Healthcare Administrative Automation
I

Intiveo

Intiveo is a patient experience platform built for dental and oral surgery practices. It handles the communication layer of a practice: appointment reminders and confirmations, recalls, two way chat, forms, surveys, social reviews, mass messaging, waitlist filling, integrated voice, a Command Center for daily goals, and two way referral management between general practices and specialists. The company states more than 14,000 dental practices use it, from single locations to dental service organizations, and that 85 percent of North American dental schools do. It is based in Vancouver, British Columbia, was founded in 2013, and is led by chief executive and co founder Josh DeVries.

The AI is new and narrow. Veo, in beta, suggests up to two chat templates from the practice's own library during business hours for staff to send, edit or dismiss, and replies automatically after hours on topics the practice chooses, deferring anything else to business hours. The company publishes what Veo will not do, including diagnosing or recommending treatment, and says it never trains on patient conversations.

The entry plan, Intiveo Direct, is priced at $199 a month; higher tiers, where chat and Veo sit, are priced on request. The company states SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA and PIPEDA compliance and publishes an annual engagement benchmark drawn from more than 2,500 customer practices. No business associate agreement, hosting location or Veo performance figure is published.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 22, 2026
Compare Intiveo with other vendors
Founded
2013
Headquarters
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Website
intiveo.com
Categories
healthcare-admin-automation, patient-facing-voice-agents
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it. A learned component is a model whose parameters are estimated from data: machine learning, or a statistical model fitted to population data, including one then updated on the patient measurements. A fixed formula, a rule set, or a feedback controller that adjusts a dosing factor from the patient own readings is not one, however patient specific its output and whatever the vendor calls the adjustment.
Vendor Published

A mature messaging platform with a thin learned layer added in 2026. Everything that built the business is messaging infrastructure and workflow: reminders, recalls, confirmations, two way chat, forms, surveys, reviews, referrals, waitlist filling and integrated voice. The waitlist, which the company credits with recovering thousands of appointments a month across its customers, matches cancellations to waiting patients by rule.

Veo, now in beta, is the learned part. During business hours it reads a patient's chat and surfaces up to two matching templates from the practice's library for staff to send, edit or dismiss; after hours it replies automatically on topics the practice chooses, such as new patient questions, insurance, parking and office hours, using the same library. The page says Veo learns from the template library, and matching a free text message to the right template is a classification task. The plans page describes smart features that learn the practice in the higher tiers.

The learned layer is a feature, and the business would stand without it.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The boundary is published in both directions, with one channel left unrouted. During business hours Veo only suggests: it surfaces up to two templates and staff send, edit or dismiss them, and it never auto sends a reply during the work day. After hours it replies automatically only on topics the practice chooses, and for anything outside that scope tells the patient to reach back out during business hours. The page lists what Veo will not do: diagnose symptoms or recommend treatment, quote specific costs or coverage, reschedule clinical appointments on its own, discuss controlled prescriptions, or share protected health information outside the practice. Every reply is logged so staff can see where Veo last replied.

The missing part is the after hours channel the page says patients are now covered on. A message about swelling, bleeding after an extraction or severe pain falls outside the configured topics and receives an instruction to contact the practice during business hours; the template library shown includes emergency and post operative categories, and nothing describes urgency detection, an emergency instruction or a route to an on call person. Nothing states whether the reply identifies itself as automated.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

Behavior is described precisely and the mechanism is not described at all. The Veo page says Suggestions scans the practice's templates and surfaces up to two that fit the recent conversation, and prompts staff to create a template when nothing fits; Responses answers after hours on practice chosen topics using the same library, and defers everything else to business hours. A buyer knows what each feature does and where it stops. Voice is built with a partner VoIP service, per the plans page.

Below that, nothing: no model or provider for Veo, no training description beyond learning from the template library, no accuracy figures, no evaluation method, and no statement of how a practice learns when a capability is added or changes behavior, although Veo is described as a growing network of capabilities with a further product in development.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

No model provider is named, though the architecture around it is described. The Veo page describes template matching and after hours replies that answer only from the practice's approved library and says protected health information stays inside the platform; the plans page says voice requires a partner VoIP service; and the company has named a commercial cloud communications provider behind its voice product. Nothing states whether Veo's language capability is built in house, licensed, or runs on a commercial model service, and no subprocessor list is published, though the trust center may hold one.

That matters because a model service reading patient chat text would be a party receiving protected health information, and the claim that it stays inside the platform does not say whether an external provider processes it there.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Vendor Published

The company publishes operating data rather than only marketing claims, including figures that do not flatter its smaller customers. Its 2026 Dental Patient Engagement Report, linked from the home page, draws on engagement data from more than 2,500 practices between March 2025 and February 2026, segmented by practice size; as the company has described it, confirmation rates sit at 77 percent with text driving about two thirds of confirmations, voice rose from 2 to more than 7 percent of channel mix, referral conversion to completed treatment runs from 16.1 percent for solo practices to 25.5 percent for enterprise groups, and waitlist users recover an average of 2,773 appointments a month.

The home page names customers with specific claims: Slipacoff Dental Centre saving its front desk three hours a day on confirmations, Dedicated Dental Care's online rating up 30 percent, and case studies for Healthplex Dental and Oral Surgery Implant Specialists. The company states more than 14,000 practices use it and that 85 percent of North American dental schools do.

The report describes practices using this software rather than the market, and compares segments rather than measuring the product's effect against a baseline. Nothing at all is published on Veo's performance.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

Two categorical commitments on the AI, with retention unstated. The Veo page says Veo never trains on the practice's patient conversations and that protected health information stays inside the platform, and describes Veo as answering only from sources the practice has approved, with no web browsing. The security page describes encryption, role based access and backups.

What is missing is the schedule behind the commitments: how long chat messages, voice recordings and Veo's replies are kept, what staying inside the platform means if a model service processes the text, and what de identification applies to the pooled data behind the company's benchmark report, which analyses engagement across more than 2,500 customer practices. Nor is there any word on whether practices can opt out of that pooled data.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

HIPAA compliance is claimed repeatedly and no published document supports it. The security page says the company includes full HIPAA and PIPEDA compliance in all its systems, maintains continuous HIPAA adherence with security monitoring tools, encrypts data, uses role based access and backs up data, and that for Canadian clients its HIPAA compliance also ensures PIPEDA compliance. The Veo page adds that protected health information stays inside the platform. No business associate status or agreement is mentioned, though the legal page and the trust center linked from the security page may say more.

The cross border question is real. The company is based in Vancouver and most of its customers are in the United States, so United States patient messages are handled by a Canadian company, and the claim that HIPAA compliance ensures PIPEDA compliance treats two different regimes as one. Where United States customer data is stored is not stated.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

A recognized attestation stated as the company's own, with a trust center linked. The security page says the company achieved SOC 2 compliance through a SOC 2 Type II audit, and links a trust center for more detail; the security features are listed on every plan. The page also describes encryption, role based access and backups.

The auditor, period and scope are not stated on the security page, and the trust center may show whether the report can be opened there or only on request. Scope matters because Veo and the voice product are recent, and whether the audited boundary includes them is not stated. No penetration testing or vulnerability disclosure statement appears on the security page.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No clearance is claimed and none is required. Appointment reminders, chat, surveys, referrals and reputation management carry no clinical claim, and Veo suggests message templates and answers questions about parking. Nothing here approaches a device question and the company does not overclaim.

The regimes that apply are communications and privacy, and both are more complicated for this vendor than for its United States peers because it operates across a border.

On communications, a platform whose core function is outbound texting, voice reminders and recall campaigns operates squarely inside telephone consumer protection rules in the United States, covering consent, revocation and calling windows, and inside anti spam legislation in Canada, which is stricter than its United States equivalent on consent for commercial electronic messages and carries meaningful penalties. Recall reminders sit close to the line between transactional and promotional, and that line is where enforcement happens. Nothing published addresses consent capture or opt out handling in either jurisdiction.

On artificial intelligence disclosure, the after hours Responses capability replies to patients automatically, and several jurisdictions now require that a person be told when they are interacting with an artificial agent. Nothing states whether the reply identifies itself as automated.

Dental practice regulation itself is state and provincial, and reputation management touches advertising rules that dental boards enforce, another area nobody discusses.

It sits correctly outside device regulation, and says nothing about the communications regimes that are its actual operating environment.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Principles and limits are published; no evaluation is. The Veo page presents a trusted approach to AI: compliant by design, configurable by practice so adoption can move at the practice's pace, answering only from approved sources, logging every reply, never training on patient conversations, and a list of what Veo will not do. That is policy language about how the feature is bounded. No accuracy figure, evaluation method, monitoring, or performance across patient groups is published for either capability.

The exposure is language. Template matching depends on interpreting what a patient wrote, and after hours replies go to whoever writes in. A patient writing in imperfect English, or in another language, may receive a mismatched template or be told to call back when nobody is there to correct it, and nothing describes language coverage. A second, smaller mechanism: suggestions ranked by what staff have sent before will reproduce existing communication patterns.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Mechanisms to check an output exist and nothing stands behind it. Every Veo reply is logged so staff can see where it last replied, replies come only from the practice's own approved templates, and during business hours staff send, edit or dismiss every suggestion. That limits what can go wrong to what the practice wrote, and lets it be traced.

The plans page offers a full refund within 60 days of purchase under the company's terms, which is a satisfaction guarantee on the purchase rather than a commitment attached to any output. No accuracy figure, warranty or remediation term is published for either Veo capability.

The foreseeable failure is after hours: a patient describing swelling or bleeding after an extraction who receives an instruction to contact the practice during business hours may read that as the practice having responded, and wait. Recall and reminder messages are sent on the practice's behalf, so the practice carries the telephone and anti spam consent exposure.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

Integration is claimed and no system is named. The home, plans and security pages say the platform integrates easily with leading practice management software and more, and the plans page lists integrations in every tier; a separate integrations page may name them. Reminders, recalls and waitlist filling depend on reading the practice's schedule, so a live connection to the practice management system is implied by the product rather than described.

The referral capability is the strongest interoperability function and it is organizational: two way referral management between general practices and specialists, an add on, addressing a coordination gap usually handled by fax and phone.

No system is named, no interface or standard is described, and nothing says what data moves in which direction. Nor is it clear how referrals reach practices that are not on the platform.

DD on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyNothing published about where the system runs or where the data rests.
Vendor Published

Nothing on the main site says where the platform runs or where data rests. The security page refers to secure servers, backups and recovery, and the Veo page says protected health information stays inside the platform, but no hosting provider, region, residency commitment, tenancy or retention period is stated. The legal page and the trust center linked from the security page may say more.

Residency is a live question here rather than a formality. The company is in Vancouver and most of its practices are in the United States, so United States patient messages are handled by a Canadian company, engaging Canadian privacy law and cross border transfer questions alongside HIPAA. Voice runs through a partner VoIP service, so calls also cross a third party's network.

Commercial
BB on Commercial TransparencyA price or a pricing basis is published without full tiers, so a buyer can size the cost before making contact.
Vendor Published

The entry tier is priced and can be bought without a sales call; the tiers where the AI sits are not priced. The plans page lists Intiveo Direct at $199 a month, or $2,388 a year, for single location practices, with reminders, recalls, outreach and forms, three reminders per appointment and three forms included, and a get started route. Intiveo Expand (two way chat, voice, reviews and the smart features that learn the practice), Intiveo Command (adding the Command Center) and Intiveo Enterprise (five or more locations, dental service organizations and schools) are priced on request. Referral management is an add on, voice requires a partner VoIP service, and the company offers a full refund within 60 days of purchase under its terms.

Only the entry tier carries a figure, and the Veo capabilities sit in the unpriced tiers. Nothing says whether Veo stays included or becomes a paid add on, the referral add on is unpriced, and how VoIP costs are billed is not described.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Dentistry only, named in depth, with validation behind part of it. The site names general practice, orthodontics, periodontics, oral and maxillofacial surgery, pediatric dentistry and endodontics, and sizes from independent single location practices through multi location groups and dental service organizations to academic institutions, stating use in 85 percent of North American dental schools. Named customers and case studies cover general dentistry, orthodontics and oral surgery. Geography is North America, with the company in Canada, and the security page addresses both United States and Canadian privacy law.

The narrowness is the product's choice. Validation is named for some specialties and sizes and not others: no endodontic, periodontic or pediatric customer is named. Which of them run Veo in production is not stated.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Intiveo

Vendors in the same categories as Intiveo whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

CertifyOS sells a provider data platform to health plans, health systems and digital health companies.

Courier Health gives biopharma teams a shared system for managing patient access to specialty therapies.

Authenticx, founded in Indianapolis in 2018 by former healthcare executive Amy Brown, analyses the conversations healthcare organizations have with patients, members and professionals…

Magical sells AI agents that do the repetitive operational work in healthcare organizations.

Sample Healthcare sells AI document and workflow automation for healthcare organizations: copilots that extract, classify, summarize and reason over medical records and clinical documents…

SureCost sells pharmacy supply software that brings purchasing, inventory and drug shortage forecasting into one workflow, under the Smart Supply name.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
$199 per month (Intiveo Direct, single location); higher tiers on request
$199 baseline
Tiered subscription per practice: Intiveo Direct at $199 a month or $2,388 a year; Expand, Command and Enterprise priced on request. Referral management is an add on; voice requires a partner VoIP service. Not published. The security page claims full HIPAA and PIPEDA compliance across all systems; no business associate agreement or tier is mentioned on the pages read. Not published; live onboarding is listed in the plan comparison. Vendor Published

The plans page publishes one price: Intiveo Direct at $199 a month, or $2,388 a year, for single location practices, with reminders, recalls, outreach and forms and a self serve get started route. Expand, Command and Enterprise, which carry two way chat, voice, reviews, the Command Center and the smart features that learn the practice, are priced on request. Referral management is an add on, voice requires a partner VoIP service, and a full refund is offered within 60 days of purchase under the company's terms.

What a buyer cannot establish before contact is the price of the tiers where Veo sits, whether Veo is included or becomes a paid add on, the referral add on price, and how VoIP costs are billed.

Ask for Expand and Command pricing and Veo's commercial status before comparing with the entry tier.