Digital Pathology AI
M

Mindpeak

Hamburg based computational pathology company, with a US entity in Cambridge, Massachusetts, focused on biomarker quantification from H&E, immunohistochemistry and multiplex immunofluorescence images. It lists 11 CE-IVD products, covering breast HER2, ER, PR and Ki-67 and lung PD-L1, reported IVDR certification in September 2026, and states that its other products are research use only; it has no FDA clearance. Mindpeak hosts its service itself and also distributes its algorithms through PathAI's AISight platform. Its general terms grant Mindpeak a perpetual, sublicensable right to use analyzed images, including for advertisement and the retraining of AI.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 28, 2026
Compare Mindpeak with other vendors
Founded
2018
Headquarters
Hamburg, Germany
Website
www.mindpeak.ai
Categories
pathology-ai, diagnostics-and-genomics
Indexed Products
BreastIHC, Breast Ki-67 RoI, ER/PR RoI, Lung PD-L1
Buyer Segments
Clinical pathology laboratories in the EU, Hospital pathology departments, Biopharma and translational research
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

Deep learning models are the whole company. The portfolio is a set of biomarker quantification algorithms operating on H and E, immunohistochemistry, and multiplex immunofluorescence images, with no platform, scanner, or assay of its own. That purity is also a commercial dependency: the algorithms need someone else's workspace to reach a pathologist, which is why they are distributed through PathAI's platform as well as directly.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Assistive quantification with the pathologist in control of the result, and the failure side unpublished. Mindpeak ships both region of interest products, where the pathologist selects the area analyzed, and whole slide analysis. Its General Terms and Conditions (5 July 2025) describe the quantitative analysis as only a suggestion that the user can influence and change by changing the settings, and require that users only analyze images for which the service was developed, meeting stated requirements for staining method, sharpness, resolution and section thickness. The independent studies the company cites frame the tools as improving agreement between pathologists rather than replacing the reader.

The part missing is what happens when a result is wrong or an image falls outside the requirements: no thresholds, rejection behavior for out of specification slides, or route for reporting a wrong result are published.

The oversight structure is described with the failure handling missing.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The technical claim is specific and checkable: BreastIHC was described at launch as the first deep learning solution able to distinguish tumorous from non tumorous structures at the cellular level in single stained slides, classifying cells into positively stained tumor and unstained tumor populations. The company markets plug and play deployment without per site calibration, which is a meaningful robustness claim.

Training data scale and architecture are not published, and the robustness claim is asserted rather than independently benchmarked, but independent studies have tested the tools across image variance.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

Mindpeak runs its own models on its own hosted service, and its terms leave the rest of the chain open. The General Terms and Conditions (5 July 2025) say Mindpeak makes its computational pathology service available on a central server or several servers and hosts it on redundant server systems, and the company builds its own models, including what it calls its patented Pathology Frontier Model, so no outside model provider sits behind a result. The algorithms are also offered inside PathAI's AISight platform, where images pass through PathAI's environment. The same terms, and the separate image upload policy, grant Mindpeak and its affiliates a perpetual right to use uploaded images and to sublicense that right, for purposes including advertisement, product improvement and the retraining of AI. No hosting provider, affiliate, sublicensee or subprocessor is named, and no retention or deletion term governs images once they arrive.

The architecture is described and no other party is named, with an open right to pass images on.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Peer Reviewed Publication

Independent evidence exists. A study by Abele and colleagues assessed the Breast Ki-67 and ER/PR products for quantifying Ki-67, ER, and PR, finding reliability across a wide range of image variance and pathologist confirmation, and concluding the tools can improve interobserver agreement in real world clinical settings.

A separate PubMed indexed concordance study at Aga Khan University Hospital compared automated Ki67 scoring against expert pathologist eyeball assessment across 60 invasive ductal carcinoma cases and reported strong positive concordance. Both are third party rather than vendor run, though sample sizes are modest and endpoints are concordance rather than patient outcome.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

What happens to uploaded images is stated, and it runs against the uploading laboratory. The General Terms and Conditions (5 July 2025, section 7) and the separate image upload policy grant Mindpeak and its affiliates a non-exclusive, royalty free, perpetual right, unrestricted as to territory, time and content, to copy, transmit, reproduce, publicly display, publicly perform, edit and reformat images analyzed by the service, with the right to sublicense, for documentation duties, service provision, advertisement and product improvement, in particular the retraining of artificial intelligence. Because the clause sits in the general terms, it applies to clinical use, not only to trial uploads. The customer must warrant that it owns the necessary rights and has obtained all applicable consents. The upload policy page is marked noindex, so search engines do not surface it.

Nothing addresses de-identification of images, a retention period or deletion, and no safety engineering is described for handling a wrong output as a safety event.

Training use and indefinite rights are stated, with de identification and retention unaddressed and the terms operating against the laboratory.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

No HIPAA position is stated, and a document reaching the service is published, one that runs against HIPAA's usual limits. The footer carries a privacy policy, the image upload policy and the General Terms and Conditions, and none states business associate status or mentions HIPAA. The general terms and the upload policy do reach the product: they grant Mindpeak a perpetual, sublicensable right to use analyzed images for advertisement and the retraining of AI, and require the customer to warrant it holds all consents. Mindpeak has a US entity in Cambridge, Massachusetts and names US laboratory customers, so a US laboratory needs to know whether uploaded images are de-identified and outside HIPAA, or are protected health information, in which case those rights and a business associate's obligations conflict. Nothing published says which.

A document reaching the service with no business associate position stated.

CC on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are described with an outside check behind them, such as independent penetration testing on a stated cadence, but no attestation against a recognized framework. A certification that tests the software security features rather than the vendor operations, such as federal health IT certification, is an outside check of this kind.
Vendor Published

An outside penetration test is claimed, and no security attestation is published. The home page lists Penetration Test Certified among the company's credentials, a badge the company has shown with a December 2025 date, which establishes that independent testing was done and roughly when. ISO 13485 certification of the quality system is also listed, but it is a medical device quality standard, not an audit of information security. The general terms describe user IDs, account security duties and hosting on redundant servers with 99.5 percent availability. No ISO 27001 certificate, SOC 2 report, HITRUST certification, trust center, penetration test scope or subprocessor list is published, which matters more because the terms allow images to be sublicensed to unnamed parties.

The controls have an outside check behind them, but none is attested against a recognized framework.

BB on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe pathway is stated and in progress, or a clearance is named without the vintage and scope a buyer needs to match it to the product on offer.
Vendor Published

A European regulatory position stated, with everything else research use only. The home page lists 11 CE-IVD products and ISO 13485 certification, and a September 2026 announcement reports that Mindpeak earned IVDR certification; the CE-IVD portfolio covers breast HER2, ER, PR and Ki-67 and lung PD-L1, and BreastIHC reached CE-IVD for primary diagnosis early. The site's regulatory note states that unless otherwise stated all products are intended for research use only and not for use in diagnostic procedures, which covers the prostate and other tumor type assays and use outside the markets where the CE-IVD marks apply. FDA's database lists no clearance for Mindpeak. The company has a US entity in Cambridge, Massachusetts and names US laboratory customers, so a US buyer is buying research use only software.

A non US regime named, with the research use only position stated for the rest; no US clearance.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Bias is addressed by assertion, without results. A published answer states that Mindpeak prioritizes diverse data curation, cross site validation and continuous monitoring to support responsible and generalizable deployment. Cross site validation is the relevant practice in pathology, where staining protocol and scanner variation between laboratories is a real source of model failure, but no method, measurement, threshold or result accompanies any of the three. No performance is published by patient group, scanner or site across a portfolio spanning breast, lung, gastric, esophageal, urothelial, ovarian and prostate indications.

The governance answer also sits awkwardly beside the licensing terms: it refers to continuous monitoring, while the company's image upload policy grants a perpetual right to use uploaded customer images for retraining its models. That retraining practice is disclosed in a licensing document rather than in the account of how the models are governed.

Governance practices named with no evaluation published.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

The pathologist can adjust every result, and the terms disclaim its accuracy. The General Terms and Conditions (5 July 2025) state that Mindpeak assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of diagnostic results, that the service works on probabilities calculated by AI, and that the quantitative analysis is only a suggestion the user can influence and change by changing the settings. The region of interest products leave the region to the pathologist. The terms warrant the contractually agreed quality of the service and set error classes with reaction times, which concern service availability, not what a result says.

No error rate with a method and denominator is published on the company's pages, although it cites independent studies of its breast products. No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment attaches to a result.

Review and adjustment by the pathologist, with accuracy expressly disclaimed.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Reach comes through platform distribution rather than direct integration engineering. Since 2025 the CE-IVD portfolio is accessible inside PathAI's AISight platform, which is itself FDA cleared for primary diagnosis in the US and CE-IVD marked in Europe. For a laboratory already running that platform, adoption is algorithm selection rather than an integration project.

For everyone else, integration depends on which host workspace is in place, and the vendor does not publish a broader connector list. The algorithm reaches the pathologist through someone else's product.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

A single hosted service with its location unstated. The General Terms and Conditions (5 July 2025) say Mindpeak makes the service available on a central server or several servers, hosts it on redundant server systems and commits to 99.5 percent annual availability. No hosting provider, country or region, tenant isolation or on premises option is described. The algorithms are also available inside PathAI's AISight platform, where hosting follows that platform. The company says its technology runs in more than 40 laboratories and connects to existing scanners, laboratory information systems and cloud storage through more than 18 image management partner integrations, which is integration rather than deployment detail.

A single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No pricing is published. The dual route to market, direct and embedded in PathAI's platform, means commercial terms likely differ by channel, and neither is disclosed. Which route a lab buys through affects both the cost structure and who holds the support and data relationship.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Concentrated on breast cancer immunohistochemistry, the highest volume biomarker workload in European pathology, extending to lung PD-L1 clinically and to prostate and other tumor types for research use only. Depth in a high demand area rather than breadth across pathology, and the clinical versus research use split means actual coverage is narrower than the full product list suggests.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Mindpeak

Vendors in the same categories as Mindpeak whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Boston biomedical AI company, acquired by AstraZeneca, building generative and agentic tools for pathology.

Finnish deep learning pathology company, listed in Helsinki, selling cloud based image analysis for clinical diagnostics and preclinical research.

Computational pathology company that produced the first FDA authorized AI based digital pathology product: Paige Prostate received De Novo authorization (DEN200080) in September 2021 as an…

AI digital pathology company serving human, veterinary and environmental laboratories since 2013.

Paris based AI diagnostics company, formerly Owkin Dx, the diagnostics arm of Owkin, spun out in March 2026 as the independent company Waiv with $33 million in financing; Owkin's research…

Deep Bio builds deep learning algorithms for cancer pathology, led by prostate.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Undisclosed. Sold directly and through PathAI's platform; channel economics likely differ and neither is published. Not disclosed. Where the algorithms are consumed through a host platform, terms may run through that platform rather than this vendor. Not disclosed. The company markets plug and play deployment without complex setup or per site calibration; for laboratories already running the host platform, adoption is algorithm selection rather than an integration project. Vendor Published

No pricing is published. The dual route to market matters commercially: the CE-IVD portfolio is available directly and, since 2025, embedded in PathAI's AISight platform, which is separately indexed here. A buyer should establish which route they are purchasing through, since it determines cost structure, who holds the support relationship, and whose infrastructure the slide data passes through. Scope also needs checking, since breast and lung PD-L1 products are CE-IVD marked while prostate and other tumor types are research use only.