brooklyn medical center and a distribution partnership for post surgical recovery, with no deployment volume or outcome figures, and a 60 percent workflow reduction quoted by an executive carries no method.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

Security controls are described and the AI questions are not answered. The company's security page says data is hosted on Amazon Web Services and encrypted in motion and at rest (HTTPS, AES-256), with role based access controls, 24/7 monitoring, redundant systems and encrypted backups replicated offsite, and states a commitment to the privacy of protected health information under federal and state law.

Nothing states a retention schedule, whether patient recordings are used to develop models, or how data is de-identified. Company material has described the platform as getting smarter with each patient, while the blood pressure filing (K232053) describes a fixed model; which models learn from deployed data, and under what consent and change control, is unstated. The record is dense: the company says the garment captures more than 120 million data points per patient per day. No safety engineering is published.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

A HIPAA commitment is stated and the document behind it is not shown to reach the service. The security page says Nanowear is committed to maintaining HIPAA compliance and, as a participant in patient health care, to the privacy of protected health information under applicable federal and state law, and it links the company's privacy policy as its notice. No business associate status, agreement, execution requirement or subcontractor terms are published.

The platform is cleared for home, facility and research use, which produce different contracting pictures, and the Dexcom data partnership moves patient data across a company boundary on terms not described.

DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are asserted with nothing independent behind them, or nothing is published. Read the note before concluding anything: this is the grade most often corrected on a second pass, because assurance material frequently sits on a parent domain or inside an old announcement rather than on the product pages.
Vendor Published

Controls are asserted with nothing independent behind them yet. The security page lists AWS hosting, AES-256 encryption in motion and at rest, role based access controls, 24/7 monitoring, redundancy and encrypted offsite backups, and says Nanowear is working toward SOC 2 Type II certification with Vanta. No completed attestation, penetration testing on a stated cadence, vulnerability disclosure route or trust portal is published.

The surface is a connected device worn against the body in patients' homes, sending a dense continuous record and exchanging data with a partner's glucose system, and the blood pressure product is cleared software with cybersecurity expectations of its own; device authentication, firmware practice, garment decommissioning between patients and the partner data channel are unaddressed.

DD on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe positioning is unclear or unsupported: clinical claims with no regulatory position stated, or language implying a status the databases do not carry. An open enforcement action that names the product also grades here, whatever the positioning: an FDA warning letter with no close out letter posted, or a consent decree in force. The note says which of the two applies, and the grade returns to the positioning bands when FDA closes the action.
Regulatory Filing

The clearances are real and the marketing claims a status they do not carry. FDA's database lists four 510(k) clearances for Nanowear, Inc.: SimplECG (K161431, November 2016) and SimpleSENSE (K201669, November 2020) and the SimpleSENSE Platform (K212160, September 2021), all product code DXH (ECG transmitters and receivers, 21 CFR 870.2920), and SimpleSense-BP (K232053, December 2023, product code DXN, non invasive blood pressure, 870.1130).

The company's own security page publishes the indication: to record, display and store two ECG leads, respiration rate by thoracic impedance, heart sounds and activity including posture, under a licensed professional's direction; the blood pressure filing adds retrospective estimates with no alarms, not for active monitoring.

The product page calls SimpleSense an "FDA cleared remote diagnostic platform" that replaces the blood pressure line, digital stethoscope, multi channel ECG, hemodynamic monitor, spirometer and actigraphy monitors, monitors lung volume, and generates AI enabled real time analytics; no Nanowear clearance covers spirometry, lung volume, hemodynamic monitoring or real time diagnostic analytics. The security page also still says three clearances.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with. A framework covering the vendor whole portfolio counts when its scope reaches this product; what it cannot supply is the product specific evaluation the band above asks for. Published results within the one group where the performance of this product is most at risk also sit here: evaluation on the question this axis asks, short of the comparison across groups the band above requires. A medical device clearance or certification, and the quality system behind it, does not reach this band on its own; it is graded under regulatory status. A regulator reviewed plan governing how the model may change does reach it.
Regulatory Filing

The blood pressure model's evaluation discloses its groups and counts without results by group. The SimpleSense-BP 510(k) summary (K232053, 8 December 2023) describes an induced change study of 149 enrolled subjects (147 usable; 68 female, 81 male; 17 Asian, 45 Black, 20 Hispanic, 67 White) with at least 21 subjects in each hypertension category from normal to stage 2, and a 21 day calibration study of 91 subjects, about 74 percent hypertensive, and the company describes training and validation in independent geographies with populations mirroring the national census.

That is a subgroup design named with counts; no accuracy is reported by sex, race, body habitus or blood pressure category, so where the model underperforms cannot be seen. The cardiopulmonary analytics carry no comparable statement. Sensing depends on cloth contact, so signal quality plausibly varies with body habitus, breast tissue, chest hair, skin condition and fit. No fairness framework, drift monitoring or outside audit is published.

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route the affected person can exercise against the vendor. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here. A statutory right that runs to the covered entity rather than to the vendor does not reach this band on its own: every other route here asks something of the vendor, and being located in a particular jurisdiction is not conduct.
Regulatory Filing

Nanowear's own filing publishes an error figure for its learned blood pressure model with method and case counts. The SimpleSense-BP 510(k) summary (K232053, cleared 8 December 2023, Nanowear, Inc.) describes an ensemble model estimating systolic and diastolic pressure from garment signal features and demographics, fixed rather than adaptive, validated under IEEE 1708: in an induced change study of 147 usable subjects against auscultatory reference, mean difference 0.09 mmHg (SD 4.08) systolic and 0.35 mmHg (SD 3.32) diastolic, within the ISO 81060-2 criteria; in a 21 day calibration study of 91 subjects, weekly systolic mean differences of -2.94 to -0.88 mmHg (SD 4.82 to 5.13).

These are test results for adults at rest with a stationary torso, recalibrated with a cuff every 21 days, for retrospective estimates that raise no alarms; they do not cover the cardiopulmonary analytics, and they are not performance in use. No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published, and where analyses combine the company's data with a partner's glucose readings, nothing says how responsibility divides.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

Device level data exchange is named and record system integration is absent. The company has described a licensing and data partnership that ingests Dexcom continuous glucose readings time synchronously with its own cardiovascular data, and an initiative to integrate blood collection patches, and it holds a patent on its ingestion pipeline. The product page says output reaches physicians as easy to read reports. No electronic health record is named, no HL7 or FHIR interface is described, no marketplace listing appears, and nothing states whether recordings or reports reach the patient's chart.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

The host is named and its location is not. The security page says the platform runs on Amazon Web Services with redundant systems, no single point of failure, and encrypted backups replicated offsite. No region, residency commitment, tenancy model or recovery objective is published.

The platform is cleared for use at home, in a healthcare facility and in medical research organizations, which involve different networks and data paths, and nothing says whether deployment differs or whether a facility can keep data on premises. For home use the garment depends on connectivity the company does not control, and nothing states whether it buffers locally or what happens to a recording interrupted mid session.

Commercial
DD on Commercial TransparencyNothing a buyer can establish before a sales conversation. A published pricing claim contradicted by evidence also grades here.
Vendor Published

The company publishes nothing that sizes the cost: no pricing page, unit of charge, range, tier, implementation fee or reimbursement route. The product is a garment worn against the skin, so whether it is bought, leased, replaced per patient, laundered and reused, or supplied per diagnostic episode decides the economics, and sizing, fitting and reprocessing are operational costs that no material addresses. The site has a cart page whose contents are not described on the product page. The cleared indications sit where remote monitoring and diagnostic billing codes plausibly apply, and no billing route is published.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Regulatory Filing

Coverage is named with validation behind part of it. The cleared settings are home, healthcare facilities and medical research organizations under a licensed professional's direction, and the blood pressure product is validated in adults 22 and older at rest across hypertension categories (K232053, 147 and 91 subjects). Cardiology and cardiopulmonary assessment are the established domain, with post surgical recovery through a distribution partner.

The product page's wider claims, replacing spirometry, hemodynamic monitoring and other instruments, and the company's named target conditions (COPD, sleep apnea, worsening heart failure) have no published validation, and the adjacent markets it names (sports, industrial safety, government) sit outside healthcare. Fit varies with body habitus, mastectomy, ostomy, wound sites and mobility, which nothing addresses.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Nanowear

Vendors in the same categories as Nanowear whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Hinge Health runs a digital musculoskeletal program for employers and health plans, delivered through an app and a care team of physical therapists, physicians and health coaches working…

AliveCor makes ECG devices and the AI that interprets them.

Delfina combines maternal health software with remote monitoring and support for pregnant and postpartum patients.

Octagos makes a cardiac remote monitoring platform for device clinics that pairs an AI first read of incoming transmissions with review by certified specialists, which the company brands…

Reimagine Care, a Cureety company, runs virtual oncology care for cancer centers, community practices and health plans.

Biofourmis monitors patients at home and tries to detect deterioration before it becomes an admission.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Not disclosed. No unit of charge is described anywhere. The product combines a sensing undergarment, a mobile layer and a cloud analytics platform holding four separate clearances, and nothing indicates whether charging follows the garment, the patient, the diagnostic episode, the monitored day or a platform license, nor how the separately cleared blood pressure diagnostic prices against the base cardiopulmonary platform. No reimbursement pathway is stated either, despite the cleared indications sitting in territory where remote monitoring billing codes plausibly apply. Not disclosed as a template or posture, against a published commitment that is better than an unattributed badge. A dedicated security page states a commitment to maintaining the privacy of protected health information as directed by applicable federal and state law and links a full privacy notice rather than referring to one, and naming state law alongside federal is a small precision most vendors omit. What is absent is the agreement layer: no business associate agreement template, execution requirement, negotiation stance or subcontractor flow down position was located. The dual setting indication creates an unanswered question, since the platform is cleared for use both at home and in a healthcare facility and those produce different contracting chains, with home deployment potentially running through a provider, a research program or a distribution partner. The device partnership layer adds another, because ingesting continuous glucose readings from a third party monitoring system under a licensing and data arrangement moves patient data across a corporate boundary on terms nothing describes. Ask for the agreement template, which entity contracts in home deployments, and what governs data shared under device partnerships. Not disclosed. A sensing garment must be fitted to each patient, sizes held in stock and staff trained in placement, since signal quality depends on contact; facility deployments add device management and home deployments a delivery and return path. Whether the company supplies fitting support is not stated, and no deployment timeline is published. Vendor Published

No price is published: no pricing page, unit of charge, range, tier, implementation fee position or minimum commitment. The product is a garment worn against the skin, so whether it is bought, leased, replaced per patient, laundered and redeployed, or supplied per diagnostic episode decides the cost structure, and nothing indicates which applies.

A hospital at home program cycling many patients and a cardiology practice fitting one patient for a monitoring period face very different economics. A size adjustable garment still implies sizing inventory, fitting and reprocessing, which are uncosted. The cleared indications sit where remote monitoring and diagnostic billing codes plausibly apply, and no billing route is published. Ask whether the garment is sold, leased or consumed per patient, the cost per episode, sizing inventory needs and which reimbursement codes apply.