Inpatient Deterioration & Risk Monitoring
C

Caregility

Caregility, based in Wall, New Jersey, runs a virtual care platform for hospitals and other care settings. The Caregility Connected Care Platform carries two way audio and video into patient rooms through purpose built devices, with applications for virtual nursing, virtual patient observation (iObserver), virtual visits and consults, and virtual critical care, and an impact analytics service (LOOP). The company says its devices are validated in more than 19,000 patient rooms, with 99.99 percent platform availability, across inpatient, outpatient, home, federal, rural and international programs.

Its AI capabilities sit on that layer. Augmented Observation applies computer vision to live video to detect movement and position changes linked to falls, elopement and self harm and alert observers, and audio AI listens for calls for help and distress; voice commands, vitals trending and clinical notes are also listed. In August 2026 Schellman certified Caregility to ISO/IEC 42001, the AI management system standard, for its computer vision capabilities, adding to ISO 27001 and ISO 27701 certifications and FIPS 140-2/3 validation.

Caregility is listed in Epic Toolbox for Inpatient Virtual Care for 2026, with integration into MyChart Bedside, Epic Monitor, Haiku and Hyperspace, and connects to nurse call and bedside devices. It publishes no price, detection accuracy or business associate agreement.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 28, 2026
Compare Caregility with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
Wall, New Jersey, United States
Website
caregility.com
Categories
inpatient-monitoring, hospital-operations, health-system-ai-platforms
Indexed Products
Caregility Connected Care Platform, iObserver, Augmented Observation, Virtual Nursing, iConsult, LOOP Impact Analytics
Buyer Segments
Hospitals and health systems, Virtual nursing and observation programs, Federal and rural health programs, Long term care and home care programs
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it. A learned component is a model whose parameters are estimated from data: machine learning, or a statistical model fitted to population data, including one then updated on the patient measurements. A fixed formula, a rule set, or a feedback controller that adjusts a dosing factor from the patient own readings is not one, however patient specific its output and whatever the vendor calls the adjustment.
Vendor Published

Caregility's business is the video and device layer for virtual care, and AI is a feature on it. The Caregility Connected Care Platform carries two way audio and video into patient rooms for virtual nursing, observation, consults and critical care, on purpose built devices validated, the company says, in more than 19,000 patient rooms. Its AI capabilities sit on top: Augmented Observation applies computer vision to live video to detect movement and changes that could lead to falls, elopement or self harm and alert staff, audio AI detects calls for help and distress, and the company lists voice commands, vitals trending and clinical notes.

The learned components are real and certified, and the platform's value stands without them.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The system flags and people decide. Augmented Observation analyzes live video and alerts staff through the iObserver application to movement and changes that could lead to falls, elopement or self harm, and prioritizes which rooms need attention so one observer can watch several patients; remote observers and bedside teams decide what to do. Audio AI adds alerts for calls for help and distress.

One part of the structure is missing: no alert threshold, confidence level or observer to patient ratio is published, and nothing says what happens when two rooms need attention at once or an event is missed. The page's "See More. Miss Less." is comparative, not a promise that nothing is missed.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The capabilities are described and the models are not. Augmented Observation applies computer vision to live video to detect movement and position changes linked to falls, elopement and self harm, and audio AI detects elevated noise, calls for help and distress; the ISO/IEC 42001 scope describes computer vision that analyzes patient positioning to detect fall risk. Voice commands, vitals trending and clinical notes are also listed. No model type, training data, version, update practice or accuracy figure is published.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

No party behind the platform is named. Caregility describes a cloud platform, its own room devices, computer vision and audio AI services, and an ecosystem in which partners run applications on the platform, with integrations to Epic, nurse call and bedside devices. No cloud provider, model provider, subprocessor list or partner data terms are published, and the privacy policy lists only website services (Cloudflare, Google, Vimeo, LinkedIn). Clinical notes among the AI capabilities suggest language models may be involved, and nothing says whose.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Scale and customer stories, with no measured result for the AI. The company says its devices are validated in more than 19,000 patient rooms, with 99.99 percent platform availability and more than 70 clinical workflows, and it runs an impact analytics service (LOOP) to help customers measure financial, quality and staffing results. It publishes a customer outcomes page and case studies.

The home page and the Augmented Observation page give no outcome figure, study design or named site result for the AI capabilities, though the outcomes page and case studies may; nothing peer reviewed is cited.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

Certified privacy management and general assurances, with the AI data questions unanswered. The home page says the platform is HIPAA compliant and certified to ISO 27001 and ISO 27701, with end to end encryption and access controls, and the company reports FIPS 140-2/3 validation. The computer vision analyzes live video of patients and their surroundings, and audio AI listens for calls for help and distress.

No retention period for video or audio, statement on whether captured material trains the models, or de identification method is published, and the privacy policy (effective 1 January 2022) does not address them. Nothing is published on safety engineering.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

HIPAA compliance is claimed and no business associate position is published. The home page says the platform is HIPAA compliant and certified to ISO 27001 and ISO 27701 (privacy information management). The privacy policy (effective 1 January 2022) covers the website and contacts about products and services and does not address protected health information or business associate status, and the compliance page linked in the footer reads "coming soon". No business associate agreement, tier or subcontractor terms are published.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

Recognized certifications are named without the artifacts. The home page says the platform is certified to ISO 27001 and ISO 27701, with end to end encryption, access controls, automated vulnerability scanning and patching, and annual third party penetration testing, and the August 2026 announcement adds FIPS 140-2/3 validation. No certificate, certifying body for ISO 27001, scope or date is published, no trust portal is offered, and the footer's compliance page reads "coming soon".

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

The AI is scoped as observation support and makes no device claim: computer vision and audio alerts go to observers and staff who decide what to do, and every alert comes with a live view. The company lists vitals trending among its AI capabilities; a trend drawn from monitored vital signs sits closer to clinical decision support, and no position is published for it.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with. A framework covering the vendor whole portfolio counts when its scope reaches this product; what it cannot supply is the product specific evaluation the band above asks for. Published results within the one group where the performance of this product is most at risk also sit here: evaluation on the question this axis asks, short of the comparison across groups the band above requires. A medical device clearance or certification, and the quality system behind it, does not reach this band on its own; it is graded under regulatory status. A regulator reviewed plan governing how the model may change does reach it.
Vendor Published

An AI management system is certified for the product's computer vision. Caregility announced on 13 August 2026 that Schellman Compliance, an independent certification body, certified it to ISO/IEC 42001, the standard for AI management systems, with a scope covering the development, maintenance and monitoring of the computer vision services that analyze patient positioning to detect fall risk and alert caregivers. The announcement lists governance across the lifecycle, AI risk assessment and mitigation, ongoing monitoring and performance evaluation, defined responsibilities, and audits with management review.

What is not published is the evaluation itself: no detection results by patient group, lighting, room type or setting. So the governance framework is certified for this product, and its results are not public.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Alerts reach people who can see the room, and nothing stands behind the output. Augmented Observation sends its computer vision alerts into the iObserver application, where remote observers watching live video decide whether to intervene, and staff act on them; the company's ISO/IEC 42001 certification covers monitoring and performance evaluation of those capabilities. That is a review mechanism.

No detection accuracy, missed event rate or false alert rate is published, and no warranty, service level, indemnity or correction route for a missed or false alert appears; the 99.99 percent availability figure the company publishes concerns the platform, not what the models say.

Integration and Deployment
AA on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed bidirectional integrations with major record systems, verifiable in marketplace listings or integration documentation, with evidence the connection runs in production.
Vendor Published

Named integration with Epic, verifiable in Epic's marketplace, with production use behind it. Caregility is listed in Epic Toolbox for Inpatient Virtual Care for 2026, its second consecutive year, and describes integration paths into MyChart Bedside, Epic Monitor, Haiku and Hyperspace, so virtual care is launched and seen inside Epic workflows. The platform also connects to nurse call systems, interactive patient consoles, bedside devices and partner applications, and runs in more than 19,000 patient rooms.

What Caregility writes back into Epic as discrete record entries is not published, and neither is an interface specification.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

A hosted platform with in room devices, and no location committed. Caregility describes a cloud platform with purpose built room devices, proactive fleet monitoring every 60 seconds, 99.99 percent availability and deployments in the United States and internationally, including federal and rural programs. No cloud provider, region, residency commitment or tenancy model is published, and nothing says whether the computer vision runs on the device or in the cloud, or which video leaves the hospital.

Commercial
DD on Commercial TransparencyNothing a buyer can establish before a sales conversation. A published pricing claim contradicted by evidence also grades here.
Vendor Published

No price, unit of charge or pricing basis is published, and every commercial route on the site ends in a demo request. The platform spans devices, applications (observation, virtual nursing, consults, coordination), AI capabilities and consulting, and nothing says how those are licensed against each other or whether the AI capabilities cost extra. A figure of $100 to $500 appears on a third party listing without any unit, and cannot be used to size cost.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Broad coverage, named by setting, with scale behind part of it. Caregility serves inpatient units, emergency departments, operating rooms, intensive care, behavioral health, pediatrics and NICU, long term care, clinics, home, schools, federal and rural programs, and international deployments, through virtual nursing, observation, consults and critical care. Augmented Observation also tracks staff visits and room status to optimize coverage, bed turnover and resource deployment, and observation reduces reliance on one to one sitters. The company says its devices are validated in more than 19,000 patient rooms.

No results are published by setting, and the AI capabilities are newer than the platform.

Tracked Since Listing

Product updates

Material product, regulatory, evidence and commercial changes at Caregility, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.

Sep 29, 2026EHR / interoperability

Caregility and Ascom completed an integration that lets bedside staff call in a Caregility virtual nurse from Ascom Telligence nurse call controls, including the Patient Station, Duty Station and TelliConnect Workflow Station. One button press connects the bedside team to a remote clinician through the Caregility smart room device. Both companies describe it as the first step in a broader agreement, and Ascom joins Caregility's Care Square partner ecosystem.

Bears on: EHR and Interoperability DepthSource
Our read on this update →Tracked since Sep 2026
Alternatives

Alternatives to Caregility

Vendors in the same categories as Caregility whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

care.ai makes virtual care and ambient monitoring software for hospital inpatient units.

Vitalchat, based in Raleigh, North Carolina, sells a software led virtual care platform for hospitals.

Sickbay, from Medical Informatics Corp (MIC) in Houston, is a vendor neutral platform that captures physiologic data and waveforms from bedside monitors, ventilators and other devices…

Artisight sells a smart hospital platform built around one ceiling or wall mounted device that combines dual 4K cameras, a microphone array, radar, indoor positioning and an NVIDIA Jetson…

AvaSure makes virtual care technology for hospitals, and launched virtual sitting (TeleSitter) in 2009.

Biobeat sells wearable vital sign monitors and a cloud platform for hospitals, long term care and home programs.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Not disclosed. No unit of charge is described anywhere. Whether pricing follows the device, the room, the concurrent user, the session, the application or the enterprise is unstated, and the presence of cloud based device fleet management across more than 30,000 endpoints suggests a device denominated model without confirming one. Nothing indicates how the individual applications, covering observation, virtual nursing, consultation and coordination, are licensed relative to the underlying platform, nor how the newer AI capabilities are charged against the base video service. Not published. The home page states HIPAA compliance and ISO 27001 and ISO 27701 certification; no business associate agreement, tier or subcontractor terms appear, and the compliance page reads "coming soon". Ask for the agreement and precisely what audio sensing captures and keeps. Not disclosed as a fee position, though the company describes a substantive implementation practice rather than a self serve deployment. Published material references network assessment, clinical design and post go live optimization as stages the vendor accompanies the customer through, which indicates professional services exist and are delivered. Nothing states whether they are charged separately, bundled into the platform agreement, or scoped per site. No implementation timeline is published. The scale of the work is likely material given deployments involve physical device installation across patient rooms, integration with record systems, nurse call platforms and bedside consoles, and clinical program design for virtual nursing or observation models that change how staff work. Vendor Published

No price, unit of charge, range, tiering, implementation fee or minimum commitment is published, and every commercial route on the company's site ends in a demo request. A figure of $100 to $500 appears on a third party listing with no unit attached and cannot support any calculation.

The platform spans devices, applications for observation, virtual nursing, consults and coordination, AI capabilities and consulting, across inpatient, ambulatory, post acute and home settings, and nothing says how those are licensed against each other or whether the AI capabilities cost extra. The company's impact analytics service (LOOP) measures results for customers but no return figure is published. Ask for the unit of charge, how applications and AI capabilities price against the platform, device fleet cost at scale, and the minimum term.