Healthcare Administrative Automation
E

Element5

Element5 automates the administrative back office of post acute care. The company was founded in 2019 and is headquartered in San Jose, California, with its Asia Pacific headquarters in Chennai, India; its funding announcements name Joe Randesi as co founder and chief executive, and home health, hospice, skilled nursing and senior living as the settings it serves.

It began with robotic process automation, software robots that log into everyday systems and carry out administrative tasks as a person would, and now sells Neos, described as agentic automation across the patient financial journey. The home page lists modules for referral and intake, eligibility and benefit verification, prior authorizations, claims processing including notices of admission and election, denials management, remittance and collections, audits and compliance (face to face audits, pre claim reviews, physician notifications), OASIS and HOPE submission to the federal reporting system, and customer built agents on the company's framework. Agents plan and carry out tasks across record systems, payer portals and clearinghouses, route exceptions and low confidence decisions to a person, and log every action.

It is sold as a fully managed service, with ready built, jointly designed and customer built agents. The home page states SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA compliance. Client stories name VNA Health Group, working from the Homecare Homebase record, VIA Health Partners and Vivie, and the company has announced a distribution partnership with WellSky. The home page publishes many outcome figures, none with a baseline or period, and no business associate agreement, hosting location, model provider or error rate is published.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 22, 2026
Compare Element5 with other vendors
Founded
2019
Headquarters
San Jose, California
Website
www.e5.ai
Categories
healthcare-admin-automation, rcm-and-prior-auth, home-care-operations
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it. A learned component is a model whose parameters are estimated from data: machine learning, or a statistical model fitted to population data, including one then updated on the patient measurements. A fixed formula, a rule set, or a feedback controller that adjusts a dosing factor from the patient own readings is not one, however patient specific its output and whatever the vendor calls the adjustment.
Vendor Published

A learned layer is described on top of automation that predates it. The company began with robotic process automation: its 2021 funding announcement described software robots that log into everyday systems and perform administrative tasks exactly as a person would. The home page now describes an agentic architecture: a goal such as processing a patient claim is broken into sub tasks, specialist agents carry them out across systems, and an agent that meets an exception or lacks confidence in a decision flags the task to a person. Plan generation and a confidence gate are model functions, so a learned component is plausibly present; the same page also says the agents make rules based decisions, and no model is named.

The value underneath stands without the model. Most of the published workflow list is portal and record system work, such as checking eligibility in a payer portal, requesting authorizations, filing notices and posting cash, which the robots did before the agentic layer existed.

What the customer buys is an automation service with a feature layer of AI on top.

DD on Autonomy and Oversight ModelNo oversight structure is published. An absolute claim that the system does not err grades here too, because a buyer who believes it will not build the review step that would catch a failure.
Vendor Published

A real exception route sits under a home page promise that no review can guarantee. The platform routes any task an agent cannot complete, or would complete without enough confidence, to a central human in the loop application with visibility of every exception, and every agent action is logged. A customer quoted on the home page describes the result as the automation processing 93 percent and staff handling the 7 percent kicked out as exceptions. That is a real structure with one part missing: the confidence threshold that sends a task to a person is not published.

The same page says the automated workflows maximize reimbursement by submitting perfect claims on the first attempt. A promise that submissions are perfect is a claim that the output is right, and a buyer who believes it has no reason to review what the agents send to payers, where a wrong eligibility result or a wrong notice costs payment weeks later. The exception route catches what the agents know they got wrong; it cannot catch what they submitted with confidence. Nothing says whether customers can sample those confident submissions.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

Nothing in the agentic design is identified, though its steps are laid out. The home page lays out the design in five steps: a goal is set, a plan is generated as sub tasks, specialist agents execute across systems, exceptions and low confidence decisions go to a person, and completion is logged and reconciled in the revenue cycle system. It also describes an orchestration layer with building blocks customers can use to deploy their own agents. No model, model family or provider is named, no accuracy or completion figure is published for any workflow, and nothing describes how agents or workflows are versioned or how a change reaches a customer.

That matters because the product sits between the agency and payer portals that change without notice. Whether a workflow adapts through a model or through a rebuilt script changes how it fails, and the page does not say which.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

Orchestrated agents are described in some detail, and every party behind them goes unnamed. The home page describes orchestrated agents that plan, act across systems and escalate exceptions through a customer web application, and nothing identifies a model or model provider behind the planning and decisions, a hosting provider, or a subprocessor. The privacy policy says personal data is shared with service providers carrying out contract work, without naming them.

The chain includes the company's own operation abroad: its funding announcements place its Asia Pacific headquarters in Chennai, India, and exceptions are routed to people for review.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Named customers and many figures, none with a method. Client stories name VNA Health Group (eligibility and authorization for one national payer, worked from the Homecare Homebase record), VIA Health Partners (intake eligibility verification) and Vivie (compliance and revenue recognition), and the home page quotes named customer staff. The VNA story describes the workflow and reports time saved, reduced hiring and more consistent notes without figures; the full case study sits behind an email form.

The home page publishes a 50 percent time reduction on pre claim review submissions, a 99 percent OASIS submission rate, an 85 percent improvement in notification compliance, labor burden reduction of 82 percent or more, 727 automated workflows and 121 thousand transactions a day. Customer quotes add 75 percent of one process's administrative burden removed, 93 percent of work processed automatically, and at least five full time staff saved on denials. None states a baseline, period, site or denominator, so each is the company's report of its customers' results, and transaction volume is scale of use rather than benefit.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

General assurances that do not answer the questions this architecture raises. The home page states SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA compliance and a full audit trail of agent actions. The privacy policy, which covers the company's websites and related services, promises appropriate technical and organizational measures and keeps personal data as long as its purposes require. Nothing states what patient data the agents keep after a task, whether any model sees patient data and on what terms, or whether customer data trains anything.

Two features make the gaps specific. The automation works by logging into payer portals and record systems, so it holds working credentials to systems containing far more than the task at hand; nothing says whether those are named service accounts or staff credentials, how they are scoped and rotated, or what happens to them when a contract ends. And the company's funding announcements place its Asia Pacific headquarters in Chennai, India, while exceptions are routed to people for review; where those people sit, and whether they see patient data, is not stated.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

HIPAA compliance is claimed and nothing published supports it. The home page states the platform is SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA compliant and carries a HIPAA badge. The only privacy document is a policy covering the company's websites and related services whose content concerns visitor, marketing and business contact data; its one mention of HIPAA explains that health information covered by that law falls outside California's consumer privacy statute. Nothing states business associate status, and no agreement, template or tier is published.

The managed service model makes the agreement central. The company operates the automations on the customer's behalf, inside payer portals and the customer's record system, and its funding announcements place its Asia Pacific headquarters in Chennai, India. Whether any agreement would cover access to patient information from outside the United States is not stated.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

A recognized attestation is named as the company's own, with nothing a buyer can open. The home page states the platform is SOC 2 Type II compliant and carries the AICPA SOC mark. That is an audit of how a vendor operates security, and it is presented as the company's own rather than a hosting provider's. No report, trust center, audit period or scope is published, and nothing describes penetration testing or vulnerability disclosure.

Scope is the open point. The product holds credentials to customers' payer portals and record systems, and the company has an Asia Pacific headquarters in Chennai, India; nothing says whether the report covers the automation platform and the people who operate it in both locations. Nor is it described how agent credentials are stored and protected.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

The product is administrative and financial throughout, and makes no device claim. Its scope covers referral intake, eligibility and benefit checks, authorizations, claims, denials, remittance, audits and notices. No output recommends a diagnosis or a treatment.

The regulation that does apply is payment and reporting law. Notices of admission and election carry filing deadlines with payment consequences, OASIS and HOPE assessment data must reach the federal iQIES reporting system correctly, and face to face documentation and pre claim review are audit requirements. Automating those filings means automating compliance records, so a late or wrong filing is a regulatory problem as well as an operational one. The home page reports a 99 percent OASIS submission rate and an 85 percent improvement in notification compliance with no baseline or period.

Nothing describes how filing deadlines are tracked when an automation fails, or who is alerted before one passes.

DD on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureNothing published on how model behavior is governed or tested. Multilingual operation with no subgroup performance sits here when the vendor markets recognition quality as a strength, because a caller the system failed to understand leaves no complaint and no record.
Vendor Published

Nothing published on how agent decisions are governed or tested. The platform's round the clock monitoring, alerting and anomaly detection keep the automations running; they do not describe how decisions are evaluated, how often agents are wrong, or how a change is validated before it reaches customers.

Two stated features make the absence specific. Denial management prioritizes high value cases, which is rational for the agency's finances and means small denials are worked last or not at all. A denial's value to the agency is the size of the claim; its value to the patient is whether their care is covered, and a small claim for an inexpensive service may well belong to a patient with the least ability to absorb it. And customers can build their own agents from the company's building blocks, which puts agents the vendor did not build or test onto the same platform, acting in payer portals, with no review process described.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Mechanisms exist to challenge an output and nothing stands behind it. The platform logs every agent action in a full audit trail and routes exceptions and low confidence decisions to a person for review, so a customer can trace what an agent did and staff see what the agents flagged. No warranty, accuracy service level, indemnity or remediation commitment is published, and no error or rework rate is given for any workflow; the home page's promise of perfect claims on the first attempt has no remedy attached.

A second question follows from the method. The automation acts in payer portals and record systems through logged in accounts, so an action taken by the software may appear there as an action by whoever holds the credentials. The internal audit trail records the agent; whether the payer's and the record system's own logs can tell the agent from a person is not stated, and that decides whether a wrong submission can be traced after the fact.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Positioned as a bridge between record systems, payers, convenors and clearinghouses, which is where the friction in post acute administration sits. The VNA Health Group client story names the system: the automation sweeps eligible records from Homecare Homebase, checks eligibility in a national payer's portal, adds coordination notes, and requests and updates authorization details back in the record, which is reading and writing in a named production deployment. A customer quoted on the home page describes denials pulled from the clearinghouse and billing notes uploaded to the record. The company has announced a distribution partnership with WellSky, another post acute record system vendor.

The connection works through user interfaces rather than a documented interface: no integration documentation, marketplace listing or interface standard is published, so what breaks when a portal or record screen changes cannot be told in advance.

DD on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyNothing published about where the system runs or where the data rests.
Vendor Published

Nothing published says where the platform runs or where data rests. The company sells a fully managed service with round the clock monitoring and alerting and a customer login on its own web application, which establishes a hosted service, and no page names a hosting provider, region, residency commitment, tenancy model or retention period for task data.

The question has an edge here because of who operates the service. The company's funding announcements place its Asia Pacific headquarters in Chennai, India, and the platform routes exceptions to people for review. Whether patient data is stored or viewed outside the United States, and by whom, is not stated.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

The offer is laid out module by module, and none of it carries a price. The home page lists the modules (referral and intake, eligibility and benefit verification, prior authorizations, claims processing, denials management, remittance and collections, audits and compliance, operations automation, custom agents) and three engagement models: ready built agents, agents designed jointly with the company, and customer built agents on its framework. It is sold as a fully managed service with no development, maintenance or infrastructure investment on the customer's side, and the route in is a custom assessment.

What no page answers is the unit of charge: per workflow, per transaction, per episode or a platform fee, and whether jointly designed and customer built agents are priced differently. Maintenance when a payer changes a portal falls inside a managed service by description; whether rebuilds are charged is not stated, and neither are implementation fees or the term.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Wide within post acute care and confined to it. The workflows follow the administrative journey from referral and intake through eligibility, authorization, claims, denials and cash posting, with hospice notices of election, home health OASIS and hospice HOPE reporting among them, and the company's funding announcements name home health, hospice, skilled nursing and senior living as its settings.

Validation sits behind home health and hospice, where the named client stories and quoted customers are; nothing published names a skilled nursing or senior living deployment. Coverage is United States only, which is inherent, since the filings being automated belong to this payment system.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Element5

Vendors in the same categories as Element5 whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

CertifyOS sells a provider data platform to health plans, health systems and digital health companies.

Phreesia is the incumbent of patient intake.

Sample Healthcare sells AI document and workflow automation for healthcare organizations: copilots that extract, classify, summarize and reason over medical records and clinical documents…

Clearwave sells front office automation to specialty practices, multi site groups and health systems: scheduling, call handling, insurance eligibility, pre registration, clinical intake…

Medsender is a New York based company whose product reads the documents and phone calls arriving at a medical practice and files what it finds into the electronic health record.

Zus Health assembles a longitudinal patient record from national data networks and delivers it to care teams, analysts and developers.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
No pricing published; custom assessment
Fully managed automation service sold by module (intake, eligibility, authorizations, claims, denials, remittance, compliance, operations) and engagement model (ready built, jointly designed or customer built agents). No unit of charge, rate or term published. Not published. The home page states HIPAA compliance; no business associate status, agreement or tier is stated, and the only privacy document covers the websites. Not published. The company states customers deploy with no development, maintenance or infrastructure investment of their own; whether implementation, or rebuilds after a payer changes its portal, are charged is not stated. Vendor Published

No price, rate or unit of charge is published, and the offer is enumerated. The home page lists the modules (referral and intake, eligibility and benefit verification, prior authorizations, claims processing, denials management, remittance and collections, audits and compliance, operations automation, custom agents) and three engagement models: ready built agents, agents designed jointly with the company, and customer built agents on its framework. It is sold as a fully managed service, and the route in is a custom assessment.

What a buyer cannot establish before contact is the unit of charge (per workflow, per transaction, per episode or a platform fee), whether jointly designed and customer built agents are priced differently, whether rebuilds after payer portal changes are charged, implementation fees and the term.

Ask for the unit of charge by module and engagement model, and request the exception rate at comparable customers before agreeing any per transaction price, since the share of work that returns to staff decides whether the fee replaces cost or adds to it.