Radiology & Imaging AI
L

Lunit

Cancer focused medical AI company founded in 2013, headquartered in Seoul and listed on KOSDAQ. Its radiology line is Lunit INSIGHT: MMG for 2D mammography (FDA cleared 2021), DBT for tomosynthesis (cleared 2023) and CXR for chest X-ray (CXR Triage cleared 2021). Lunit acquired Volpara Health Technologies of Wellington, New Zealand, in May 2024; the Volpara name was retired in November 2025 and the business became Lunit International, whose density, risk, quality and patient outreach products (Scorecard, Risk Pathways, Analytics, Live, Patient Hub) now sit alongside INSIGHT in a breast cancer platform.

A separate line, Lunit SCOPE, applies AI to pathology for biopharma research, companion diagnostic development and pathologists under research use; because it serves different buyers, it is covered by a separate record, Lunit SCOPE. The company reports more than 10,000 customer sites in over 70 countries and more than 700 publications, and sells direct and through imaging equipment partners. The strongest evidence is ScreenTrustCAD, a prospective Swedish screening study of 55,581 women in which AI with one radiologist was non-inferior to two radiologists; an Emory led evaluation with Lunit co-authors reports INSIGHT DBT performance by patient subgroup.

In the US, INSIGHT MMG is cleared as an adjunct viewed after the radiologist's initial read, and SecondRead AI offers it to patients as a paid add-on. A buyer searching for Volpara or Volpara Health is searching for this vendor.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 25, 2026
Compare Lunit with other vendors
Founded
2013
Headquarters
Seoul, South Korea
Website
www.lunit.io
Categories
radiology-and-imaging-ai, diagnostics-and-genomics, clinical-decision-support
Indexed Products
Lunit INSIGHT MMG, Lunit INSIGHT DBT, Lunit INSIGHT CXR, Volpara Scorecard, Risk Pathways, Patient Hub, Lunit SCOPE
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

The detection models are the engine of Lunit's core products, and the breast platform now sold around them carries value of its own. Lunit INSIGHT MMG (2D mammography), INSIGHT DBT (tomosynthesis) and INSIGHT CXR (chest X-ray) are deep learning products that do not exist without their models.

Since acquiring Volpara in 2024, though, Lunit sells a breast cancer platform: Scorecard for automated density assessment, Risk Pathways for risk assessment, Analytics and Live for mammography quality management, Patient Hub for risk based patient outreach and compliance, and mammography reporting. Several of those carry value without the detection models, and Lunit lists Analytics as a non-device data system. The company also sells SCOPE, a separate precision oncology line for pathology. Remove the INSIGHT models and a customer would still hold quality, density, risk and outreach software. The models drive the core modules but are not the whole of what is sold.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The US indication keeps the radiologist in charge; outside the US the company markets a larger role, and the flag threshold and the path after a miss are not published. INSIGHT MMG is cleared in the US (K211678) as detection and diagnosis support to be viewed after the interpreting physician completes an initial read, and not as a replacement for a full review.

It marks suspicious areas and gives an abnormality score per lesion and per breast; the company explains the score is a likelihood of malignancy, not severity, and is not linear. The product page says it supports single and double reading, and in Sweden's prospective ScreenTrustCAD study AI plus one radiologist was tested against two radiologists. That is the setting where AI stands in for a second reader, and in a double reading program it is the decision that matters.

SecondRead AI, a patient-paid add-on, states that all results are reviewed and communicated by the radiologist, and the models do not learn live. The company publishes no score at which a lesion is marked or a case flagged, and says nothing about whether a site can tune it or how a missed cancer is detected and fed back.

AA on Model and Technology TransparencyWhat is under the hood is named: proprietary or adapted foundation models identified, training data characterized, and versioning and update practice published so a buyer knows when the system changed.
Vendor Published

The models, their training and their versions are described specifically enough to check. INSIGHT MMG's 510(k) summary describes deep learning trained on large databases of biopsy proven cancers, benign lesions and normal tissue, and at launch the company gave more than 240,000 training cases, up to 50,000 of them cancers.

An evaluation of INSIGHT DBT led by Emory University's HITI Lab with Lunit staff among the coauthors (arXiv 2503.13581, a 2025 preprint absent from Lunit's own material) names the engine version (1.3.0) and product version (1.1.2.0), the architecture (a ResNet34 feature extractor with an aggregation module, 23.4 million trainable parameters) and the training set: about 160,000 exams from the US (87 percent) and South Korea (13 percent), 29 percent cancers, with the density and pathology mix given.

The product FAQ says the models do not learn in real time, that training data comes through formal collaboration agreements, and that each version is independently validated before release. So the models are identified, the training data characterized, and versioning and update practice stated. No change notice to customers is described for version updates, and the MMG cancer count is given only as an upper bound ('up to 50,000').

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

A structurally short chain for the models, with the delivery partners and hosts unnamed. Lunit builds its detection models in house on biopsy proven data obtained through formal collaboration agreements. The MMG FAQ says the models do not learn in real time, that customer images are retained only for processing and are not used for retraining, and that each version is validated before release, so no third party model sits between an image and a score and the cleared model is not swapped quietly.

What is not enumerated is the rest of the path: the cloud host and region used for cloud delivery, the equipment and viewer partners through which the software reaches many sites (a Fujifilm collaboration is promoted on the homepage), and any subprocessor list. An in house, cleared model with the data terms stated for the lead product.

AA on Clinical and Operational EvidencePeer reviewed or independently evaluated performance, prospective and multi site where the claim requires it, with the method available to read. The grade describes the strength of the evidence, not its direction: a rigorous study that found no benefit grades by its design, and the note leads with what it found.
Peer Reviewed Publication

Prospective, peer reviewed evidence exists for the headline screening claim. In ScreenTrustCAD (The Lancet Digital Health, 2023), the screening exams of 55,581 women at a Stockholm hospital were interpreted prospectively with INSIGHT MMG alongside radiologists in a paired reader, noninferiority design, and AI plus one radiologist was noninferior to two radiologists.

An independent external evaluation in JAMA Oncology (Salim and colleagues, 2020) compared three commercial algorithms on a retrospective Swedish screening cohort, and Lunit's had the highest accuracy. An Emory led evaluation of INSIGHT DBT with Lunit co-authors (arXiv 2503.13581, 2025 preprint) found AUC 0.91 on 163,449 screening exams with 1,368 screen detected cancers; at its 0.1 operating point it flagged 73 percent of those cancers and 31 percent (33 of 105) of interval cancers, with precision of 0.08.

The product page claims 18 percent higher accuracy in extremely dense breasts (Breast Cancer Research, 2024) and up to 40 percent of cancers detected earlier (interval cancers, Radiology, 2024), both retrospective. The 510(k) summary reports a standalone study on 2,412 mammograms (AUC 0.903; sensitivity 85.7, specificity 75.6 percent) and a reader study of 12 radiologists on 240 cases in which AUC rose from 0.754 to 0.805 with AI.

A European Radiology study found slightly lower specificity and higher recall than first readers at matched sensitivity. The prospective evidence is from one site and covers screening only; the chest X-ray line rests on retrospective work.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

Training use and retention are stated for the lead product; de-identification is not. The INSIGHT MMG FAQ says images from commercial sites are retained only for the duration of processing and are not used for retraining, that the models do not learn in real time, and that training data is biopsy proven material sourced through formal collaboration agreements. Those are specific commitments a buyer can hold the company to, and they answer whether customer studies feed the models.

Not stated: whether studies are de-identified before processing, where cloud processing happens, and whether the same terms hold for DBT, CXR and the former Volpara products, which run on their own platforms. The corporate privacy notice covers websites, marketing, recruiting and support contacts, not patient images. Safety engineering, meaning how a missed or false finding is handled as a safety event, is not published. Categorical commitments with one of the three elements missing.

Regulatory and Compliance
DD on HIPAA and BAA PostureNo statement of status and no privacy document that reaches the product. Both halves are absent at this grade: a service level privacy document on its own lifts a vendor to the band above even where no status is stated. A website privacy notice, including one that says it does not cover customer data, does not reach the product, so a vendor whose only document is that notice and who states no status grades here.
Vendor Published

No business associate position is stated, and the only privacy document published covers the website. Lunit's privacy notice (effective October 2025) covers website visitors, marketing and events, job applicants and support contacts; it does not address patient images or protected health information in the products, beyond asking meeting participants not to share PHI in recorded calls.

No business associate agreement, role statement or tier is published, and the product FAQ's statement that images are retained only for processing is a handling commitment, not a status. A trust center hosted on TrustShare is linked from the footer and may hold a business associate statement or an agreement. Distribution through imaging equipment partners means the contracting party may not be Lunit at all.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

ISO 27001 is claimed as the company's own, with a trust center and a bug bounty program alongside it. Lunit's Information Security and Medical Device Registration page states that Lunit.io is ISO/IEC 27001 certified for information security management, and that its manufacturing site holds ISO 13485:2016, MDSAP and Korean GMP certification.

Lunit International, the former Volpara business, states that its risk management conforms to ISO 14971 and ISO 27001:2022 and that BSI certifies its quality system. The footer links a trust center hosted on TrustShare and a bug bounty program. No SOC 2 report is claimed. A recognized certification named in the company's own material, with the certificate, its scope and its date not shown.

AA on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe regulatory position is unambiguous and verifiable: a clearance or authorization identifiable in the public databases, with the version and indication it actually covers.
Regulatory Filing

The US position is identifiable in the FDA database for the lead product and stated by regulation for the rest. Lunit INSIGHT MMG was cleared on 7 October 2021 (K211678; 21 CFR 892.2090, computer assisted detection and diagnosis, Class II, product code QDQ) to aid detection, localization and characterization of suspicious areas for breast cancer on screening mammograms from compatible full field digital systems, as an adjunct viewed after the physician's initial read and not a replacement for it.

Lunit INSIGHT CXR Triage was cleared in November 2021 (K211733, product code QFM) for triage, and INSIGHT DBT in November 2023. For the former Volpara products the company publishes its own regulatory table: Scorecard Class II (21 CFR 892.2050), Live Class I (892.1940), and Analytics as a non-device data system, with Canadian, EU, Australian and New Zealand listings.

Sold but not US cleared: the fuller INSIGHT CXR finding set sold under CE marking beyond the cleared triage findings, and the SCOPE pathology line. Double reading use, where AI stands in for a second reader, sits outside the US MMG indication.

AA on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA bias or fairness evaluation with a stated method, subgroup performance, or an independent audit of model behavior. Subgroup performance means published results compared across the groups the product serves, clinical and physiological as well as demographic, so a buyer can see where it underperforms.
Vendor Published

Results compared across patient groups are published for INSIGHT DBT, one of the two screening reads on the breast platform. An evaluation led by Emory University's HITI Lab, with Lunit staff among the coauthors, tested the product as sold (engine 1.3.0, product 1.1.2.0) on 163,449 screening exams from the Emory Breast Imaging Dataset, 1,368 of them screen detected cancers (arXiv 2503.13581, a 2025 preprint not yet peer reviewed, which Lunit does not cite). Overall AUC was 0.91.

The authors report performance not statistically different across race (the cohort was 46 percent Black and 43 percent White patients), ethnicity or age, and significantly lower for non-invasive cancers (AUC 0.85), calcifications (0.80) and dense breasts (0.90). That is model behavior tested across the groups the product serves, with the weak spots named.

For INSIGHT MMG the product page claims 18 percent higher accuracy in extremely dense breasts and 8 percent across all density categories, citing a 2024 Breast Cancer Research comparison of radiologists and standalone AI; that is a claim about one group, and no results across groups are published for MMG or CXR. The FAQ's statements that each version is validated to prevent bias and that accuracy does not differ across equipment makers are claims, not results.

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route the affected person can exercise against the vendor. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here. A statutory right that runs to the covered entity rather than to the vendor does not reach this band on its own: every other route here asks something of the vendor, and being located in a particular jurisdiction is not conduct.
Regulatory Filing

An error rate with its method and denominator is published for the lead product; nothing else stands behind the output. Lunit's own 510(k) summary for INSIGHT MMG (K211678, cleared 7 October 2021) reports a standalone study on 2,412 screening mammograms from Hologic, GE and Siemens systems, independent of the development and reader study data: ROC AUC 0.903, sensitivity 85.7 percent (95% CI 83.0 to 88.5) and specificity 75.6 percent (73.6 to 77.6).

The summary does not state how many of the 2,412 were cancers or define its reference standard in the text. It is a test set result, not performance in a buyer's screening program, and it covers MMG only: not INSIGHT DBT, INSIGHT CXR or the former Volpara products. The company publishes no warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Distribution strategy substitutes for integration engineering here, and effectively. The company embeds its algorithms directly into imaging hardware through OEM relationships with major scanner manufacturers and distributes via major cloud infrastructure, meaning a customer can acquire the AI as part of equipment already being purchased rather than as a separate integration project. That is a materially different adoption path than PACS side deployment. No EHR integration applies or is claimed.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

Multiple delivery paths are evidenced, spanning embedded OEM deployment inside imaging hardware and cloud distribution through a major provider, which gives buyers real choice about where inference runs. Specific tenancy, hosting, and data residency terms are not published, which matters given the global footprint and varying localization requirements.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published, and the ways the product is bought are discoverable. Lunit sells INSIGHT and its breast platform direct and through imaging equipment and viewer partners, so the software can arrive inside or alongside a scanner or viewer purchase.

SecondRead AI is a patient-paid option: a provider offers an enhanced AI read at annual screening as an out-of-pocket service, with training and marketing materials supplied by Lunit, and no price for the patient or the provider is published. As a KOSDAQ listed company Lunit publishes financial results, which inform vendor stability but not product cost.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Deliberately concentrated on cancer detection rather than general radiology, spanning chest X-ray for lung abnormalities and mammography plus tomosynthesis for breast, with a separate oncology business line addressing therapy response. Settings center on organized screening programs and breast imaging centers, which is where the double reading economics the company targets actually exist. Emergency triage, neuro, musculoskeletal, and general radiology workflows are outside scope, distinguishing it from broad platform competitors.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Lunit

Vendors in the same categories as Lunit whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Oxford spinout that sells AI imaging software for stroke and lung disease.

RapidAI (iSchemaView, Inc.) analyzes brain, vascular and body imaging to support urgent treatment decisions, principally in stroke.

Clinical AI for imaging triage and follow-up, delivered through aiOS, an enterprise platform that runs Aidoc's own FDA cleared algorithms alongside vetted partner algorithms and carries…

AI powered care coordination platform, Viz One, that pairs detection algorithms on imaging and ECG with automatic alerts and team messaging on clinicians' phones.

DeepHealth is RadNet's digital health business and the entity that contracts RadNet's clinical AI and imaging informatics software to third party providers.

French imaging AI company based in Paris whose Milvue Suite reads plain radiographs.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Head to head

Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to Lunit for the same buyer.

Adjacent comparisons

Products a buyer researches alongside Lunit that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Not published; direct and partner distribution; SecondRead AI patient-paid option Not published. Business associate status is not stated; confirm whether the contracting party is Lunit or an equipment partner, and where studies are processed. Not published. Vendor Published

No price is published. Lunit sells INSIGHT and its breast platform direct and through imaging equipment and viewer partners, and offers SecondRead AI as a patient-paid, out-of-pocket option delivered through providers, with no price published for either route. As a KOSDAQ listed company it publishes financial results. Ask for per study, per device or per site pricing, the cost of the partner route, and what SecondRead AI costs the provider and the patient.