Digital Pathology AI
D

Deciphex

Deciphex is a Dublin company founded in 2017 by Donal O'Shea, its chief executive, addressing the shortage of pathologists. Its chief medical officer is Runjan Chetty. It closed a 31 million euro Series C in January 2025 led by Molten Ventures, with ACT Venture Capital, Seroba, Charles River Laboratories, IRRUS Investments, Medtech Syndicate and Nextsteps Capital.

The company runs two businesses, and a buyer should know which one it is purchasing. Diagnexia is a diagnostic reporting service: a network of more than 250 pathologists reporting cases digitally for NHS trusts and laboratories, with primary reporting in the United Kingdom and Canada, a service in the United States, and accredited laboratories in Oxford, Exeter and Toronto. Patholytix is a pathology platform for preclinical and research work, validated for GLP primary and peer review and available as software as a service, private cloud or on premises, with Patholytix Foresight, an AI decision support tool launched with Charles River, and research services for trials and biomarker work.

CipherX, launched publicly in September 2026 and in production since January 2026, is the AI engine inside both: foundation model encoders including the company's own DCX-3, with a semantic layer that expresses outputs as named tissue structures a pathologist can inspect. In Diagnexia its tools run image quality checks, case triage and a review after the report is authorized; the company reports negative predictive values of 99.85 percent for adenocarcinoma and 98.76 percent for melanoma on routine casework. CipherX is not sold as a separate license.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 28, 2026
Compare Deciphex with other vendors
Founded
2017
Headquarters
Dublin, Ireland
Categories
pathology-ai, drug-discovery, clinical-trials-ai
Indexed Products
CipherX, Diagnexia, Patholytix, Patholytix Foresight
Buyer Segments
NHS trusts and hospital laboratories, Pathology groups in the US and Canada, Pharmaceutical and biotech preclinical safety teams, Contract research organizations, Clinical trial and translational research teams
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it. A learned component is a model whose parameters are estimated from data: machine learning, or a statistical model fitted to population data, including one then updated on the patient measurements. A fixed formula, a rule set, or a feedback controller that adjusts a dosing factor from the patient own readings is not one, however patient specific its output and whatever the vendor calls the adjustment.
Vendor Published

The models sit inside businesses that stand without them. Diagnexia is a diagnostic reporting service delivered by a network of more than 250 pathologists, and Patholytix is an image management platform for preclinical and research pathology, with GLP workflows, audit trails and archiving. CipherX, the company's AI engine, runs inside both: in Diagnexia as tools for image quality, case triage and review after a report is authorized, and in Patholytix as decision support and research analysis. The company states CipherX is not offered as a licensed product. Remove the models and the reporting service and the image platform remain.

Artificial intelligence is a feature layer on products whose value stands without it.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The review structure is described, with the flag threshold and the follow-up unpublished. In Diagnexia every case is signed out by a pathologist, and the company states that the CipherX tools sit outside the direct diagnostic pathway: image quality assessment, complexity-based triage, and a review after authorization that points the pathologist to tissue it flagged. It also states that every CipherX output decomposes into named tissue structures a pathologist can inspect and reject. In Patholytix the AI supports primary evaluation and peer review by a study pathologist. Nothing says what confidence level raises a flag, what happens when the review after authorization disagrees with a signed report, or whether a flag can lead to an amended report.

The oversight structure described, with the threshold and the handling of a disagreement missing.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The architecture is described and the company's own foundation model named, without versioning or an update record. CipherX combines several foundation model encoders, including Deciphex's own DCX-3 fusion model, choosing one per task and per the rights attached to each dataset, and adds a semantic layer that breaks the model's representations into recurring units a subspecialist pathologist has confirmed and named, which compose into signatures such as tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes. The company says DCX-3 was evaluated on the THUNDER and EVA public benchmark suites against named models, and that swapping the foundation model beneath leaves the named signatures unchanged. The other encoders are not named, the training data are described only as the company's clinical, preclinical and research case flow plus partner datasets, and no release history or change notice is published.

Approach named without the version and update discipline.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

The architecture is described, with the outside model providers unnamed. CipherX combines several foundation model encoders, one of them Deciphex's own DCX-3, and selects among them per task and per the rights attached to each dataset, so models from other developers may sit between a slide and a result without being identified. The privacy policy lists categories of outside processors, including cloud hosting, pathologists and third party laboratories, without naming any. Training data are described as coming from Diagnexia's clinical casework, Patholytix research work and partner projects including the BigPicture consortium and Novartis.

Architecture described with no model provider named.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Named customers and vendor-reported figures with no method or denominator. The company reports negative predictive values of 99.85 percent for adenocarcinoma and 98.76 percent for melanoma for CipherX tools on routine Diagnexia casework, without case counts, prevalence or a reference standard.

It reports that models developed with Charles River cut pathologist review time in lead optimization and dose range finding studies by over 20 percent, and that pathologists work up to 40 percent faster, a ceiling rather than a result. Named clinical customers include Bedfordshire and East Sussex NHS trusts, with a case study on reducing reporting backlogs, and on the research side Charles River and Novartis. There is no peer reviewed evaluation of the AI tools. The laboratory accreditations the service holds describe the laboratory, not the models.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

General assurances, with the training use of clinical cases stated but not governed in public. The group privacy policy says the company processes protected health information as a processor on its clients' instructions, uses pseudonymization and anonymization, keeps a retention schedule, and ties AI processing to the original purpose and legal basis of the data. The company also states that real-world diagnostic data gathered through Diagnexia are integral to training its models, and that more than 147,000 cases a year flow through its clinical and research workflows. Nothing published says how that clinical data is de-identified before training, which client agreements permit it, what retention applies to slides and reports, or whether a client can opt out. No safety engineering is published.

General assurances that do not answer what reaches a model.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

Processor status and HIPAA compliance are stated in a policy whose declared scope is website visitors and staff. The group privacy policy, which covers Deciphex, Diagnexia UK, Diagnexia US, Diagnexia Canada and Patholytix, says the company acts as a processor for protected health information when it reports cases for clients, processes medical data in line with HIPAA and UK and EU data protection law, and names a combined data protection and HIPAA privacy officer. The policy describes itself as covering website visitors and staff, and Diagnexia's own site policy covers the website only. No business associate agreement, data processing agreement or statement of the Diagnexia US service's position under HIPAA is published.

A status stated without a document reaching the service.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

A recognized certification named without the artifact. The CipherX page lists ISO 27001, and Diagnexia states ISO 27001 certification for information security management issued by BSI. The Diagnexia Oxford laboratory holds UKAS accreditation to ISO 15189, the service reports College of American Pathologists accreditation and Care Quality Commission registration, and Patholytix describes immutable audit trails and single sign-on; those are quality and conduct standards rather than security audits. No certificate, scope or expiry is published, there is no trust center, and it is not stated whether the certification covers Deciphex, Diagnexia and Patholytix alike.

A recognized certification named, with scope to raise.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No device claim; the clinical tools are positioned as outside the diagnostic pathway. The company states that CipherX does not replace pathologist judgment and that its production tools sit outside the direct diagnostic pathway, running image quality checks, triage and a review after the report is authorized, even though it reports detection performance for adenocarcinoma and melanoma on routine casework. Diagnexia is regulated as a laboratory service, with UKAS ISO 15189 accreditation and College of American Pathologists accreditation, and Patholytix is validated for GLP primary and peer review in regulated preclinical studies. FDA's databases list no Deciphex device. Whether detection tools used on every clinical case remain outside device regulation is a question the company does not address.

No device claim, with the tools scoped as quality checks.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Governance is asserted, with no evaluation by group. The CipherX page describes the engine as compliant for high-risk use without saying which regime or what that covered, and the company's privacy policy describes an acceptable use policy for AI under the EU AI Regulation and a steering committee approving generative AI tools used internally. The company stresses that CipherX signatures are validated by pathologists and that each output can be traced to named tissue structures. No results are published by tissue type, species, stain, scanner, laboratory or patient group for any tool, including the adenocarcinoma and melanoma tools in routine clinical use.

Governance committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Outputs can be traced and challenged, and nothing stands behind them. The company states that every CipherX output decomposes into named tissue structures a pathologist can inspect and reject, Diagnexia reports are signed out by pathologists, and Patholytix keeps immutable, user-linked audit trails for regulated studies. The negative predictive values reported for the clinical tools have no case counts, prevalence or reference standard, so they do not stand as an error rate a buyer can test. No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment attaches to an AI output, and nothing says what happens when a post-authorization flag was missed or wrong.

Mechanisms to challenge an output, with nothing standing behind it.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

Integration is claimed without a system named. Diagnexia says completed reports can be integrated back into a client's laboratory information system and that its platform integrates directly with NHS systems, and Patholytix supports single sign-on and describes itself as the image management system for studies. No laboratory information system, record system, standard or interface is named, so a buyer cannot check how orders, images and reports move between Diagnexia and the hospital.

Integration claimed with no system named.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

Options are stated for the research platform, with location open for the hosted routes. Patholytix is available as software as a service, private cloud or on premises, which the company says is designed to meet residency and validation requirements; on premises keeps images at the customer. No host, region or tenant isolation is named for the service or private cloud routes. Diagnexia's slides are scanned on site or shipped to the company's scanning laboratories, including Oxford, Exeter and Toronto, and reported remotely by pathologists across the United Kingdom, United States and Canada, but where images and reports are stored is not stated.

Options stated with residency committed only for the on premises route.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published; how each business sells can be established. Diagnexia sells reporting as a service, with stated turnaround of three to five days for primary reports and seven to ten days for consults, and positions itself against locum pathologists, whose cost it puts at about $3,000 a day without stating its own rate. Patholytix is sold as a platform in three deployment models, with scanning, research services and data licensing alongside, and CipherX reaches customers only through those routes, not as a license. No per case, per study or platform rate is published.

The sales posture is discoverable, with no price.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Two markets named, with evidence behind parts of each. On the clinical side Diagnexia provides subspecialty reporting for NHS trusts and laboratories, with primary reporting in the United Kingdom and Canada and a diagnostics service in the United States, and CipherX tools run on its adenocarcinoma and melanoma casework. On the research side Patholytix supports exploratory, GLP and GCP pathology across species, with models for lead optimization and dose range finding studies developed with Charles River. Validation is stated for Patholytix in GLP primary and peer review and, without a method, for the two clinical tools; the other applications on the CipherX page are described without results.

Coverage named with validation behind part of it.

Tracked Since Listing

What Changed

Material product, regulatory, evidence and commercial changes at Deciphex, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.

Sep 22, 2026Model / architecture

Deciphex launched CipherX, a pathology AI engine that pairs foundation models with a semantic layer translating their representations into named, pathologist validated tissue signatures. Deciphex states CipherX is in production in its Diagnexia clinical diagnostic service and its Patholytix research business, and reports negative predictive values of 99.85 percent for adenocarcinoma and 98.76 percent for melanoma in production, with every Diagnexia case signed out by a pathologist.

Bears on: Model and Technology TransparencySource
Our read on this change →Tracked since Sep 2026
Alternatives

Alternatives to Deciphex

Vendors in the same categories as Deciphex whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Gestalt makes PathFlow, a vendor-neutral digital pathology platform and image management system that brings slides, case and patient information and AI outputs into one workspace, in cloud…

Finnish deep learning pathology company, listed in Helsinki, selling cloud based image analysis for clinical diagnostics and preclinical research.

Lunit SCOPE is the pathology AI line of Lunit, the Seoul medical AI company.

Computational pathology company that produced the first FDA authorized AI based digital pathology product: Paige Prostate received De Novo authorization (DEN200080) in September 2021 as an…

PictorLabs makes software that stains tissue images with AI instead of chemicals.

Boston biomedical AI company, acquired by AstraZeneca, building generative and agentic tools for pathology.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
—
Not published. A reporting service (Diagnexia) and a research platform with services (Patholytix); CipherX is not licensed on its own. Not published. The group privacy policy states a processor role for protected health information and names a HIPAA privacy officer; no business associate or data processing agreement is published. Not published. Patholytix deployment options include software as a service, private cloud and on premises; Diagnexia slides are scanned on site or shipped to the company's scanning laboratories. Vendor Published

No rates are published for either business. Diagnexia sells reporting as a service with stated turnaround of three to five days for primary reports and seven to ten days for consults, and compares itself with locum pathologists, whose cost it puts at about $3,000 a day, without stating its own rate. Patholytix is sold as a platform in software as a service, private cloud or on premises form, with scanning, research services and data licensing alongside. CipherX is not licensed separately. A buyer should establish which business it is buying from first: the service would price per case and by subspecialty, the platform by license or study volume.