Fathom
Fathom is a San Francisco company selling autonomous medical coding. Its system reads clinical documentation from the customer's record system, codes the charts it can and sends them direct to bill without a human coder, and passes the rest to the customer's own coding team. A second product, Audit Complete, checks charts coded by a customer's coders or coding vendor and flags likely denials or unnecessary downcoding.
Fathom sells to health systems for facility and professional coding, to physician groups and outpatient clinics, to health plans and value based care providers for risk adjustment coding, and to revenue cycle vendors. The company describes its technology as deep learning and natural language processing trained on over 750 million patient encounters.
Its March 2026 release reports that Your Health, a senior focused care group in South Carolina and Georgia, coded 95.5 percent of encounters autonomously at 98.3 percent accuracy (up from 96.3 percent) after going live in October 2025 through athenahealth; the accuracy method is not published. The company also summarizes a September 2024 KLAS Research spotlight in which customers validated automation above 90 percent. Its security page reports HITRUST i1, SOC 2 Type 2 and HIPAA compliance audits by a Certified Public Accounting firm. Andrew Lockhart is chief executive; investors named by the company include 8VC, Alkeon Capital, Cedars-Sinai, Founders Fund, GV, Lightspeed Venture Partners and Tarsadia, with a later strategic investment from CVS Health Ventures.
Capability Axes
An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read
The model is the product. Fathom's services page describes coding automation that takes a customer's incoming charts, codes the ones its system can code and sends them direct to bill with "no human intervention required", and passes the remainder back to the customer's own coding operation. Its second product, Audit Complete, runs the same system over charts a customer's coders or coding vendor have already coded and flags those that may represent a denial or unnecessary downcoding. Remove the model and neither product exists: no workflow platform or Fathom coding workforce is sold alongside it, because the charts the system declines return to the customer's coders.
The company describes its technology as deep learning and natural language processing trained on over 750 million patient encounters (company release, 19 March 2026).
The routing is described: the services page says the system processes the charts it can code and sends them direct to bill, "No human intervention required", and passes the remainder to the customer's coding operation. At Your Health, a senior focused primary and specialty care group, the company reports 95.5 percent of encounters coded autonomously from go-live in October 2025, and its summary of a September 2024 KLAS Research spotlight reports customers validating automation above 90 percent across specialties. The confidence threshold that decides which charts go to a person is not published, and nothing describes review of charts the system bills on its own.
The home page makes two completeness claims: Fathom lets health plans perform risk adjustment coding "exhaustively capturing HCCs", and lets value based care providers "ensure timely and exhaustive ICD capture". A claim that capture is exhaustive says nothing is missed, and no review step can show what the system failed to code, least of all on charts that go to bill untouched. Other claims are comparative ("unparalleled accuracy", "superhuman accuracy for E/M capture") and bear on evidence rather than oversight, and "ensure that your coding operations never slow down or stop" concerns availability.
The approach is named without the version and update practice behind it. The company describes Fathom as fusing deep learning and natural language processing to automate coding, and its March 2026 release says the technology is trained on over 750 million patient encounters, which characterizes the training data by scale but not by source, period or specialty mix. The coding elements handled are described in the Your Health case: ICD sequencing and combination codes, the G2211 add-on code, modifier 25 handling and HCC capture, calibrated to each customer's coding guidelines and payer mix.
No model family, version, release notes or statement of when models change is published, and nothing says whether customer calibration adjusts a shared model or a customer specific one.
No party in the chain is named. The company describes its own technology, deep learning and natural language processing trained on over 750 million encounters, without naming a model provider or saying the models are built in house, and its security page says it runs "a mix of proprietary and best in breed solutions" without naming any. The website privacy policy says Fathom uses service providers for hosting, analytics and database management and may use providers in other countries, but that policy covers website visitors and expressly excludes patient information processed for customers.
No subprocessor list, hosting provider or model provider is published for the coding service, which receives the complete clinical documentation for every encounter it codes through record system feeds such as athenahealth's Data View.
A named deployment with dated before and after figures. The company's release of 19 March 2026 reports that Your Health, a senior focused primary and specialty care group in South Carolina and Georgia with about 1 million visits a year across 14 offices, 278 assisted and independent living facilities, 11 nursing homes and telehealth, went live in October 2025 across all service lines and places of service after a proof of concept. It reports 95.5 percent of encounters coded autonomously from day one, accuracy of 98.3 percent against 96.3 percent under the prior coding approach, average risk adjustment factor up from 1.12 to 1.78, a threefold increase in G2211 add-on capture and a two day reduction in claim date to cash. The company also summarizes a KLAS Research spotlight ("Fathom 2024: Optimizing Revenue Cycle Operations through Medical Coding AI", September 2024, limited data) in which interviewed customers validated automation above 90 percent across specialties and all reported high satisfaction; the report itself is behind a download form.
The headline claim is accuracy ("unparalleled", "better than human"), and that is the half the evidence does not reach: no audit method, sample size or reference standard is given for the accuracy figures, and none is independently evaluated.
General assurances that do not answer the questions AI raises. The security page reports HITRUST, SOC 2 Type 2 and HIPAA compliance audits by a Certified Public Accounting firm, lists data privacy and management among its policies, and publishes an address for vulnerability reports. The website privacy policy excludes patient information processed for customers and says that data is used only as customer contracts authorize.
What is not stated is what the system retains and for how long, whether customer charts train the models (the March 2026 release says the technology is trained on over 750 million patient encounters without saying whose), and whether data is de-identified before any model development. Safety engineering, meaning how a coding error pattern or model fault is detected and handled, is not addressed. The service receives the complete clinical documentation for every encounter it codes, so these are material questions.
HIPAA compliance is claimed and business associate status is not stated. The security page says a Certified Public Accounting firm audited Fathom's HITRUST, HIPAA and SOC 2 Type 2 compliance, and describes the HIPAA audit as covering safeguards for electronic protected health information and readiness for breach notification.
The only privacy document published is a website privacy policy (effective date shown as 02.07.2020). It says it does not apply to patient information processed on behalf of business customers, and that such data is used only as the customer contracts authorize. No statement that Fathom acts as a business associate, no agreement and no tier is published, so compliance rests on the company's account of an audit rather than on a document a buyer can read.
Recognized certifications named without the artifacts. Fathom's security page says a Certified Public Accounting firm audited its HITRUST, HIPAA and SOC 2 Type 2 compliance, and links an announcement of its HITRUST i1 certification. The i1 assessment covers a curated control set, above the entry level e1 and below the risk based r2, so it is an independent certification but not the most demanding HITRUST offers.
The page offers no report, certificate date, scope statement or trust portal, and states no penetration testing cadence. It lists application, infrastructure and access security, incident management, threat and vulnerability management and workforce training among its policies, and publishes an address for vulnerability reports.
No device claim is made and the product is scoped as administrative coding. Fathom assigns billing codes from documentation for claim submission and risk adjustment, which is not a clinical determination, so no clearance is expected and none is claimed.
The regulatory exposure sits elsewhere. Codes submitted on a claim, and diagnoses captured for risk adjustment payments, are representations to a payer, so inaccurate coding falls under federal false claims law and Medicare Advantage risk adjustment audits rather than device law. That matters most for the work sold to health plans and value based care providers, where the company markets exhaustive HCC capture and higher risk adjustment factors. The home, services and security pages state no position on coding compliance or on who carries audit liability for an autonomously billed code.
Nothing is published on how model behavior is governed or tested. The home, services and security pages, the Your Health release of March 2026 and the company's summary of its KLAS Research spotlight describe automation rates and accuracy, but no governance framework, responsible AI policy, drift monitoring or evaluation across groups.
The governance question specific to coding is systematic drift. A model that assigns evaluation and management levels or risk adjustment codes slightly high across a population raises revenue and compliance exposure together, one that assigns slightly low loses revenue quietly, and neither error shows in a single encounter. The Your Health release reports average risk adjustment factors rising from 1.12 to 1.78 in a year, which the company attributes to more complete and specific coding; no method for validating a shift of that size is published, and no distribution of assigned levels or codes against benchmarks, or breakdown by specialty, payer or documentation style, is offered. Safety engineering is not addressed.
The pages that describe the product say nothing about what happens when an autonomously billed code is wrong. The services page sends the charts the system can code direct to bill with no human intervention and passes the rest to the customer's coders. The company's second product, Audit Complete, checks a customer's own coders or coding vendor and flags potential denials, but no audit, correction or remediation route is described for Fathom's own output, and no warranty, indemnity or accuracy guarantee appears on the home, services, security or case study pages. Accuracy is reported for one customer, 98.3 percent at Your Health, with no method, sample or reference standard, so it does not stand as a published error rate.
The company's RFP guide for autonomous coding lists a section on service level agreements, described as "contracting to ensure outcomes", but the guide sits behind a download form, so whether Fathom commits to accuracy or turnaround with a remedy cannot be seen before contact.
A named record system with read access in production. At Your Health, Fathom integrated with athenahealth through Data View, athenahealth's reporting data feed, and coded every care setting from it (company release, 19 March 2026). The company's summary of its September 2024 KLAS Research spotlight says the interviewed customers ran on a variety of record systems, without naming them. The services page describes the product sitting in the existing workflow, taking incoming charts and sending coded charts direct to bill.
How codes return to the practice management or billing module, and which other record systems have production connections, is not stated on the product, security or case study pages, and no integration documentation or marketplace listing is linked from them. A clearinghouse or billing feed would not count as record system exchange on its own.
A single hosted service with its location not committed. Fathom receives clinical documentation from the customer's record system (athenahealth's Data View at Your Health) and returns codes for billing. The security page describes a service audited against SOC 2 Type 2, a framework it describes as designed for service providers storing customer data in the cloud, and lists infrastructure security, business continuity and disaster recovery among its policies. No hosting provider, region, tenant isolation or on premises option is stated for the coding service. The website privacy policy says the company is headquartered in the United States and may use service providers in other countries, but that policy excludes patient information processed for customers.
Daily volumes of complete clinical notes move to the vendor and back, so where they are processed is a real question.
No price or pricing basis is published. The home page says Fathom can reduce the total cost of a coding operation "by up to 50%" and the services page says "by up to 70%". A savings ceiling that differs between pages is a claim about the buyer's own costs, not the vendor's charge, and it carries no unit of charge, whether per chart, per encounter or per volume band.
How the product is sold is described. The system codes the charts it can and returns the rest to the customer's coders, so the total cost splits into Fathom's charge for automated charts and the residual coding the customer keeps. A quote request form is offered, and the company's RFP guide includes a section on financials and pricing that sits behind a download form.
Coverage is named with validation behind part of it. The home page sells to health systems (facility and professional coding across service lines), physician groups (evaluation and management and provider assignment), outpatient clinics (auditing a coding team's work), health plans (retrospective risk adjustment coding), value based care providers and revenue cycle vendors.
Validation sits with primary and specialty care. Your Health reports autonomous coding across every service line and place of service, including offices, home visits, assisted living, nursing homes and telehealth, and the company's summary of its September 2024 KLAS Research spotlight reports automation above 90 percent across specialties from interviewed customers. Facility coding for large health systems and health plan risk adjustment carry no named customer on the pages that sell them. Coding systems are national, and nothing addresses coding outside the United States.
Alternatives to Fathom
Vendors in the same categories as Fathom whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
Charta Health reviews the documentation for every encounter before billing, using large language models rather than a rules engine.
Arintra sells an enterprise revenue assurance platform built on autonomous medical coding.
CombineHealth sells AI revenue cycle automation as five named agents on one platform.
CodaMetrix sells autonomous medical coding.
AccuCode AI, founded in 2023 in Little Rock, Arkansas, with a second office in Seattle, runs autonomous medical coding and clinical quality abstraction on one engineering stack.
Maverick Medical AI sells real time autonomous medical coding, built first for radiology. mCoder reads each clinical report, assigns CPT, HCPCS and ICD-10-CM codes and sends 85 percent or…
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Compared With
Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
| Entry Price | Pricing Basis | BAA Tier | Implementation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
—
|
Not published. Savings of up to 50 percent (home page) or up to 70 percent (services page) against current coding spend are claimed. | Not published. The security page reports a HIPAA compliance audit by a Certified Public Accounting firm; no business associate statement or agreement is published, and the website privacy policy excludes patient information processed for customers. | Not published. The Your Health release describes a proof of concept on a high volume of that customer's encounters before go-live. | Vendor Published |
No price, unit of charge or pricing basis is published. The home page says Fathom can reduce the total cost of a coding operation by up to 50 percent, and the services page says by up to 70 percent; those are savings claims against the buyer's current spend, not the vendor's charge. The product codes the charts it can and passes the rest to the customer's coders, so the total cost is Fathom's charge for automated charts plus the residual coding the customer keeps.
A quote request form is offered, and the company's RFP guide covers financials, pricing and service level agreements behind a download form. Ask for the unit of charge (per chart, per encounter or per volume band), how declined charts are counted, and what remedy any service level terms carry.