Clinical Reference & Evidence
I

InpharmD

Drug information service delivered as software, from an Atlanta company operating since at least 2014. Cofounders Ashish Advani, a pharmacist and the chief executive, and Tulasee Rao Chintha, chief technology officer. The company's own framing is drug information pharmacists without adding full time staff: a health system's clinical pharmacists ask any question, at any time, and receive a custom literature search and answer, so they can practice at the top of their license.

A clinician submits a free text question and states when the answer is needed. Published answers name a drug information pharmacist as author together with the InpharmD AI, and carry a background summary, a literature review, a stated level of evidence and references. A 2023 company post describes the pipeline: an engine parses the inquiry, a pharmacist formulates a researchable question, large language models with prompt templates generate sub questions and a draft summary from a vector database (Pinecone), and a board certified drug information pharmacist reviews the draft, discards it if it does not fit, and composes the response. The home page adds an AI library built from a daily crawl of PubMed and many other sources, and says about a third of questions have already been asked.

A second arm serves pharmacy and therapeutics committees with drug monographs, class reviews and formulary management, which is where the company's commercial case sits. The company states that more than 30 health systems retain an InpharmD virtual drug information pharmacist and that the service is trusted by more than 20,000 clinical pharmacists, and it runs a one year drug information fellowship and student rotations that train the pharmacists who staff it. The route to purchase is a free pilot with a 30 day calibration period and a business case, with a free trial account alongside. Investors include Qlarant Capital and Atlanta Ventures.

The privacy policy tells users not to submit protected health information, and the FAQ says the company does not take it.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 28, 2026
Compare InpharmD with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
Atlanta, Georgia
Website
inpharmd.com
Categories
clinical-reference-and-evidence, clinical-decision-support
Indexed Products
InpharmD virtual drug information pharmacist, InpharmD AI, Formulary and P&T support, Drug information fellowship
Buyer Segments
Large IDN, Academic Medical Center, Community Health System
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

The model drives the core service, and the service would survive without it. The terms of use (effective May 2026) describe an AI-powered platform delivering drug information, literature summaries and clinical insights, and the home page describes a daily crawl of PubMed and other sources into a clinical library that the InpharmD AI draws on. Published answers carry a named author in the form of a drug information pharmacist plus InpharmD AI, with a background summary, a literature review, a stated level of evidence and references.

Remove the model and a complete, saleable product remains: a drug information service staffed by board certified pharmacists, which is what health systems used to employ in house, and the company runs a one year fellowship to train the pharmacists who staff it. The model is what changes the unit of work, from a pharmacist answering each question from scratch to a pharmacist reviewing and completing a draft.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The oversight structure is described and one part is missing. The service is built around a drug information pharmacist: the clinician submits a question with the time by which it is needed, the published answers name a pharmacist as author with the AI, and a 2023 company post describes the full pipeline, in which a pharmacist formulates the researchable question, the engine generates sub questions and a draft summary, and a board certified drug information pharmacist reviews it, discards it if it does not fit, and composes the response that is delivered. The service is asynchronous by design, which is the cost of putting a person on every answer.

What is missing is a current statement of what the AI may not do on its own. The terms of use (effective May 2026) describe an AI-powered platform delivering literature summaries and disclaim the reliability of AI generated outputs without saying that each output passes a pharmacist, the home page describes an AI library built from a daily crawl and says about a third of questions have already been asked, and a free trial account is offered alongside the pilot. Whether any AI output reaches a user without pharmacist review, for example from the library or on a trial account, is not stated, and the detailed pipeline description is three years old.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The approach and one supplier are named, without the model or any version discipline. A 2023 company post describes the pipeline step by step: inquiry parsing, a pharmacist's formulation of a researchable question, sub question generation with prompt templates and large language models, semantic retrieval against a vector database, summary generation, pharmacist review, and reinforcement from prior pharmacist judgments. The vector database is Pinecone, named by the company and in Pinecone's own customer story, whose fourfold query response time figure is the supplier's claim about infrastructure rather than a measurement of the answers. The current home page adds that the InpharmD AI draws on a library built by crawling PubMed and many other sites every day, and each answer shows a level of evidence.

No model class or provider is named for the generation step, no release notes say when the model or the pipeline changed, and the only detailed description is three years old, while the current terms describe an AI-powered platform without restating it. The home page shows a side by side comparison with an answer attributed to OpenAI GPT; that is a comparator, not a statement of what produces the company's own answers.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

The architecture is described and no model provider is named. Large language models generate the sub questions and draft summaries, so a clinician's question reaches a model, and neither the model nor its provider is identified on the home page, FAQ, terms or privacy policy. Pinecone is named as the vector database in a 2023 company post and in Pinecone's customer story.

The privacy policy (effective May 2026) names recipients by category: service providers for hosting, analytics, customer support and payment processing, which process data only on the company's behalf under confidentiality and security obligations and may not use it for their own purposes; health authorities, regulators or manufacturers for adverse event and pharmacovigilance reporting; and parties to a corporate transaction. The cookie settings name Microsoft Clarity for analytics and Zendesk for support chat. No subprocessor list is published, and no retention or training terms govern data once it reaches a model provider.

The chain carries a drug information question rather than a patient record, since users are told not to submit protected health information.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Customers are named only in aggregate, and the figures are the vendor's own, with no method, denominator or reference standard. The home page and FAQ state that more than 30 health systems retain an InpharmD virtual drug information pharmacist, that the service is trusted by more than 20,000 clinical pharmacists, 161,050 clinical pharmacist hours saved, a return on investment of more than four times, and a 100 percent customer satisfaction rate. None carries a period, a method or a denominator, and the hours figure is not derived anywhere published.

The FAQ also states that, based on the largest study conducted, hospitals with this service saved $5.2 million and had 45 fewer deaths than hospitals without it. No study is cited, and the sentence does not make clear whether the study measured this product or hospital drug information services in general; read either way, it cannot be checked.

No peer reviewed evaluation, accuracy measurement or error rate for the service or its model is published. The scale figures show use, not benefit.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

General assurances that do not answer the questions AI raises. The privacy policy (effective May 2026) tells users not to submit protected health information, financial information or other sensitive personal information about themselves or anyone else, and says that if protected health information is submitted inadvertently the company assumes no responsibility for its handling under HIPAA. The FAQ says the company does not take protected health information. The policy states that personal information is kept only as long as necessary and then deleted, anonymized or aggregated under retention schedules that are not published, and that the company does not sell personal information. Security measures listed include encryption in transit and at rest.

What is not stated: how long a clinician's question and the generated answer are kept, whether questions or answers are used to train or improve any model (the policy allows use to operate, maintain and improve the services), and whether anything filters patient detail typed into a free text question. The published example questions are close to a patient, for instance whether a particular population is at higher risk of skin staining with an iron infusion, so the instruction not to include patient detail carries real weight and sits entirely with the user.

No safety engineering is published beyond the pharmacist review of answers: no guardrails, no hallucination mitigation and no process for handling a safety event.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

The company takes a plain position that the service does not take protected health information, explains why, and has a service privacy document behind it. The FAQ says the company does not take protected health information and that customers need not integrate, and the privacy policy (effective May 2026), which covers the services and not only the website, requires users not to submit protected health information and says the company assumes no responsibility under HIPAA for any that is submitted inadvertently. The service takes a clinician's drug information question and, on the formulary side, the health system's product and medication lists, neither of which needs a patient record.

The policy also says the company is committed to maintaining safeguards designed to protect protected health information in accordance with applicable HIPAA requirements, which sits oddly beside the instruction not to submit any; the earlier policy's plain statement that the company is not a covered entity or a business associate platform is no longer in it. No business associate agreement is offered, and with no protected health information taken, none would be.

The exposure is the free text question: the risk of a clinician including patient detail is placed on the clinician and the institution.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

The company names a recognized certification without producing the report, and its own documents describe it two ways. The privacy policy (effective May 2026) states that the company maintains a SOC 2 Type II compliant environment and undergoes periodic independent audits to validate its security controls, and lists encryption in transit and at rest, access controls and monitoring, regular security reviews and vulnerability testing, and staff training. The terms of use of the same date describe SOC 2 Type II aligned controls, which is weaker language than an attestation.

The company gives no report date, auditor, trust services scope or renewal cadence, and there is no trust center, so nothing settles which of the two descriptions is accurate.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No device claim is made and none is apparent for a literature search and drug information service. The terms of use (effective May 2026) state that content does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis or treatment, that no clinician patient relationship is created, and that the services are for informational and professional use and not a substitute for a licensed clinician's independent judgment. That is a responsibility clause rather than a statement of intended purpose or a regulatory position.

The design sits close to the clinical decision support exclusion in the 21st Century Cures Act: the output is a cited literature synthesis with a stated level of evidence, and a licensed pharmacist is named as its author, so the basis is reviewable by the clinician who receives it. That is an observation about the design; the company publishes no regulatory rationale.

A related question sits outside device classification: a licensed pharmacist composing a written answer about a clinical situation is practicing pharmacy, and nothing published says which state licenses the reviewing pharmacists hold.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Governance runs through professional review rather than published AI policy, and nothing about the model is measured. The published answers name a drug information pharmacist as coauthor with the AI, each answer grades its evidence (for example level D, case reports or unreliable data), the company trains its reviewers through a one year drug information fellowship, and a 2023 company post describes reviewer judgments feeding back into retrieval. That is a competence standard applied to a named person at the point of output.

No AI principles, responsible use framework, external advisory body, bias evaluation, subgroup analysis or error taxonomy is published. The terms disclaim any guarantee of the accuracy, completeness or reliability of AI generated outputs.

The one figure the service holds by construction and does not publish is the rate at which its pharmacists reject or materially rewrite the generated summary. It would evidence the review step and measure the model's error rate at the same time.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Mechanisms exist that let a clinician challenge an answer, and nothing stands behind the output. Each published answer names the drug information pharmacist who authored it with the AI, cites its references and states a level of evidence, so a clinician can check the literature and knows which licensed professional signed the answer. The FAQ offers a request form.

The terms of use (effective May 2026) provide the services as is and state that the company does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of content, including AI generated outputs, or their reliability. Liability is capped at the greater of the fees paid in the prior twelve months or $100, and users indemnify the company for their use of the services.

The pilot page promises that the company will guarantee outcomes or be the first to say there is no value, and a business case with an ROI guarantee at the point of purchase. That is a guarantee about value to the health system, not about whether an answer is right, and its terms (what is paid or refunded if the return misses) are not published.

No accuracy figure, error rate or correction commitment is published.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

Integration is claimed with no system named and nothing to verify. The FAQ says that because the company takes no protected health information, a health system does not have to integrate, though the company can integrate with the customer's EHR and wholesaler. No record system, wholesaler, marketplace listing, application programming interface or health data exchange standard is named on the home page, FAQ, terms or privacy policy.

The product is used alongside the record: a clinician submits a question through the web or mobile app and receives an answer. That fits an asynchronous service. The formulary work depends on a health system's own medication and product data, and the pilot page says the company compiles the customer's data into a business case, so some data transfer happens; how, and in what format, is not published.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

A single hosted option with location implied rather than committed. The service is a web application with iOS and Android apps, and the FAQ describes it as running in the cloud with no data or integration needed from the health system's IT team. The privacy policy (effective May 2026) says the company operates in the United States and that information from users outside it may be transferred to, stored and processed in the United States or other countries, with standard contractual clauses where required.

No hosting provider, region, tenant isolation model or on premises option is published. A 2023 company post and the vector database vendor's own customer story name Pinecone as the retrieval layer, which is a processing location for the library and says nothing about where a question rests.

The formulary side of the business uses a health system's own medication and product data, which is commercially sensitive even when it identifies no patient, and nothing says where that data is held.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published and the sales posture is discoverable in unusual detail. The pilot page sets out the route: a meeting to establish fit, then a free pilot with a 30 day calibration period aligning the service to the health system's templates, workflows, formulary and style guide, while the company compiles the customer's data into an internal business case. The company says it will guarantee outcomes or be the first to say there is no value, and that a customer moving forward gets a business case and an ROI guarantee on the spot. A free trial account with self serve sign up is offered as an alternative, and the home page offers to get started free.

What is not published is anything a buyer can size a cost from: no seat or subscription price, no unit of charge, no tier, no minimum commitment and no implementation fee, and no terms for the ROI guarantee. A process a buyer can run before committing money is useful, and it is a process rather than a price.

CC on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is claimed broadly without specifics, or stated clearly with nothing validating it yet.
Vendor Published

Coverage is stated clearly and nothing validates it. The scope is drug information and formulary work for health systems: clinical pharmacists are the primary users, the terms extend use to qualified healthcare professionals, and the FAQ says the service is not yet available to patients. The published example questions show the depth intended within that scope, including iron sucrose administration in pediatric patients, flat dosing of a prothrombin complex concentrate for anticoagulation reversal, fibrinogen dosing in postpartum hemorrhage, and the effect of medication reconciliation on readmissions.

No evaluation by question type, specialty or setting is published, no ambulatory or community pharmacy offering is described, and the terms make no representation that the service is appropriate in any particular jurisdiction or clinical context.

Alternatives

Alternatives to InpharmD

Vendors in the same categories as InpharmD whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Doximity Ask, formerly Doximity GPT, is the clinical AI assistant inside Doximity's professional network, free on desktop and mobile to verified US physicians, nurse practitioners…

Clinical knowledge management and quality improvement platform anchored in anesthesiology and perioperative services, built on the premise that the gap is less missing evidence than the…

Clinical search and answer platform for UK clinicians and students, from Medwise AI Ltd, registered in England and Wales and based in Leeds, having started in Cambridge.

Clinical evidence search engine for licensed clinicians, operated by Veracity-Health Inc., a Delaware corporation with a San Francisco address, and free to verified clinicians and trainees…

Generative chat interface over the American Society of Clinical Oncology's own library of clinical practice guidelines, announced in May 2025 and developed by ASCO and Google Cloud on the…

Real world evidence generation, spun out of Stanford's Green Button project in 2020 and built to answer the question a clinician actually has at the bedside when no trial covers their…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Head to head

Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to InpharmD for the same buyer.

Adjacent comparisons

Products a buyer researches alongside InpharmD that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published; free pilot and free trial account available
$0 baseline
Not published; health system purchase after a free pilot and business case None at any tier. The privacy policy requires users not to submit protected health information, and the FAQ says the company does not take it Not published; a 30 day calibration period is included in the pilot Vendor Published

No price is published at any tier, and the route to purchase is published in detail. The pilot page sets out a meeting to establish fit, then a free pilot with a 30 day calibration period aligning the service to the health system's templates, workflows, formulary and style guide, while the company compiles the customer's data into an internal business case.

The company says it will guarantee outcomes or be the first to say there is no value, and that a customer moving forward receives a business case and an ROI guarantee on the spot; the terms of that guarantee are not published. A free trial account with self serve sign up is offered as an alternative.

Not published: seat or subscription price, unit of charge, tier structure, minimum commitment, implementation fees, and what happens to inquiry volume as use spreads beyond the pharmacy and therapeutics committee. The stated commercial case is formulary standardization, where savings are computable from the customer's own medication data; the calculation method and baseline are not published.