Clinical Summarization & Chart Review
F

Fourier Health

Fourier Health automates medical record intake and turns inbound records into structured, cited clinical data and specialty summaries. Fourier Intake ingests more than 25 file types (faxes, PDFs, scans, handwritten notes, HL7 v2 messages, FHIR bundles and CCDs pulled from health information exchanges), classifies every page, matches records to the right patient and extracts diagnoses, medications and labs. Fourier Insights delivers specialty-specific summaries into the EHR, and Fourier Infrastructure offers the structured data, and clinician-labeled, de-identified datasets, through an API to AI and research partners. Every field is cited to its source, and human reviewers check a sample of outputs.

The company publishes its own benchmarks against frontier language models (F1 of 0.96 on classification, a 0.2 percent information miss rate) and an engineering walkthrough of the pipeline, and names Mayo Clinic, One Oncology and Tennessee Oncology among its customers; its case studies report savings and throughput at unnamed academic, oncology, fertility and cardiovascular organizations. Customers can bring their own model or use Fourier's, and the company says it shares training data and evaluation sets across customers in the same specialty. It shows a SOC 2 Type II badge. Pricing is not published.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 29, 2026
Compare Fourier Health with other vendors
Founded
2023
Headquarters
Miami, Florida, United States
Categories
clinical-summarization
Indexed Products
Fourier Intake, Fourier Insights, Fourier Infrastructure (API and datasets)
Buyer Segments
Academic Medical Center, Large IDN, Specialty Network / MSO, AI and Research Partner
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

The models are the product. Fourier Intake classifies, links, retrieves and structures every inbound page (faxes, PDFs, scans, HL7, FHIR and exchange records), Fourier Insights assembles specialty summaries from that output, and Fourier Infrastructure sells the structured data through an API.

The company's engineering post describes the pipeline: two-stage page classification, language model patient matching, hybrid retrieval with reranking and model filtering, and an agent that assembles schema-bound outputs, with rules used only for urgency flags. Human reviewers check a sample of outputs rather than producing them. Remove the models and there is nothing left to sell.

DD on Autonomy and Oversight ModelNo oversight structure is published. An absolute claim that the system does not err grades here too, because a buyer who believes it will not build the review step that would catch a failure.
Vendor Published

The marketing promises that every result is reviewed. The Intake page says "Every result reviewed by healthcare experts, so you get safe, reliable data, every time", and the home page says clinicians ensure every output is reviewed.

The company's own engineering post describes something narrower and better specified: human QA on a sample, weighted toward new specialties, new customers and components with low QA scores, an AI-assisted layer that flags likely errors first, and risky patient-record merges routed to a human queue before processing. A team that believes every result is reviewed and always right will not build the check that sampled review leaves. Every extracted field is cited to its place in the source document.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The approach and the model options are named without version or update practice. The engineering post (April 2026) describes each stage: OCR and two-stage page classification over 100-page chunks, language model patient matching with a risk check, hybrid semantic and lexical retrieval with reranking and a model filter, bounding box reconstruction for citations, rules for urgency, and an agent that fills specialty schemas; the home page lists Claude, GPT, Med-PaLM, in-house and custom models as supported options. Which model runs a given customer's pipeline, its version, and how customers learn of changes are not published.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

Model providers are named as options and the rest of the chain is not. The home page lists Claude, GPT and Med-PaLM alongside in-house and custom models, and customers can bring their own. QA reviewers outside the customer, unnamed service providers (hosting, data analysis) and the partners who receive de-identified data are also in the chain. No subprocessor list, reviewer contracting terms or retention terms for data sent to a model provider are published.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Named customers and vendor-reported results. The home page shows Mayo Clinic, One Oncology, Tennessee Oncology, Summus, Telemedica and Inception among its customers, and reports an 83.9 percent reduction in records reviewed per patient and 82 percent clinician satisfaction.

Five case studies describe unnamed clients with figures: a 34,000 patient academic system ($655K net annual savings), an academic referral center (28 to 17 days to first appointment), a community oncology network (1.8 million pages a year, 41,000 hours saved), a fertility network (six hour median turnaround) and a cardiovascular value-based care organization (4.2 times return, $2.25M shared savings). The accuracy benchmarks are the company's own. No independent or peer reviewed evaluation is published.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

Customer data is reused. The company's engineering post says training data, evaluation sets and retrieval configurations are shared across customers in the same specialty; the privacy policy (15 September 2025) says de-identified data is used to refine its algorithms and machine learning and may be shared with partners and in benchmarking; and Fourier Infrastructure sells clinician-labeled, de-identified datasets to AI and research partners.

The privacy policy states a general retention of up to seven years and says health data is stored and processed on HIPAA-compliant services. Clinician reviewers outside the customer read records during QA. No safety engineering for generated summaries is published beyond sampled review.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

A privacy document reaches the service, and no business associate status is stated. The privacy policy covers creating summaries from medical history and says the company uses HIPAA-compliant services for health data, and the home page shows a HIPAA compliant badge. No business associate agreement or its terms are published. QA reviewers outside the customer read records, and de-identified data flows to partners, so the agreement's scope matters.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

A recognized certification is shown as the company's own, without the artifact. The home page carries an "AICPA SOC 2 Type II certified" badge; the report period and scope are not stated, and no trust center or report request path is published. The intake page says records are encrypted in transit and at rest with a complete audit log. QA reviewers reach records from outside the customer, and nothing says whether the SOC 2 scope covers that reviewer access.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No device claim is made and no regulatory position is published. FDA's 510(k) database lists no clearance for the company. The pipeline flags urgency with rules on lab thresholds for coded findings, extracts diagnoses, and lists decision support and care gaps among its outputs; every output is cited to source for clinician review.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with. A framework covering the vendor whole portfolio counts when its scope reaches this product; what it cannot supply is the product specific evaluation the band above asks for. Published results within the one group where the performance of this product is most at risk also sit here: evaluation on the question this axis asks, short of the comparison across groups the band above requires. A medical device clearance or certification, and the quality system behind it, does not reach this band on its own; it is graded under regulatory status. A regulator reviewed plan governing how the model may change does reach it.
Vendor Published

A named quality process, no subgroup results. The company grades outputs against a rubric through human QA, directs sampling toward new specialties, customers and weak components, and uses an AI-assisted QA layer trained on reviewer feedback; its engineering post publishes per-label and retrieval metrics against frontier models. No results by age, sex, language or record source are published.

The company also says training data, evaluation sets and retrieval configurations are shared across customers in the same specialty, and its case studies report revenue and risk capture alongside clinical results.

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route the affected person can exercise against the vendor. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here. A statutory right that runs to the covered entity rather than to the vendor does not reach this band on its own: every other route here asks something of the vendor, and being located in a particular jurisdiction is not conduct.
Vendor Published

Error rates are published with a method and, for one figure, a denominator. The approach page reports F1 of 0.96 on medical data classification against expert-adjudicated ground truth, and 3.5 times the accuracy of manual intake on an internal evaluation of 2.4 million documents; the same page charts an information miss rate of 0.2 percent against named frontier models; the engineering post reports per-label F1 of 0.94 to 0.98, page-level recall of 0.995 and token-level recall of 0.998.

These are the company's own evaluations, not independent ones. Every field is cited to its source with bounding boxes a clinician can check. No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Named systems with writing described, and nothing to verify. The company says it embeds in Epic, Cerner, Athena, Meditech and others and feeds structured data directly into the EHR, and ingests HL7 v2 messages, FHIR bundles and CCDs pulled from health information exchanges; output is returned as FHIR JSON through its API. No marketplace listing or integration documentation is published, and no case study names the EHR it runs in.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

A single hosted service with the location implied. Records arrive by fax, SFTP, API or upload and results return to the EHR, inbox, API or web app; the company says customers can bring their own model, use its models, or combine them. The privacy policy says health data is stored and processed on HIPAA-compliant services without naming them. No provider, region or residency commitment is published, and QA reviewers' locations are not stated.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published, and the products are discoverable. The company sells Fourier Intake, Fourier Insights and Fourier Infrastructure (API and datasets), and its case studies express value as savings, payback (3.5 months at one academic system) and return on investment. No unit of charge, tier or implementation fee is published, and nothing says what the clinician QA layer costs.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Named specialties with case studies behind part of them. The company builds specialty schemas (cardiology among them) and reports work in academic health systems, community oncology, fertility screening and cardiovascular value-based care, for health systems, specialty networks and AI research partners. The case studies are vendor published and unnamed. No age, population or specialty exclusions are published.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Fourier Health

Vendors in the same categories as Fourier Health whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Regard reads the whole electronic health record when a clinician opens a chart, recommends diagnoses the chart supports but the notes do not yet carry, and drafts the note around them inside the EHR.

ThetaRho sells a clinical intelligence platform in three layers and will sell any of them on its own.

Evidently, based in San Francisco, sells Clinical Data Intelligence: AI that reads the full longitudinal record, including scanned documents, faxes and outside records from Care Everywhere…

Layer Health is a Massachusetts Institute of Technology spin out, founded in 2023 and based in Boston, applying large language models to clinical chart review.

Wellsheet sells a Care Team Copilot that sits on top of the EHR and reads the existing chart rather than listening to the visit.

Carta Healthcare supplies software and clinical abstraction services for hospital registry teams.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Not published Not published. Establish the agreement chain covering the external clinician review network, not just the vendor. Not published. Vendor Published

No price, tier or unit of charge is published. The company sells three products (Fourier Intake, Fourier Insights and Fourier Infrastructure) and expresses value in its case studies as savings, payback and return on investment. Establish the pricing unit for each product (per page, per record, per summary, per patient or per site), what the clinician QA layer costs and at what sampling rate, and whether contributing data to shared specialty training or to de-identified datasets affects price.