Clinical Reference & Evidence
D

Doximity Ask

Doximity Ask, formerly Doximity GPT, is the clinical AI assistant inside Doximity's professional network, free on desktop and mobile to verified US physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and students. Its clinical reference layer came from Pathway (Pathway Medical), the Montreal company Doximity acquired in July 2025, whose medical corpus and model were built into Ask that September, so a buyer looking for Pathway will find it here. It answers clinical questions, from drug interactions and dosing to differential diagnoses, guideline summaries and treatment options, with inline citations to guidelines, studies and references and access to full-text PDFs from more than 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. Drug answers draw on thousands of hospital-grade monographs grounded in FDA labeling. Clinicians can upload lab reports, imaging summaries, notes and letters for Ask to read, use a slower Thinking Mode for complex cases, and save preferred journals, formats and letter styles. On the administrative side it drafts prior authorization requests, insurance appeal letters, letters of medical necessity, patient communications and notes, which can be sent by Doximity's secure fax. PeerCheck, a panel of more than 12,000 physicians, evaluates and improves its answers.

Doximity says its clinical AI suite has been deployed across more than 165 health systems. It enters a business associate agreement with each member and offers institutional agreements, names a SOC 2 Type 2 attestation and publishes a SOC 3 report, and hosts on servers colocated in US facilities. A separate record covers Doximity Scribe. Doximity, Inc. is based in San Francisco.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 23, 2026
Compare Doximity Ask with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
San Francisco, California
Categories
clinical-reference-and-evidence, healthcare-admin-automation, clinical-decision-support
Indexed Products
Doximity Ask (formerly Doximity GPT), Pathway clinical reference, integrated into Ask, PeerCheck physician review, Drug monographs, Document upload and Thinking Mode
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

The model is the engine of the product, and a reference library and a network sit around it. Doximity Ask answers clinical questions, reads uploaded documents and drafts letters with a language model. Beside the model it offers thousands of hospital-grade drug monographs grounded in FDA labeling, full-text PDFs from more than 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, and PeerCheck, a panel of more than 12,000 physicians who evaluate and improve its answers.

It is reached inside Doximity's professional network alongside messaging, fax and Dialer. Take the model away and a drug and literature reference remains that a clinician could still use, so the model is the engine of the core module rather than the whole of what is offered.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Each answer shows its basis, and the limits of the tool are not described. Doximity Ask surfaces citations inline so a clinician can see which guideline, study or reference supports each statement and open the source in one click. PeerCheck has more than 12,000 physicians continuously evaluating and improving answers, which reviews the product over time rather than each answer before it is read.

The clinician remains the one who acts: answers support dosing, differential diagnosis and treatment choices, and letters and notes are drafted for the clinician to send. Nothing published says what the tool does when the evidence is thin or conflicting, whether it declines to answer, whether answers about an uploaded document draw only on that document, or how a preference for particular journals changes what a clinician sees.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The approach is described, and the model beneath it is not named on the current pages. Doximity Ask grounds answers in guidelines, studies and full-text journal articles with inline citations, draws dosing and prescribing answers from drug monographs grounded in FDA labeling, offers an instant mode and a slower Thinking Mode for complex cases, reads uploaded documents, and remembers each clinician's preferred journals, formats and letter style.

An earlier Doximity page for the product said its business associate agreement with OpenAI included zero data retention; that page now redirects to the Ask overview, which names no model provider. No model, version, retrieval architecture or evaluation result is published. The product has also been renamed from Doximity GPT to Doximity Ask.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

No model provider is named on the current pages, and the agreement governing subcontractors is public. An earlier Doximity product page said its business associate agreement with OpenAI included zero data retention; that page now redirects to the Doximity Ask overview, which names no model provider. Doximity's member business associate agreement requires any subcontractor handling protected health information to accept restrictions no less strict than Doximity's own. Hosting is described as servers colocated in US facilities, with AWS Key Management Service for encryption keys. No subprocessor list is published.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Scale and named clinician testimony, with no published evaluation of the answers on the product pages. Doximity says its clinical AI suite has been reviewed, approved and deployed at more than 165 health systems, including 10 of the top 20 US hospitals, and names physicians who use Ask for research and for letters of medical necessity.

PeerCheck's 12,000-plus physician reviewers evaluate answers continuously, but no result from that review is published on the Ask or security pages: no accuracy rate, error rate or peer-reviewed study of Ask. Deployment counts measure adoption rather than whether answers are right.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

The terms that govern patient data are published, and they permit more than the product page suggests. Doximity's member business associate agreement allows it to de-identify protected health information to the HIPAA standard and says de-identified data 'may be used, disclosed, and commercialized ... for any lawful purpose, including product development'.

It also says return or destruction of protected health information at termination is not feasible, so Doximity may retain it under the agreement's continuing protections. The Ask page says patient data and uploaded documents are handled within a secure framework, and Doximity encrypts protected health information at rest with AES-256.

No retention period for prompts or uploads is published, and the current Ask pages do not repeat the earlier commitment that prompts are never used to train models. Safety engineering, meaning guardrails, hallucination mitigation and how a safety event is handled, is described only through citations and physician review.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

The business associate agreement is published, and whether it reaches Ask is left for the buyer to confirm. Doximity's security page says it enters a business associate agreement with each individual member on registration and offers an institutional agreement to health systems.

The agreement is public and incorporated into the terms of service; it flows its restrictions down to subcontractors that handle protected health information and sets reporting duties for breaches and security incidents. It applies to the 'Doximity Tools' the company identifies as appropriately secure for protected health information. The Ask page calls the product HIPAA-compliant and says patient data and uploads are handled securely, but no published list names Ask among the covered tools.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

Doximity names a SOC 2 Type 2 attestation as its own and links a public SOC 3 report. Its security page says its platforms are covered by SOC 2 Type 2, describes recurring risk assessments, penetration testing by internal testers and external firms, white-box testing and a private HackerOne vulnerability program, and links a SOC 3 report as a downloadable PDF. It also calls the company 'HIPAA/HITECH certified', which is not a certification any body issues. The SOC 3 report's period and system scope, and whether Ask sits inside it, are not stated on the page.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No regulatory position is stated, and the product answers questions that sit close to clinical decisions. Doximity Ask answers questions on drug interactions and dosing, differential diagnoses, guideline summaries and treatment options, reads uploaded labs, imaging summaries and notes, and offers a Thinking Mode for complex cases such as ICU patients with multiple comorbidities.

Every statement carries an inline citation to its source and the user is a clinician, so the basis of each answer can be checked before it is acted on; that is support to a clinician rather than a decision made for a patient. Nothing published states an intended use, a limitation, or a position on clinical decision support rules. Drafted letters and notes go out under the clinician's signature.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with. A framework covering the vendor whole portfolio counts when its scope reaches this product; what it cannot supply is the product specific evaluation the band above asks for. Published results within the one group where the performance of this product is most at risk also sit here: evaluation on the question this axis asks, short of the comparison across groups the band above requires. A medical device clearance or certification, and the quality system behind it, does not reach this band on its own; it is graded under regulatory status. A regulator reviewed plan governing how the model may change does reach it.
Vendor Published

A named review process exists, and nothing from it is published. PeerCheck has more than 12,000 physicians continuously evaluating and improving Ask's AI-generated answers, and Doximity says its clinical AI suite has been reviewed and approved by more than 165 health systems. That is a governance process with a named body behind it.

No results are published: no error categories, no accuracy by specialty, no bias or subgroup evaluation, and no account of how reviewer findings change the model. One design choice needs governing: clinicians can save preferred journals and references, which then shape later answers, so two clinicians may get different answers to the same question, and nothing says whether an answer discloses that a preference was applied.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Mechanisms let a clinician check an answer, and nothing stands behind a wrong one. Every statement in an Ask answer carries a citation to the source that supports it, and PeerCheck's physician reviewers evaluate and correct answers over time. No accuracy figure, error rate, warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published on the Ask or security pages. The costly errors are a wrong dose or interaction answer acted on without opening the citation, and a letter that misstates a patient's history.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

No record system integration is published for Ask. Clinicians bring material in by uploading lab reports, imaging summaries, notes and letters, and send drafted letters out through Doximity's own secure fax; drafted notes are copied into the record by hand. Doximity says its clinical AI suite is deployed at more than 165 health systems, but no named record system, marketplace listing, interface standard or write-back path is described for Ask. A chart note or discharge summary that has to be pasted into the record moves work rather than removing it.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Residency is stated for the platform, and the model processing path is left open. Doximity's security page says it runs on servers colocated in US facilities with physical access controls, encrypts protected health information at rest with AES-256, and manages keys for databases holding it with AWS Key Management Service. Doximity Ask is available only to verified US clinicians, through web and mobile, as one hosted service.

The company does not say whether model inference for Ask runs in those facilities or with an outside model provider and where, or how clinicians' sessions and uploads are separated, and it describes no institutional deployment option.

Commercial
BB on Commercial TransparencyA price or a pricing basis is published without full tiers, so a buyer can size the cost before making contact.
Vendor Published

The individual price is published and zero; the institutional terms are not. Doximity Ask is free on desktop and mobile to verified US clinicians, with unlimited access and no paid tier described, so the full cost to an individual is clear without speaking to anyone.

Doximity also says its clinical AI suite has been deployed across more than 165 health systems, and offers an institutional business associate agreement through its hospitals team, but publishes no institutional price, contract structure or governance terms. The free product is funded elsewhere: Doximity's fiscal 2026 annual report says its revenue-generating customers are primarily pharmaceutical manufacturers and health systems, buying its marketing, hiring and workflow solutions.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Coverage is broad across roles and tasks, with validation behind deployment rather than any specialty. The product serves verified US physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and students, and covers clinical questions, drug information, literature, document review, clinical notes, patient communications and administrative letters.

Doximity reports deployment at more than 165 health systems; named testimony comes from individual physicians, and no evidence of performance is published for any specialty. Availability is limited to the United States by design. It also handles authorization paperwork on the requesting side: Ask generates prior authorization requests, insurance appeal letters and letters of medical necessity, which clinicians can send by Doximity's secure fax.

Tracked Since Listing

What Changed

Material product, regulatory, evidence and commercial changes at Doximity Ask, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.

Sep 22, 2026Clinical evidence

Doximity published Bedside Bench, an open source clinical AI benchmark of 500 cases across 10 sub benchmarks, including drug safety, guideline adherence, landmark trials, hallucination and false premises, health equity and diagnostic safety. The 250 case training split and the grading rubrics are public on Hugging Face, and the test split is held out. Bedside Bench is one of the domain benchmarks in Fireworks' Specialized Intelligence Index, and Doximity states that Doximity Ask ranked first against frontier models when Fireworks graded it.

Bears on: Clinical and Operational EvidenceSource
Our read on this change →Tracked since Sep 2026
Alternatives

Alternatives to Doximity Ask

Vendors in the same categories as Doximity Ask whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Clinical evidence search engine for licensed clinicians, operated by Veracity-Health Inc., a Delaware corporation with a San Francisco address, and free to verified clinicians and trainees…

Clinical knowledge management and quality improvement platform anchored in anesthesiology and perioperative services, built on the premise that the gap is less missing evidence than the…

Drug information service delivered as software, from an Atlanta company operating since at least 2014.

Eolas Medical organizes hospital policies, clinical guidelines and local knowledge for healthcare professionals.

Real world evidence generation, spun out of Stanford's Green Button project in 2020 and built to answer the question a clinician actually has at the bedside when no trial covers their…

Point of care disease reference from EBSCO Clinical Decisions, part of EBSCO Information Services, and one of the two reference incumbents this segment is measured against alongside UpToDate.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Free to verified United States clinicians
$0 baseline
Free to verified individual clinicians; institutional terms through Doximity's hospitals team, unpublished Member business associate agreement entered at registration and published; institutional agreements for health systems. Whether Ask is among the covered tools is not stated on a published list. None for individual clinicians; institutional terms not published Vendor Published

Free on desktop and mobile to verified US clinicians, including nurse practitioners, physician assistants and students, with unlimited access and no paid tier described. Doximity reports its clinical AI suite deployed at more than 165 health systems; institutional prices and contract terms are not published. Doximity's fiscal 2026 annual report says its revenue-generating customers are primarily pharmaceutical manufacturers and health systems, buying marketing, hiring and workflow solutions.