Ambient Scribes
L

LucasAI

LucasAI, from Lucas Health Corporation in Miami, is an ambient clinical platform built by physicians. It listens to the visit, including speech that switches between English and Spanish, and returns a structured note by the end of the encounter, with more than 100 specialty note templates, a rounding navigator, one click discharge summaries and after visit summaries. Alongside the note, CodingAI suggests CPT, CPT II, ICD-10 codes and the E and M level for the clinician or coder to confirm, and higher plans add HCC, V28 and MCC and CC analytics, an audit mitigation assistant and Case Guardian, which offers guideline based recommendations during the visit.

The platform has grown past the scribe. Prior AuthAI compiles the documentation a prior authorization needs, DME Ordering turns a facesheet and clinical notes into an audit ready wound care supply order checked against Medicare contractor rules before the physician signs, and the top plan adds voice agents for intake, results, wellness and outreach calls, front desk, scheduling, nursing and triage assistants, and support for skilled nursing, physical therapy and home health. Behavioral notes include AI generated PHQ and GAD assessments drawn from the conversation.

Pricing is published in four monthly plans, from $39.99 for residents to $999 for the top tier, with a free trial of 30 days or 10 notes. LucasAI reports use across more than 1,200 providers. Emilio Power, MD, is chief executive, Luca Garulli, founder of OrientDB, is chief technology officer, and David Watts, DO, an emergency physician and toxicologist, is chief medical officer.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 12, 2026
Compare LucasAI with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
Miami, Florida, United States
Website
lucashealth.ai/
Categories
ambient-scribes
Indexed Products
LucasAI ambient scribe, CodingAI, Prior AuthAI, DME Ordering, Case Guardian, Voice agents
Buyer Segments
Independent Practice, Medical Group, Community Health System
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

Every core function is model output. A medical trained large language model turns the transcribed encounter into a structured note in real time, CodingAI derives CPT, ICD-10 and E and M suggestions from the same conversation, Case Guardian draws guideline based recommendations from it, and the behavioral templates produce PHQ and GAD assessments. The newer workflows build on the same layer: Prior AuthAI assembles supporting documentation, DME Ordering pre fills orders and drafts medical necessity narratives, and voice agents handle intake and outreach calls.

Insurance verification, packing slips and proof of delivery tracking in DME Ordering are workflow software around the models.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Clinicians and coders sign off on what reaches the chart and the claim. Coding suggestions are reviewed, edited and confirmed by the clinician or coder before a claim is submitted, with the company calling CodingAI decision support rather than autopilot; notes are formatted for review before entry into the EHR; and every DME order is reviewed and signed by the physician after Medicare contractor checks run.

How a generated PHQ or GAD score is confirmed before it is recorded is not described.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The pipeline runs in two stages: a HIPAA compliant transcription service converts the conversation to text, and privacy conscious NLP and a medical trained large language model turn it into structured notes such as SOAP notes in real time. The models are tuned by specialty for workflows, care models, reimbursement rules and prior authorization requirements, and the company is building self hosted speech to text and NLP to reduce outside dependencies.

The transcription service, the language model and any accuracy figure are not named or published.

DD on Model Supply Chain DisclosureNothing establishes who else sits between a patient record and an answer.
Vendor Published

Encounters pass through a HIPAA compliant transcription service and a medical trained large language model before the note returns, and LucasAI requires business associate agreements from vendors that handle protected health information. The company is building self hosted speech to text and NLP to reduce outside dependencies.

None of the transcription, model or hosting providers is named, and no subprocessor list is published.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Third Party Estimated

Outcomes come from LucasAI's own data across more than 1,200 providers in 2026, reported as time saved, visits per provider and revenue per provider. Physician testimonials name the settings: pulmonary critical care in Michigan, internal medicine in Nevada, acute rehabilitation in Idaho, concierge medicine in Florida and hospital medicine. A hospitalist's public app store review compares it with Freed, Ambience, Microsoft DAX Copilot and Sunoh, which that physician tried first.

No study, controlled evaluation or accuracy benchmark has been published.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

LucasAI processes the encounter on the spot and leaves the finished document in the patient's EMR, saying no patient data is stored permanently, with an option for additional anonymization. Data is encrypted in transit and at rest, access uses two factor authentication and role based controls, and providers must obtain patient consent before using audio transcription.

That commitment sits beside PushAI Note Forwarding, described as AI that remembers prior notes. Whether customer content trains the models is not stated.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

LucasAI signs business associate agreements, offering an organizational BAA as a plan feature, and requires compliant agreements from its own vendors that may handle protected health information, with those vendors bound to protect data passed to subcontractors and to report breaches within 60 days. A HIPAA and security page sets out administrative, physical and technical safeguards, from access revocation and unique user IDs to contingency testing and six year retention of security documentation.

The agreement itself and the plans it applies to are not published.

DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are asserted with nothing independent behind them, or nothing is published. Read the note before concluding anything: this is the grade most often corrected on a second pass, because assurance material frequently sits on a parent domain or inside an old announcement rather than on the product pages.
Vendor Published

The HIPAA and security page lists the controls LucasAI runs: encryption in transit and at rest, two factor authentication, role based access, automatic session timeout, login monitoring, malware detection, audit controls, backups and disaster recovery, a designated security officer and staff security training. A public status page reports uptime.

No SOC 2 report, HITRUST certification, ISO 27001 certificate or outside penetration test is named.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

The platform is sold as documentation, coding and workflow software, and no clearance is held for any part of it. Several outputs sit close to clinical judgment: Case Guardian offers guideline based recommendations during the visit, the behavioral templates generate PHQ and GAD assessments from conversation rather than from the patient answering the instruments, and the top plan lists patient triage and an early detection assistant.

No intended use statement covers those outputs.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Coding output is framed around compliance: CMS compliant ICD-10, CPT, HCC and RAF codes, HCC and V28 analytics, an audit mitigation assistant and a Magic Addendum to support the chosen codes, sold as reducing clawbacks and denials. The product serves bilingual encounters, Spanish speaking practices and specialty templates across many settings.

No fairness statement, subgroup result or monitoring practice is published for notes, codes or generated screening scores.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Review before commit is the main safeguard. Coding suggestions are confirmed by the clinician or coder before any claim goes out, DME orders are checked against Medicare contractor requirements and signed by the physician, and notes are formatted for review before they enter the EHR. Providers carry responsibility for consent to audio transcription under the terms.

No accuracy figure, warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published, including for generated screening scores.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

LucasAI publishes integration pages for Epic, Oracle Health (Cerner), athenahealth, eClinicalWorks and NextGen, each describing ambient capture, a finished note and suggested codes kept alongside that system's workflow through a lightweight browser based approach, and EMR integration is a feature of the higher plans. The company also says no specific connectors are needed, since the note or its sections can be copied into any EHR, and states it is not affiliated with or endorsed by those EHR vendors.

No marketplace listing, interface standard or named production integration is published.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

Delivery is a web platform with iOS and mobile apps and a browser extension, sold as software as a service. The company says encounter data is processed on the spot rather than stored, with the finished note going into the practice's EMR, and it is working toward self hosted speech to text and NLP. The terms are governed by Delaware law.

Hosting provider, region and tenant isolation are not stated.

Commercial
AA on Commercial TransparencyPublished tiers with figures, a stated unit of charge, and a route to start without a sales conversation.
Vendor Published

Four plans are priced on the site. Resident costs $39.99 a month for up to 50 notes, Premium $69.99 a month with unlimited notes (marked down from $149.99), Pro $299 a month and the top tier $999 a month, with custom terms through sales for groups. A free trial of 30 days or 10 notes starts online without a sales call, and an ROI calculator and a groups page support larger practices.

Higher plans add Case Guardian, Prior AuthAI, document management, medication reconciliation, coding analytics, EMR integration, an organizational BAA and, at the top, voice agents and nursing and front desk assistants.

AA on Setting and Specialty CoverageWhere the product is validated to operate is named and supported, settings and specialties both, whether the coverage is broad or deliberately narrow.
Vendor Published

Coverage is built around the documents each setting needs. Primary care gets HCC and V28 risk adjustment, prior authorizations and care gaps; hospital medicine gets rounding notes, admission and progress notes and one click discharge summaries across inpatient, emergency and urgent care; surgical work gets pre operative evaluations, operative and post operative notes and risk assessments; behavioral health gets PHQ and GAD assessments. Specialty pages cover cardiology, orthopedics, podiatry, pulmonology, emergency medicine and family medicine, DME Ordering serves wound care clinics and podiatry, and the top plan adds skilled nursing, physical therapy and home health.

Named users include physicians in pulmonary critical care, internal medicine, acute rehabilitation, concierge medicine and hospital medicine. Performance is not reported separately by setting.

Alternatives

Alternatives to LucasAI

Vendors in the same categories as LucasAI whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

OneChart is an ambient AI scribe from a small Canadian seed stage team in Hamilton, Ontario.

Wavo Health describes itself as an AI clinical workspace rather than a scribe alone, turning conversations into notes, visit preparation, patient context, coding cues and follow up content…

RevMaxx is an ambient scribe aimed at practices that want documentation and coding handled together, generating structured SOAP notes with ICD-10, CPT and HCC codes and surfacing RAF score…

River Records is a small clinician-founded Boston company whose product Stream argues with a premise much of this category shares.

Ambient scribe built for home health field clinicians and structured entirely around the OASIS, the federally mandated assessment instrument that drives both quality reporting and episode…

Medscape Scribe is a free ambient documentation tool launched in October 2024 by Medscape, the clinical information service, available inside the Medscape mobile app and website that a very…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
$69.99 per month (Premium); $39.99 for residents
$69.99 baseline
Monthly subscription in four plans: Resident $39.99 for up to 50 notes, Premium $69.99, Pro $299 and the top tier $999, with custom terms for groups through sales. Free trial of 30 days or 10 notes. LucasAI offers an organizational BAA, listed as a plan feature, and requires business associate agreements from its own vendors that handle protected health information. Clinicians sign up and start a trial online, and EMR integration and an organizational BAA are listed among the higher plan features. No implementation fee is stated. Vendor Published

Pricing is published in four monthly plans. Resident ($39.99) covers up to 50 notes a month; Premium ($69.99, marked down from $149.99), Pro ($299) and the top tier ($999) include unlimited notes. Higher plans add Case Guardian, Prior AuthAI, document management, medication reconciliation, coding analytics for HCC, V28, MCC and CC, EMR integration and an organizational BAA, and the top tier adds voice agents, nursing and front desk assistants, patient triage and sub acute care. A free trial runs 30 days or 10 notes with no long term commitment.