Medication Safety & Prescribing
D

DoseMeRx

DoseMeRx is a Bayesian precision dosing platform for high risk medications, computing an individualized regimen from named, clinically validated population pharmacokinetic models, patient characteristics, measured drug concentrations and, where available, genotype. It covers more than forty drugs across infectious disease, transplant medicine, cardiovascular and coagulation management, oncology and pediatrics, with models marked for adult, pediatric and neonatal use, and reaches more than a thousand clinicians across more than a hundred locations in the United States, Europe, Asia Pacific, Africa and South America. It has since added Firstline, a clinical guidance product, by acquisition.

The product originated in Brisbane, Australia, and its corporate history is eventful for software a hospital pharmacy depends on daily: Tabula Rasa HealthCare acquired it in a deal reported at up to $30 million, completing in January 2019, and sold it four years later to an affiliate of Fairlong Capital on 20 January 2023, with customer contracts transferring to DoseMe Operations Inc. and Paul Edwards installed as chief executive. It now operates from Houston. Three owners in six years is a supplier continuity question a procurement committee should ask about directly rather than a criticism.

What sets the record apart is disclosure. DoseMe publishes where United States and European patient data physically resides, states that the customer owns the data it enters, describes the license it takes back over de identified data for model improvement, names the published models behind each drug, describes a model validation process with independent review by a named Clinical Advisory Board, and lists peer reviewed studies of the software. It holds HITRUST certification and states that it is the only Bayesian dosing platform to do so.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 18, 2026
Compare DoseMeRx with other vendors
Founded
2012
Headquarters
Houston, Texas, United States
Website
doseme-rx.com/
Categories
medication-safety-and-prescribing, clinical-decision-support
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

The dose is produced by a learned component, and that component is the product. DoseMeRx estimates each patient's pharmacokinetic parameters by Bayesian updating: a published population model supplies the prior, and the patient's own measured drug concentrations, and genotype where available, update it to an individual estimate from which the regimen is computed.

Everything else on the platform, the fit display, the renal trajectory, the guideline comparison and the dosing matrix, presents that estimate to a clinician; remove it and nothing is left to dose from. The mechanism is statistical inference with a long clinical pedigree rather than a neural network. DoseMe calls itself a Bayesian dosing platform throughout its material rather than reaching for an artificial intelligence label, which describes the method accurately.

AA on Autonomy and Oversight ModelWhat the system may do and what it may not do are both published, with escalation thresholds, override paths and the conditions that route a case to a person.
Vendor Published

What the clinician is shown alongside the answer is the oversight design. The interface displays how well the model fits this patient's observed levels rather than presenting a dose as a bare number, tracks serum creatinine on the same page so renal trajectory is visible while the decision is made, and compares the individualized result against guideline recommendations.

It presents an Alternative Dosing Matrix of viable options across dose amount and interval, any of which can be selected, rather than a single recommendation to accept or reject. The system never acts on its own: every dose is a clinician's choice from a displayed option space, with a fit diagnostic and a guideline reference beside it, which is meaningful oversight in practical form. The remaining gap is a published figure for how often clinicians adopt, modify or reject the recommendation.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

What produces the dose is named. The engine is Bayesian estimation over published population pharmacokinetic models, and DoseMe names them with their sources: for vancomycin, Buelga et al. (2005), Goti et al. (2018) in one and two compartment and hemodialysis forms, Sabourenkov et al. (2019) for obese adults, Lamarre et al. (2000) for pediatric and adolescent patients and Frymoyer et al. (2014) for preterm neonates, each with its structure, covariates and derivation cohort described.

The platform also exposes model fit at the point of care, so a clinician can see whether the model describes this patient's observed levels before acting. What is missing is version and update discipline: the drug models page shows each model's development stage, but nothing says how a customer learns that a live model has changed, no calibration data is published for the library, and the genotype input has no published description of which gene and drug pairs are supported or how genotype is weighted against measured concentrations.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

The chain is structurally short and its terms are published. The dose models are published population pharmacokinetic models, named with their source studies on DoseMe's drug model pages, run on DoseMe's own platform hosted in Microsoft Azure, in Illinois for United States data and in EU data centers for European data.

The data security page states that customers own the patient data they enter, and discloses precisely what DoseMe takes in return: a license back over deidentified data to deliver, monitor and improve the service and improve the models in use, with reports and research exports as the data's owner determines; the HIPAA notice adds that deidentified pooled data may be shared with third parties for research unless a patient restricts it.

Secondary use is disclosed and bounded as a license from the owner. DoseMe also requires storage facilities to be audited against ISO 27001, SOC 1, PCI DSS and HIPAA security standards. No subprocessor list names every party that touches the data, including the third parties that receive research data.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Peer Reviewed Publication

DoseMe lists peer reviewed studies of its software on a clinical evidence page, most written by hospital clinicians rather than the company. Among them: a 2023 study in the Journal of Pharmacy Technology associating DoseMeRx vancomycin dosing with lower acute kidney injury incidence and better target attainment than first order AUC calculation in patients also on piperacillin-tazobactam; a 2024 Therapeutic Drug Monitoring report from a 500 bed hospital showing lower kidney injury rates, fewer serum samples and cost savings after switching to Bayesian AUC monitoring; a 2021 prospective and retrospective quasi experimental study in the British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology showing more patients reaching target AUC; and pediatric cystic fibrosis tobramycin studies in the Journal of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy (2022) and Clinical Pharmacokinetics (2015, 2018).

An independent 2018 comparison in Pharmacotherapy included DoseMe among five programs. This published research is largely retrospective and single site. No prospective multi site study backs the outcome claims, and reduced kidney injury is the one that carries the clinical argument.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

The company publishes specific positions on training use and on deidentification. Training use: its data security page states that patient data entered by customers is owned by those customers, and where applicable by the patient, and that DoseMe licenses back de identified data to deliver, monitor and improve the service and to improve the models in use, with reports and research exports as determined by the data's owner.

De identification: its HIPAA notice says de identified data is used whenever possible to maintain and improve the service, that de identified and pooled data may be shared with third parties for research, and that a patient can restrict that use through a signed HIPAA consent form. What is not published is a retention window for patient data or for the de identified derivatives. Supporting controls are described: encryption, firewalls, full user audit logging and encrypted mobile caching. No safety engineering is published: nothing describes guardrails on a dose recommendation beyond the fit display a clinician sees, or how a safety event is handled.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here. A vendor whose product does not process protected health information grades here too when it says so plainly and explains the scope, with a service privacy document behind it: stating a position a buyer can rely on is the posture this axis grades, and the band above is closed to it because there is no agreement to publish.
Vendor Published

DoseMe publishes a HIPAA page carrying a Notice of Health Information Practices for DoseMe Operations Inc., describing how protected health information is collected and used, what is not done with it, that de identified and pooled data may be used and shared for research, and that a patient can restrict that use through a signed HIPAA consent form, with a named contact for HIPAA inquiries. The same page states where United States data is stored. Two limits.

The notice is written in the voice of a provider of health information practices and does not use the term business associate, so the contractual role DoseMe takes is not stated. And the business associate agreement itself is not published, so its breach notification timelines, subcontractor flow down terms and data return obligations on termination are not public. A separate page addresses the EU General Data Protection Regulation for European customers.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

DoseMe holds HITRUST certification and states that it is the only Bayesian dosing platform to do so, a claim that can be checked. Its data security material describes multi layered controls, including physical security, firewalls, encryption, full user audit logging and encrypted mobile caching, and commits to storing data only in facilities audited against ISO 27001, SOC 1, PCI DSS and HIPAA security standards; those facility audits belong to the hosting provider rather than to DoseMe, and are the right obligation to pass down rather than an attestation of DoseMe's own.

No HITRUST date, tier or scope is stated, no service organization controls report of DoseMe's own is published, and no trust center, penetration testing cadence or vulnerability disclosure program is described.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

The software makes no device claim and is scoped to match: DoseMeRx presents dose options and a model fit display to a pharmacist or physician who chooses the dose. No United States clearance is claimed. The open question is broader than for a United States only vendor, because the product is sold in the United States, Europe, Asia Pacific, Africa and South America, with a named hospital customer in Portugal and a published GDPR page, and no CE mark, UK conformity marking, Australian Therapeutic Goods Administration listing or other national designation is published, nor any statement of why none is needed. The drug models page says models are implemented following regulatory guidelines for Bayesian dosing, without naming them.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with. A framework covering the vendor whole portfolio counts when its scope reaches this product; what it cannot supply is the product specific evaluation the band above asks for. Published results within the one group where the performance of this product is most at risk also sit here: evaluation on the question this axis asks, short of the comparison across groups the band above requires. A medical device clearance or certification, and the quality system behind it, does not reach this band on its own; it is graded under regulatory status. A regulator reviewed plan governing how the model may change does reach it.
Vendor Published

DoseMe publishes a governance process for its models. Its drug models page says a team of bioinformaticians, scientists and clinical pharmacists selects clinically validated pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic models, that each goes through a validation process following quality assurance practice, ISO standards and regulatory guidelines for implementing Bayesian dosing, including an independent review by its Clinical Advisory Board, and it shows each model's stage from evaluation through review, development and validation to market.

The Clinical Advisory Board is a named body, chaired by a named clinical pharmacologist and described by the company as advising on clinical excellence and governance. Evaluation is the gap: no performance reporting by age, sex, race, ethnicity, renal function band or body habitus and no bias assessment is published. The population specific models the company offers, for obese, dialysis, pediatric and neonatal patients, show it treats covariate fit as a design question.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

One mechanism is well placed. The platform exposes model fit to the user at the point of care, so a clinician can see whether the model describes this patient's data before acting on what it predicts. That is a per patient confidence signal at the moment of decision, more useful than an aggregate accuracy figure because a dosing model can be good overall and wrong for the patient in front of you, and it gives the clinician a defensible basis for overriding the recommendation.

The models behind each drug are named with their source studies, so a pharmacist can check which published cohort underlies a prior. Nothing stands behind the output: no warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published, no calibration data or error rate is published for the library, and nothing describes how genotype and measured concentration are reconciled when they disagree.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Integration with major hospital systems including Epic and Cerner is long established and predates the current ownership, and a customer has announced an integration with Oracle. The most consequential integration runs through another vendor's product: in October 2025 Inovalon announced a collaboration bringing DoseMeRx dosing into its pharmacy surveillance workflows, so the software reaches clinicians inside a surveillance platform as well as directly. No FHIR conformance statement, public API or electronic health record marketplace certification is published, and the direction and depth of each integration are not documented.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Residency is stated precisely. The HIPAA privacy statement says United States healthcare data is stored in Microsoft Azure in an Illinois based facility, the data security page says DoseMe stores data in the jurisdiction in which it is owned and that European data is held in Microsoft Azure data centers within the EU, and the privacy policy commits to on shore storage and sets out what happens if an overseas transfer is needed, binding overseas recipients to the Australian Privacy Principles.

The platform is cloud delivered with no on premise option described. Isolation is left open: nothing is published about how one customer's data is separated from another's in the shared Azure environment. A privacy office can otherwise answer its residency question from the website.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

The price is undisclosed and two concrete commercial terms are published. A fourteen day free trial covers the full platform including all drug packages, so an evaluating pharmacy is not restricted to a limited module set. A partnership with the American Society of Health System Pharmacists aimed at small and rural hospitals bundles that society's competency management subscription with unlimited use of the platform for up to ten users at a single site, stated to be open to non members.

That publishes a packaging unit, the site and the user count, so how the product is sold and what drives the cost are visible before contact. No price, contract term or renewal structure is disclosed for either the bundle or the standard product, and it is not stated whether the trial converts automatically.

AA on Setting and Specialty CoverageWhere the product is validated to operate is named and supported, settings and specialties both, whether the coverage is broad or deliberately narrow.
Vendor Published

Where the product is validated to operate is named and supported. The drug models page marks each drug's models as adult, pediatric or neonatal, and the vancomycin page names population specific models with their source studies: adult one and two compartment models, a hemodialysis model, an obese adult model developed on 2,993 courses in patients with BMI over 30, a pediatric and adolescent model, and a preterm and neonate model supporting dosing from 22 weeks gestation.

Peer reviewed studies support use in obese adults, children with cystic fibrosis and resource limited hospitals. Settings are named too: acute hospitals, infusion service centers, a program of all inclusive care for the elderly, and small and rural hospitals reached through a bundle with the American Society of Health System Pharmacists. More than a thousand clinicians across more than a hundred locations use it in the United States, Europe, Asia Pacific, Africa and South America. The function itself stays narrow: high risk medications with therapeutic drug monitoring.

Alternatives

Alternatives to DoseMeRx

Vendors in the same categories as DoseMeRx whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

PrecisePK is Bayesian therapeutic drug monitoring software from Healthware, Inc. in San Diego, with a clinical lineage going back more than thirty years.

NarxCare is a set of scores and visualizations layered on top of state Prescription Drug Monitoring Program data, built by Bamboo Health, formerly Appriss Health, which also supplies the…

InsightRX builds model informed precision dosing software, which computes an individualized dose for a drug whose therapeutic window is narrow enough that getting it wrong causes harm.

VigiLanz is a hospital clinical surveillance platform, founded in Minneapolis in 2001 by David Goldsteen and acquired by Inovalon in February 2024.

Synapse Medicine builds what it calls a medication intelligence platform, and the distinctive thing about it is where the machine learning sits.

DrFirst works on a problem underneath medication safety software: whether the medication data arriving in the chart is usable at all.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Undisclosed, fourteen day free trial of full platform published
Not published, one published bundle unit of up to ten users at a single site Not published, HIPAA privacy statement and HITRUST certification published Not published Vendor Published

No price is published, and two concrete commercial terms are. A fourteen day free trial covers the full platform including all drug packages rather than a restricted module set. A bundle created with the American Society of Health System Pharmacists for small and rural hospitals pairs that society's competency management subscription with unlimited use of the dosing platform for up to ten users at a single site, and is open to non members, which publishes the packaging unit even though the cost stays private.

That single site ten user unit is the most useful pricing signal in the category, because it tells a small hospital what shape the deal takes before any conversation. Still to establish: the price for both the bundle and the standard product, the contract term and renewal structure, whether the free trial converts automatically, how the unit scales beyond ten users or one site, and whether the Epic and Cerner integrations carry separate implementation charges.

Note also that an institution already running a clinical surveillance platform from Inovalon may reach this software through that route following their October 2025 collaboration, so establish what is already included before buying separately.