Radiology & Imaging AI
C

Cleerly

Cleerly applies AI to coronary CT angiography to quantify and characterize atherosclerotic plaque and estimate ischemia without an invasive test. Cleerly Labs, web based analysis cleared in 2020, measures plaque volume, composition, length and location and stenosis on CCTA from any scanner; Cleerly ISCHEMIA, cleared in 2023 (K231335), estimates vessel level ischemia as a diagnostic aid; Cleerly COMPARE tracks change between scans. ISCHEMIA was validated in the prospective, multicenter CREDENCE trial against invasive FFR, with further support from a PACIFIC post-hoc analysis and the international CONFIRM2 registry.

Reimbursement is the company's commercial strength: Category I CPT codes for plaque analysis (75577, from January 2026) and ISCHEMIA (75580), Medicare contractor coverage and commercial payer policies reported at more than 86 million covered lives, with a public payer policy lookup tool. Services are delivered from the United States; a public trust center offers SOC 2 Type 2 and HITRUST reports for download. Founded in 2017 and based in Denver, Colorado. Per study pricing is not published.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 25, 2026
Compare Cleerly with other vendors
Founded
2017
Headquarters
Denver, Colorado, United States
Categories
radiology-and-imaging-ai, clinical-decision-support, diagnostics-and-genomics
Indexed Products
Cleerly Labs, Cleerly ISCHEMIA, Cleerly COMPARE
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

The product is AI analysis of coronary CT angiography. Cleerly Labs quantifies and characterizes atherosclerotic plaque and stenosis, and Cleerly ISCHEMIA derives a machine learning estimate of vessel level ischemia from the same imaging. There is no scanner or services layer; the company sells the algorithmic reading of a scan the customer already acquired. AI is the whole offering.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Decision support with published limits, and no published threshold or path after an error. The Indications for Use state that Cleerly Labs is an interactive tool for trained professionals that does not replace a qualified practitioner's judgment, warn that interpolated views can make tissue look healthy where small pathology is present, and state that ISCHEMIA is a diagnostic aid used by an interpreting provider, with patient management decisions not to rest on it alone.

Results reach clinicians as a physician report. The company does not publish the cutoff at which ISCHEMIA calls a vessel likely ischemic, whether and how Cleerly staff review analyses before reporting, or what happens when a result is wrong.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The clinical validation is published and specific: Cleerly ISCHEMIA was derived and validated using data from the CREDENCE and PACIFIC trials, and a PACIFIC sub-study reported high diagnostic accuracy against PET, FFR-CT, SPECT, and invasive FFR. The company states the ISCHEMIA prediction is based on coronary lesion morphology and plaque characteristics, and cites a training base of millions of images from more than 40,000 patients. What is less transparent is the model architecture itself and independent head to head benchmarking against other plaque analysis vendors. Strong on clinical derivation, lighter on model internals.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

A short chain for the models, with the hosting layer unnamed. Cleerly builds its own plaque and ischemia models, cleared in its own name, so no outside model provider sits between a CT study and a result. The privacy notice confines the services to the United States and its territories and commits not to attempt re-identification of de-identified data, and it says de-identified or aggregated patient information may be used for analytics and product insight.

The trust center lists third party management as a control domain. Not published on the public pages: the cloud host, a subprocessor list, and whether submitted studies feed model development as distinct from analytics. An in house, cleared chain with residency stated.

AA on Clinical and Operational EvidencePeer reviewed or independently evaluated performance, prospective and multi site where the claim requires it, with the method available to read. The grade describes the strength of the evidence, not its direction: a rigorous study that found no benefit grades by its design, and the note leads with what it found.
Peer Reviewed Publication

Prospective, multicenter validation against the invasive reference, plus registry work on outcomes. Cleerly ISCHEMIA was validated in CREDENCE, a prospective multicenter trial of 612 stable patients referred for invasive angiography, with index tests read blind by core laboratories and invasive FFR as the reference: per vessel sensitivity 75.9 percent (167 of 220) and specificity 83.4 percent (521 of 625) in the company's 510(k) summary (K231335), and 76.2 and 85.2 percent across 582 patients and 1,521 vessel territories when US and non-US cohorts are pooled.

A post-hoc analysis of the PACIFIC trial compared it with FFRCT, PET and SPECT against invasive FFR, and the international CONFIRM2 registry links quantified plaque burden to risk. The company's claims that ISCHEMIA was more accurate than FFRCT and stress testing and was the only non-invasive ischemia test prognostic of later events come from its own analyses of CREDENCE and PACIFIC. Much of this work was generated with the company's clinical network and is peer reviewed and multicenter. The plaque quantification outcome claims rest on registry rather than randomized evidence.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

The public privacy notice deliberately excludes patient data, so it offers no retention schedule, no deletion commitment and no model training terms for the asset the product actually handles, the coronary CT study. The one statement that does reach patient data points the other way: de identified or aggregated patient information may be used alongside customer personal information to perform analytics and gather product insight.

De identification is a mitigation rather than an exclusion, so submitted studies do contribute to product improvement in some form. There is a stated commitment not to attempt re identification of de identified data, and the services are confined to the United States and its territories. Nothing published says how long submitted studies persist after analysis, whether they inform model development, or what deletion can be required on termination.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

The company processes patient data for customers and does not state business associate status in public material. Cleerly's privacy notice says it does not cover protected health information processed on behalf of customers, and a separate consumer health privacy policy addresses Washington, Nevada and Connecticut consumer health data laws.

The trust center offers SOC 2 Type 2 and HITRUST reports and a device security disclosure (MDS2), but neither the term business associate nor an agreement appears on the public pages. Acting for customers on their patients' data is what a business associate does, but saying so is the vendor's to do. A role implied by the scoping sentence, with no status or agreement stated.

AA on Security Certifications and Trust CenterCertifications named with their type and version and presented as retrievable artifacts, usually through a trust portal a buyer can open without asking.
Vendor Published

Certifications are named and the reports can be downloaded without asking. Cleerly's public trust center (trust.cleerlyhealth.com) is open without login or approval and offers a SOC 2 Type 2 report (uploaded September 2026) and a HITRUST document, along with a Manufacturer Disclosure Statement for Medical Device Security (MDS2) for Cleerly Labs and ISCHEMIA, a redacted information security incident response plan and a security document packet.

It enumerates controls across twelve domains, including governance and risk, third party management, access control, network and data security, application security, security monitoring, and response and recovery. Named certifications presented as retrievable artifacts. The page itself does not name the HITRUST assessment type or the SOC 2 audit period.

AA on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe regulatory position is unambiguous and verifiable: a clearance or authorization identifiable in the public databases, with the version and indication it actually covers.
Regulatory Filing

Each product's position is stated and the lead clearance can be found. Cleerly ISCHEMIA was cleared on 8 September 2023 (K231335; 21 CFR 870.2200, adjunctive cardiovascular status indicator) as an automated machine learning based decision support tool and diagnostic aid for patients analyzed with Cleerly Labs, and the company states that patient management decisions should not rest on it alone.

Cleerly Labs, its web based plaque and stenosis analysis software for CCTA from any CT scanner, was cleared in 2020 and is labeled as not intended to replace a qualified practitioner's judgment, with a warning that interpolated views can make tissue look healthy where small pathology exists. Both indications are published on the company's Indications for Use page. Cleerly COMPARE, for comparing serial scans, is marketed alongside them, and its clearance is not identified on the indications page.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with. A framework covering the vendor whole portfolio counts when its scope reaches this product; what it cannot supply is the product specific evaluation the band above asks for. Published results within the one group where the performance of this product is most at risk also sit here: evaluation on the question this axis asks, short of the comparison across groups the band above requires. A medical device clearance or certification, and the quality system behind it, does not reach this band on its own; it is graded under regulatory status. A regulator reviewed plan governing how the model may change does reach it.
Regulatory Filing

Results by group are published for geography and, per the company's publications, for sex and age; race is described, not validated. Cleerly's 510(k) summary for ISCHEMIA (K231335) reports sensitivity and specificity separately for US patients (149 patients, 285 vessel territories: 79.5 and 82.5 percent) and non-US patients (433 patients, 1,236 territories: 75.5 and 85.8 percent), with counts and intervals.

The company's publications include diagnostic performance of the ischemia algorithm by sex and age, a CONFIRM2 analysis in which quantitative plaque carries higher relative risk in women, and plaque distributions by age, sex and self reported race in about 30,000 patients; most of this work is company sponsored with disclosed interests. The sex and age results sit in journal papers rather than on the company's pages, and no performance comparison by race or body habitus is published. No AI governance framework or bias policy is published. Results within groups, short of a published comparison across the groups where coronary CT is most at risk.

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route the affected person can exercise against the vendor. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here. A statutory right that runs to the covered entity rather than to the vendor does not reach this band on its own: every other route here asks something of the vendor, and being located in a particular jurisdiction is not conduct.
Regulatory Filing

An error rate with its method and denominator is published for the lead ischemia product; nothing else stands behind the output. Cleerly's own 510(k) summary for Cleerly ISCHEMIA (K231335, cleared 8 September 2023) reports validation in CREDENCE, a prospective multicenter trial in which core laboratories read the index tests blind against invasive FFR: per vessel territory sensitivity 75.9 percent (167 of 220) and specificity 83.4 percent (521 of 625) in the validation half, and pooled across cohorts from the US and elsewhere (582 patients, 1,521 vessel territories) sensitivity 76.2 percent and specificity 85.2 percent, with per patient sensitivity 86.6 and specificity 69.8 percent.

That is a trial population result for ischemia estimation, not performance in any one practice, and it does not cover plaque quantification. No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment is published.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

Cleerly operates as a CCTA analysis service that returns a physician report, sitting in the cardiac imaging and reporting pathway rather than integrating deeply with the EHR. Specific PACS, cardiology information system, and EHR connectors are not enumerated in the materials reviewed, so integration is described at the workflow level rather than through a published connector list.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

A cloud analysis service confined to the United States. Hospitals and imaging centers submit coronary CT studies to Cleerly's web based service and receive a physician report; the privacy notice states that the services are confined to the United States and its territories, which settles where data rests at the country level. The site names no cloud host or regions within the US, and says nothing of tenant isolation or how long studies persist after analysis.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published; payer coverage is documented. Cleerly publishes billing guidelines, coverage pages and a payer policy lookup tool: AI plaque analysis of coronary CT carries Category I CPT code 75577 from January 2026, ISCHEMIA is billable under Category I code 75580, and Medicare contractor and commercial payer policies are reported to cover more than 86 million lives.

Those describe what a provider can bill, not what Cleerly charges: no per study price, license structure or volume terms are published, and the route in is a demo. No price, with how the product is bought and paid for discoverable.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Coverage is named for coronary CT, with validation behind the ischemia product. Cleerly Labs analyzes CCTA from any CT scanner for patients with known or suspected coronary artery disease, and ISCHEMIA estimates vessel level ischemia as a diagnostic aid; COMPARE tracks change between scans. ISCHEMIA was validated in stable patients referred for non-emergent invasive angiography at 23 centers in and outside the US, with results reported for both.

What is not published is where the plaque quantification is validated by setting (screening, emergency, post-intervention) and which patients or scans fall outside it, beyond the warning about interpolated views. The narrow scope is not the limit; the limit is how much of it is validated with stated exclusions. Named coverage with validation behind part of it.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Cleerly

Vendors in the same categories as Cleerly whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Oxford spinout that sells AI imaging software for stroke and lung disease.

Magentiq Eye is a Haifa company founded in 2014 by Dror Zur that builds real time computer aided detection for colonoscopy.

RapidAI (iSchemaView, Inc.) analyzes brain, vascular and body imaging to support urgent treatment decisions, principally in stroke.

Caristo Diagnostics, an Oxford spinout, measures coronary inflammation from the same routine coronary CT angiogram used to assess plaque.

Optellum, based in Oxford with a US office in Houston, sells the Virtual Nodule Clinic, which identifies patients with pulmonary nodules, triages and tracks them, and scores malignancy risk…

Clinical AI for imaging triage and follow-up, delivered through aiOS, an enterprise platform that runs Aidoc's own FDA cleared algorithms alongside vetted partner algorithms and carries…

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published; reimbursement pathway documented
Not published; per study analysis service; Category I CPT reimbursement documented Not stated publicly. The privacy notice excludes protected health information processed for customers; ask for the business associate agreement in the master services agreement. Not disclosed. Cleerly operates as a cloud analysis service on submitted CCTA studies rather than an on premise install. Vendor Published

No per study price is published; the route in is a demo. Cleerly publishes billing guidelines, coverage pages and a payer policy lookup tool: Category I CPT 75577 for AI plaque analysis from January 2026 and 75580 for ISCHEMIA, with Medicare contractor and commercial payer coverage reported at more than 86 million lives. That is what a provider can bill, not Cleerly's price. Ask for the per study price for each product and how it compares with the payer rate in your region.