Innovaccer
Innovaccer, founded in 2014 and headquartered in San Francisco, sells what it calls an agentic cloud for healthcare: the Gravity platform, which unifies record system, claims, pharmacy, laboratory, monitoring and social determinants data (a reported 80 million patient records) and runs applications and AI agents on top. Its solutions include Flow for revenue cycle, Atlas for population health, Galaxy for payer risk and quality, Cured and Comet for customer relationships and access centers, PQS for pharmacy quality, Humbi for actuarial intelligence and Story Health for managed specialty care, several arriving through acquisitions, most recently an ambulatory revenue cycle services business in May 2026. Value based care is a core line, with solutions for risk adjustment, quality and Stars, contract management and the CMS LEAD, TEAM and ACCESS models, and Story Health Partners accepted into the ACCESS model as a participant. In the 2026 Best in KLAS awards Gravity, Galaxy and Cured took the top score in their categories. Customers include Kaiser Permanente, Banner Health, Ascension and Trinity Health; the company has raised $675 million. Its trust center lists SOC 2 Type II, HITRUST CSF and ISO 27001, publishes a subprocessor list, an AI governance framework with a four tier impact assessment, and a commitment not to train its models on customer data.
What a buyer should weigh: no per agent accuracy or threshold is published for agents that hand work to one another; the utilization management product's human review point is not stated; affiliates in India and the United Arab Emirates appear on the subprocessor list with their role unstated; the company is now also a participant in a federal care model where its software serves other participants; and no pricing is published.
Capability Axes
An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read
The agent suite is model driven, and the company has committed substantial capital to it. The durable asset underneath, though, is the data platform: a decade of EHR, claims, pharmacy, lab, and social determinants integration across a reported 80 million patient records. The company's own argument is that agents work because the data layer gives them context, which correctly identifies the data as the foundation and the agents as what sits on top.
Oversight is described in policy, and the thresholds are missing. The trust center's governance framework limits autonomous agents to administrative, operational and clinical tasks that can be delivered safely, applies confidence thresholds that trigger human review when an agent is uncertain, keeps humans as final gatekeepers of all clinical and high risk administrative decisions for copilots, requires recommendations to come with rationale, and keeps audit trails for every human or agentic action. The acquired specialty care business places live health coaches alongside agents, a named human in the loop employed to be there.
No threshold value, per agent scope or tier assignment is published, and agents hand work to one another end to end across prior authorization, coding and denial management, so where a person sees a case in that chain is not stated. The payer utilization management product is where coverage is approved or denied; whether a determination counts as high risk and always reaches a person is the question the framework leaves open. The home page says the coding agent suggests accurate ICD and HCC codes, which describes a suggestion a coder confirms, not a promise every code is right.
No foundation model is named, no architecture is described for the agent line, no evaluation methodology is published, and no individual agent carries an accuracy figure.
The transparency that is published sits one layer below the models. Customer administrators can see sources, transformations, rules, code and lineage, and the data quality library exposes more than 6,000 checks. A buyer can therefore audit how a record was assembled while learning nothing about how a recommendation was produced from it.
The missing number that matters most follows from the architecture the company sells. Agents are described as handing work to one another end to end, so an error introduced by one becomes an input to the next. Without a published accuracy figure or confidence threshold per agent, a buyer cannot estimate how error compounds along a chain, and chaining is the central value claim.
A public subprocessor list names the parties, without the model layer marked or the terms that bind each. The trust center lists Atlassian (Jira), Red Hat Advanced Cluster Security, an integration engine, Microsoft, Snowflake, Google, AWS, SendGrid, Twilio, Fullstory, Mixpanel and New Relic, plus the company's own affiliates in India and the United Arab Emirates; earlier material names a multi year collaboration with AWS and partnerships with Databricks and Snowflake. That is substantial partial disclosure.
What holds it out of A: which of the listed providers supplies the models behind the agents and copilots is not stated, and no retention or training terms are given per party; the trust center's commitment that the company does not train its models on customer data covers the company, not what each subprocessor may do with data it receives. Five acquisitions each brought their own components and labor arrangements, and whether their subprocessors are on this list is not said.
Independent customer ratings and named deployments with figures, and no independent test of what the agents produce. In the 2026 Best in KLAS awards the company took the top score in three categories, with Gravity at 93.2 for provider data analytics platforms against a market average of 83.9, Galaxy at 90.5 for payer analytics against 87.2, and Cured at 90.1 for customer relationship management; those scores come from validated customer interviews, so they measure delivered experience rather than model performance. Named deployments carry figures: Orlando Health at a 47 percent care gap closure rate and a 44 percent annual wellness visit completion rate, Atlantic Health ACO with a 10 percent improvement in coding gap closure and $1 million in potential incentive payments, and Banner Health managing 1.4 million patients in value based arrangements. The acquired specialty care business reports a 6.9 percent thirty day heart failure readmission rate against 18.1 percent nationally.
None of the figures carries a baseline, period or comparison group, the readmission result belongs to a coach led care model rather than the software, and no evaluation of any agent's accuracy is published, independent or otherwise.
A categorical no training commitment is published, without the retention schedule behind it. The trust center states that the company does not train its models on customer data, describes privacy by design and data minimization, AES-256 encryption at rest, TLS 1.3 in transit and role based access, and its governance framework commits to documenting the data sources used in training and operating each AI application. Earlier material describes single tenant deployment in the customer's own cloud.
No retention period for records, derived artifacts or agent outputs is published, and no de identification step is described. The commitment also sits beside earlier product material describing Gravity as continuously trained on real world healthcare data including claims denials and edge cases; a pre built corpus, licensed data or federated updates would each fit, and nothing says which. No safety engineering is published beyond the governance framework's confidence thresholds and escalation.
HIPAA status is stated and supported by an assessment, and the agreement is not published. The trust center lists HIPAA among the company's compliance commitments and offers a SOC 2 Type II report with a HIPAA compliance assessment on request, describes privacy by design with granular access controls and data minimization, and commits that the company does not train its models on customer data. That is status supported by documentation built for business associate due diligence, readable after an access request.
What keeps it out of A: no business associate agreement is published, so its subcontractor flow down, breach timetable and scope cannot be read before contracting. The architecture makes some clauses non standard: where the platform runs in the customer's own cloud, the agreement allocates responsibility for a shared environment, vendor personnel access under the managed option, incident handling on customer owned infrastructure, and what happens to derived artifacts at termination; and the subprocessor list includes affiliates in India and the United Arab Emirates.
Recognized certifications are held in the company's own name, with the reports released on request. The trust center lists SOC 2 Type II, HITRUST CSF and ISO/IEC 27001:2022, and its document center offers the SOC 2 Type II report with a HIPAA compliance assessment, a SOC 2 bridge letter, a HITRUST CSF 2026 interim letter and the ISO certificate, each behind an access request and a non disclosure agreement; the code of conduct and ethics program overview download freely. It also describes defense in depth, AES-256 encryption at rest, TLS 1.3 in transit and role based access, and publishes a compliance reporting hotline.
The reports are released on request under an NDA; the HITRUST assessment level (i1 or r2) is not named, the letter is an interim one, and whether the certified scope covers the acquired products and the agent suite, or only the core platform, is not stated.
No device claim is made, a position on device software is stated in policy, and one marketed product sits at its edge. The trust center's governance framework says clinical decisions remain the domain of licensed providers, that AI enhances rather than replaces professional judgment, and that the company avoids developing software as a medical device requiring FDA oversight where possible or seeks internal guidance on its FDA positioning. The site's product list includes a differential diagnosis tool beside pre visit summaries and ambient documentation. A differential offered to a clinician with its rationale is support to the person the framework makes responsible, a tension with the policy rather than a contradiction, and no regulatory position for that product is stated.
The company's other products answer to other regimes: prior authorization and utilization management to federal interoperability rules and state laws on AI in coverage decisions, risk coding to risk adjustment audit, claims to the False Claims Act, outbound voice to telephone consent law. Through Story Health Partners the company is itself a participant in the CMS ACCESS model, with its own performance at stake inside a program where its software also serves other participants.
A governance framework with named process is published, and no evaluation results are. The trust center sets out an AI governance framework: every AI application is categorized on a four tier impact scale by patient safety, workflow disruption and decision consequence at demo and pre launch, with safeguards proportional to the tier (copilot against autonomous agent, escalation paths, audit trails); intended uses and limitations are documented; performance metrics are validated on test scenarios before deployment; key indicators are tracked per application, with incident response by severity; and compliance concerns go to a published hotline. The data layer adds a quality library of more than 6,000 checks with drift alerting.
Nothing compares results across the populations the agents serve. The agents that allocate or gate attention (care gap closure, risk coding, prior authorization and utilization management) decide who receives attention and coverage, and nothing published shows whether their behavior varies by patient group, payer or practice. The framework says it validates metrics before deployment; none is published.
Mechanisms exist to trace and review an output, and nothing stands behind it. The trust center's AI governance framework commits to complete audit trails for every AI application whether a human or an agent acted, escalation protocols for edge cases, confidence thresholds that trigger human review for autonomous agents, and an explainable rationale for AI generated output; customer administrators can also see the sources, transformations, rules and lineage behind each record. Those are the ways to challenge an output, stated as policy without the threshold values.
No warranty, indemnity, accuracy commitment or remediation obligation appears on the trust center, the home page or the data activation platform page, and the only public terms cover the website and disclaim all warranties. Through Story Health Partners the company is a participant in the CMS ACCESS model, which puts its own performance at stake toward CMS, not a commitment to a customer whose care gap, coding or authorization result was wrong. No per agent accuracy figure is published, so a buyer cannot estimate how error compounds when agents hand work to one another.
Named record systems and a standards based data model, with bidirectional depth not documented. The data activation platform page says it integrates with a customer's record systems and that the largest customers of Epic, Oracle Cerner and MEDITECH choose Innovaccer, describes a FHIR based data model with high performance FHIR APIs and support for SMART apps, and places InNote at the point of care; earlier material adds payer claims, pharmacy, laboratory, remote monitoring and social determinants feeds unified across a reported 80 million patient records, and the trust center lists an integration engine among its subprocessors. Named customers including Banner Health and Atlantic Health ACO show the connections run in production.
No marketplace listing or integration documentation for a named record system is published, and what the platform writes back into each record system, beyond surfacing gaps at the point of care, is not described.
Deployment options and residency are stated, and the processing path is left open. Earlier company material describes single tenant deployment inside the customer's own virtual private cloud, a cloud agnostic architecture and engagement as self serve, systems integrator led or vendor managed; the trust center now describes global data centers meeting local compliance and sovereignty requirements, AES-256 encryption at rest and TLS 1.3 in transit, and role based access.
What holds it out of A: the trust center's subprocessor list names the company's own affiliates in India (Innovaccer Analytics Pvt. Ltd.) and the United Arab Emirates (Innovaccer Health Limited) alongside AWS, Microsoft, Google and Snowflake, and nothing published says which processing, if any, those affiliates perform on a customer's records or whether it crosses a border. A vendor managed deployment also puts company staff inside an environment that holds the customer's records, which is an access question as much as a residency one.
No price is published, and how the platform is sold is discoverable. Innovaccer sells the Gravity platform and named solutions (Flow, Atlas, Galaxy, Cured, Comet, PQS, Story Health, Humbi) to providers, payers, the public sector and life sciences, with deployment offered self serve, led by a systems integrator or vendor managed, and delivery partners including Mastek and Coforge. The route in is a demo request.
What a buyer cannot establish before contact is the unit of charge: per module, per agent, per covered life or per user, and whether agents are priced individually or as a bundle, which matters because the company's argument that agents chain end to end across prior authorization, coding and denial management only pays off if several are deployed.
Very wide coverage, with validation behind part of it. The company sells to providers, payers, the public sector and life sciences across population health, care management, revenue cycle (Flow, extended by an acquired ambulatory revenue cycle services business), payer risk and quality (Galaxy), customer relationship management and access centers (Cured, Comet), pharmacy quality, actuarial intelligence and managed specialty care (Story Health), with an alliance in the United Arab Emirates. Value based care is a core line: solutions for risk adjustment, quality management and Stars and HEDIS, contract design and management, and the CMS LEAD, TEAM and ACCESS models, with Story Health Partners accepted into the ACCESS model; Banner Health manages 1.4 million patients in value based arrangements on the platform and Atlantic Health ACO reports coding gap closure gains.
Three of the lines carry top KLAS scores and several value based care deployments carry figures, but the suite grew through five acquisitions, and nothing shows which capabilities are production proven in which setting; the newest products are the least evidenced.
Alternatives to Innovaccer
Vendors in the same categories as Innovaccer whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
Health Universe combines patient record retrieval with AI agents in an organizational clinical workspace.
Caresyntax built a surgical data platform for hospitals and a real world evidence service for medical device companies.
Andor Health, based in Orlando, Florida, sells ThinkAndor, a virtual care platform it now describes as agentic AI infrastructure, together with clinical services from its Psynergy Health affiliate.
Penguin Ai provides an administrative AI platform for health plans, providers, and healthcare service organizations.
Proximie sells an operating room connectivity and intelligence platform.
AI agent platform for health system and health plan operations.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Compared With
Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.
Head to head
Vendors the index assesses as direct competitors to Innovaccer for the same buyer.
Adjacent comparisons
Products a buyer researches alongside Innovaccer that do a different job: a different category, a different layer of the stack, or a specialist scope. These pages exist to settle whether the comparison is real before it settles which one to pick.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
| Entry Price | Pricing Basis | BAA Tier | Implementation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Contact the vendor
|
Not published. Enterprise platform and solution licensing to providers, payers, public sector and life sciences; unit of charge not stated. | HIPAA status stated on the trust center, with a SOC 2 Type II report and HIPAA compliance assessment released on request; no business associate agreement is published. | — | Vendor Published |
No rate card is published. The platform and named solutions are sold to providers, payers, the public sector and life sciences, deployed self serve, through a systems integrator or vendor managed. The structural question is whether agents are priced individually or bundled: the company's central argument is that agents chain end to end across prior authorization, coding and denial management, and that value only materializes if several are deployed, so per agent pricing would undercut the thesis. Ask also how the managed option is priced and what vendor staff can access under it.