Ambient Scribes
C

CareBeam

CareBeam, formerly ScribeAI Inc, is a New York company selling ambient documentation together with chart auditing to independent practices, multispecialty groups and value based care organizations. Its platform writes specialty aware notes during the visit, audits charts for coding accuracy, recommends E/M levels and ICD-10 mappings, and answers clinical questions on demand, all inside the EHR the practice already uses. AI assisted order drafting is in development.

The company rebranded in April 2026 to mark the move from documentation into what it calls clinical intelligence. Its stated reasoning is that the note was only the entry point, and that the larger problems sat downstream in inaccurate coding, missed revenue and documentation that understated the acuity of care. It frames the goal as coding accuracy rather than maximizing codes. It is listed on the athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, Healthie and ModMed marketplaces.

AI Health Index verifiedOctober 9, 2026
Compare CareBeam with other vendors
Founded
2024
Headquarters
New York, New York, United States
Categories
ambient-scribes
Buyer Segments
Independent Practice, Medical Group, Community Health System
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

CareBeam sells model output at each step from encounter to claim. The platform combines ambient documentation, chart auditing that recommends E/M levels, modifiers and ICD-10 and CPT codes before a chart closes, a revenue dashboard for billing teams, and a clinical assistant that answers questions about a patient, a drug or a code from a sidebar inside the EHR.

The company was founded in 2024 as ScribeAI and took the CareBeam name on April 7, 2026 to mark its move from ambient scribing into documentation, coding and revenue capture, with AI assisted order drafting the next stated step. People appear as onboarding and support staff, and there is no human documentation tier.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Every output reaches a person as a suggestion. Notes appear in the EHR to review, edit and sign. The chart audit runs in the background and, after each encounter, shows suggested billing codes, documentation issues and compliance checks on the same screen, and CareBeam says every E/M suggestion includes its clinical rationale so the provider makes the final call. Billing teams get an admin portal that lists every provider's notes, issues and code suggestions. The clinical assistant labels its answers as AI suggestions, tells clinicians to rely on their clinical judgment, and cites its sources.

The reach is wide: E/M levels, modifiers, add on codes and ICD-10 mappings, differential diagnoses ranked by likelihood, formulary aware prescription suggestions, and medication orders staged in athenaOne and Veradigm, with AI assisted order drafting in development. No confidence threshold, abstention behavior or escalation path is published, and nothing says whether a suggested code can reach a claim without a person accepting it.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

An NLP engine transcribes, filters and structures the encounter into a note, and CareBeam says its models are trained on millions of real clinical encounters, first on broad medical datasets and then across specialties. The site attaches a figure to each function: 98%+ transcription accuracy across accents, medical terminology and ambient noise, 96%+ accuracy on E/M level suggestions validated against certified coder reviews, and a 96 percent clinical accuracy rate for the assistant.

None comes with a method, sample or test set, and no model, model family, version or update policy is named. Coding accuracy is the product's central claim, and its published form is a single E/M figure with no breakdown by specialty, visit type or code level.

DD on Model Supply Chain DisclosureNothing establishes who else sits between a patient record and an answer.
Vendor Published

No model, model family, foundation model provider or hosting vendor is named. The privacy policy allows data to sit with contracted third party hosting vendors, the Terms of Service let CareBeam subcontract any service and give subcontractors access to customer content if they accept the same or similar restrictions, and a company post says CareBeam holds BAAs with every third party service in its infrastructure. None of those parties is named, and no subprocessor list is published.

The chain carries more than encounter audio. The clinical assistant queries visit summaries, medications, labs and diagnoses across a practice's patient panel, and the integrations pull history before an encounter starts, so records of patients CareBeam never documented can pass through it.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

One named case study, customer quotes and vendor figures make up the published evidence. Timothy Groth MD PC, a pain management and chiropractic practice in Smithtown, New York with eight locations, piloted the platform and reports 10 minutes saved per note, 100 percent of providers wanting to keep using it, a Net Promoter Score of 100 and note quality rated 4.5 out of 5, and it is expanding CareBeam to more providers and visit types. Dr. Sundeep Shah, a nephrologist and ACO medical director who also sits on CareBeam's advisory team, describes less time in the chart and documentation that better reflects the care delivered. Earlier releases name Clarity Pediatrics, The Dietitian Group and Nutrition Pair as customers.

The platform figures are vendor reported: an average of $4,200 in added revenue per provider each month, a 23 percent increase in Level 4 and 5 E/M coding accuracy, 90 percent of compliance issues caught before submission, $3.20 recovered per chart audited, and transcription volume up more than 35 times year over year. None carries a method or denominator, and no study, controlled evaluation or independent rating is published.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule behind them.
Vendor Published

Categorical commitments appear on the product pages. Audio is processed in memory and never stored, the company says it keeps a strict zero PHI retention policy, the chart auditing FAQ says PHI is never stored on CareBeam's servers, and an August 2025 company post states that patient data is never used to train its AI models. The Terms of Service add that the practice owns its data, that CareBeam will never sell it or disclose it to a third party except at the practice's direction, and that a practice leaving the platform receives a full copy at CareBeam's expense.

The contracts describe storage the product pages do not. The terms say data will be stored and processed remotely on servers CareBeam controls, the privacy policy allows storage with contracted third party hosting vendors, and CareBeam may analyze deidentified data about the platform's use and performance to improve its products, while the BAA allows deidentification of PHI only where the practice permits it. The transcription FAQ says the models are trained on millions of real clinical encounters, without saying whose.

Chart auditing and the clinical assistant read existing records, including visit summaries, medications, labs and diagnoses across a practice's patient panel, and how the zero retention policy applies to that chart data is not described. No retention schedule, guardrail, hallucination mitigation or safety event process is published.

Regulatory and Compliance
AA on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated, the agreement is available to read before contracting, the tier it applies at is clear, and the agreement discloses that it binds subcontractors who handle protected health information. Which parties those subcontractors are is graded on Model Supply Chain Disclosure and is not counted again here. Where any of the four cannot be verified from published material, the grade is the band below.
Vendor Published

A HIPAA Business Associate Agreement is published on the company website and accepted by checkbox at signup, so it applies to every account, and the Terms of Service attach business associate terms as an exhibit. An August 2025 company post adds that CareBeam signs BAAs with all clients and holds BAAs with every third party service in its infrastructure.

Under the agreement CareBeam commits to Security Rule safeguards, reports any use or disclosure the agreement does not provide for, breaches of unsecured PHI and security incidents it becomes aware of, and binds subcontractors that handle PHI to the same restrictions. It makes PHI available within 20 days of an access or amendment request, may deidentify PHI only if the practice permits it, and must return or destroy all PHI at termination and keep no copies. New York law governs.

No reporting deadline shorter than the regulation is set. The agreement does not address chart auditing, where CareBeam reads records for patients whose encounters it never recorded, or the medication orders it stages in athenaOne and Veradigm. The company was ScribeAI Inc until April 7, 2026, so earlier agreements sit under that name.

BB on Security Certifications and Trust CenterA recognized certification is named in the vendor own material without the artifact, or with a scope or renewal question the buyer has to raise. A recognized certification here is an audit of how the vendor operates security, such as SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO/IEC 27001. A certification has a scope and a clock, and both are part of this grade. A certification the vendor attaches to its data center, hosting facility or cloud provider, rather than presenting as its own, is the host's and does not count here.
Vendor Published

Security claims sit on the product pages and in an August 2025 company post. The pages cite HIPAA compliance, 256 bit encryption and audio processed in memory. The post adds TLS 1.2+ in transit, AES-256 at rest, role based access, logging of every action, regular penetration testing and security audits, SOC 2 compliance, and security training and background checks for employees.

The SOC 2 claim names no report type, auditor or period, and there is no trust center under the CareBeam or ScribeAI name. The platform reads across a practice's records rather than only the encounters it records, and how that access is scoped, or narrowed by a practice, is not described.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No FDA clearance is claimed for any CareBeam function. The Terms of Service describe the platform as no substitute for human intervention and discretionary thinking and require providers to exercise independent judgment.

Two functions reach toward clinical decision support. The clinical assistant offers differential diagnoses ranked by likelihood, drug interaction checks and formulary aware prescription suggestions, with citations to peer reviewed sources, guidelines and drug databases, and labels its answers as AI suggestions. Medication orders are already staged in athenaOne and Veradigm, and AI assisted order drafting is in development.

CareBeam's own account of its strategy puts the commercial weight on coding. Its April 2026 rebrand release calls documentation the entry point and names the larger problems as downstream: inaccurate coding, missed revenue, and documentation that did not reflect the actual acuity of care delivered. The same platform writes the note and then audits it for coding, so the audit is not independent of the documentation it reviews.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

The coding work is framed as accuracy rather than maximization, and the April 2026 rebrand release names documentation that did not reflect the actual acuity of care among the problems CareBeam set out to fix. The chart auditing page leads with undercoding detection and missing diagnoses and cites an average of $4,200 in added revenue per provider each month and a 23 percent rise in Level 4 and 5 E/M coding accuracy. The same audit flags compliance gaps, such as time based coding without a documented visit duration, under payer specific rules that CareBeam says update automatically.

No review of whether those recommendations raise coding intensity beyond the documented care is published, and no fairness statement, results by accent or language, or performance by specialty or patient group accompanies the 98 percent transcription and 96 percent E/M accuracy figures.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

Clinical responsibility rests with the practice under CareBeam's Terms of Service. The terms describe the platform as no substitute for human intervention and discretionary thinking and require providers to exercise independent judgment, including by confirming the accuracy of critical patient information and promptly reporting errors that may affect patient care. The customer assumes sole responsibility for patient care decisions and outcomes and indemnifies CareBeam against third party claims arising from patient care or use of the platform, regardless of the cause.

The commercial protections are narrow. A performance warranty covers substantive program errors reported in the first 90 days after go live, with correction or a workaround as the remedy and termination with a refund of environment and monthly active patient fees if that fails. Liability is capped at twelve months of subscription fees, and CareBeam does not guarantee error free operation.

On the output side CareBeam offers traceability: each E/M suggestion shows its clinical rationale, the assistant cites its sources, and every action is logged. Nothing stands behind a coding recommendation that proves wrong. The practice bills the code and carries the false claims exposure, and because the audit also reviews documentation CareBeam did not write, an incorrect finding can lead a practice to recode past encounters.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

CareBeam works inside the EHR through named integrations, several of them listed on vendor marketplaces. Its integrations page names ten systems, Healthie, ModMed, athenahealth, Elation, eClinicalWorks, Veradigm, NextGen, Practice Fusion, TouchWorks and Office Ally, and the April 2026 rebrand release says the platform is live on the athenahealth Marketplace, eClinicalWorks Marketplace, Healthie Harbor and ModMed synapSYS Marketplace.

Dedicated pages describe two way connections. On athenaOne and Veradigm CareBeam retrieves vitals, medications, allergies and recent visit history before the encounter, writes completed SOAP notes into structured fields, and stages medication orders documented during the visit; the ModMed and eClinicalWorks pages also claim discrete writeback. Setup on athenaOne runs through the EHR's API access and an authorization and consent form, and CareBeam says most practices are live within a week. The clinical assistant connects through FHIR and HL7 APIs and opens as a sidebar in the EHR.

Elsewhere the site names Epic and Cerner without a dedicated page, and its integration counts range from 9+ to 20+ to 50+ across pages. No customer is named on a specific integration.

CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyA single hosted option with location implied rather than committed.
Vendor Published

The platform runs as a cloud service for US practices. The Terms of Service limit use to health care delivery operations inside the United States and say data is stored and processed remotely on servers CareBeam controls, and the privacy policy allows storage with contracted third party hosting vendors. The product pages describe audio processed in memory and never stored, and say all data stays within the practice's existing security perimeter. No hosting provider, region, tenancy option or subprocessor is named.

The route into the chart is described for athenaOne, through the EHR's API with an authorization form, and for the clinical assistant, through FHIR and HL7 APIs as a sidebar. For the other systems the mechanism is not stated, and the assistant's access spans the practice's patient panel rather than only the encounters CareBeam recorded.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

Buying starts with a demo. The calls to action on trycarebeam.com lead to a booking form, and the site shows no rate card, tier structure or trial.

The Terms of Service sketch the commercial model without figures. Fees run on a subscription term, and the warranty remedy refers to environment fees and monthly active patient fees. Invoices are due in 30 days, subscription fees are non refundable, and cancellation only stops future renewals. A library of clinical templates comes at no additional charge.

The site sells the product on return. Its ROI calculator rests on an average of $3.20 recovered per chart audited across CareBeam's customer base, and the chart auditing page says the average practice recovers 3 to 5 times the cost of CareBeam. Whether documentation, chart auditing and the clinical assistant are licensed together or separately is not stated.

CC on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is claimed broadly without specifics, or stated clearly with nothing validating it yet.
Vendor Published

Independent practices, multispecialty groups and value based care organizations are CareBeam's stated buyers, and the site extends that to groups of 10 to 500 providers and FQHCs. The rebrand release names urgent care, primary care, pediatrics, mental health, neurology and podiatry among the specialties served, and dedicated pages add cardiology, oncology, orthopedics, psychiatry, dentistry and emergency medicine. The Healthie integration is aimed at nutrition, mental health and functional medicine practices.

The product covers the documents a practice produces. Beyond SOAP notes it generates H&P reports, progress notes, referral letters, prescription notes, procedure notes, discharge summaries and prior authorization forms, from in person or telehealth encounters. CareBeam cites 30+ specialty templates, and notes come out in English whatever language is spoken, with Spanish, Mandarin and Hindi among those supported.

Customer evidence sits in a few areas: pain management and chiropractic through the Timothy Groth MD PC case study, nephrology through a named physician user, and pediatrics and nutrition through named practices. Accuracy is not broken out by specialty or language.

Alternatives

Alternatives to CareBeam

Vendors in the same categories as CareBeam whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Attend, sold as Attend AI by Craft Health Technologies of San Francisco, pairs an AI scribe with a coding and documentation audit engine.

CareCortex is the clinical documentation platform from NeuroReef Labs, a Mountain View company that also builds MedAura, a separate evidence retrieval product that appraises evidence with…

Skriber is a self serve ambient scribe covering SOAP, history and physical, discharge, intake, DAP and custom note formats across web, desktop, tablet and mobile, with no IT setup required…

Apricot, based in Oklahoma City, builds AI documentation for home health and post acute care.

NextGen Ambient Assist is the native ambient documentation capability inside NextGen Healthcare's ambulatory EHR, aimed at the independent and specialty practice market NextGen serves.

Ambient scribe and coding platform launched October 2024 by Visionet Ventures out of Cranbury, New Jersey, after roughly two years of development and backed by $2 million in seed funding.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published. Demo request only.
A subscription term, with environment fees and monthly active patient fees named in the Terms of Service; no figures published. Published on the website and accepted by checkbox at signup, so it applies to every account. None published. Vendor Published

No rate card, tier structure or trial is published, and the calls to action lead to a demo booking. The Terms of Service name environment fees and monthly active patient fees, set invoices due in 30 days and make subscription fees non refundable. The site's ROI calculator rests on an average of $3.20 recovered per chart audited, and CareBeam says the average practice recovers 3 to 5 times its cost. Whether documentation, chart auditing and the clinical assistant are licensed together or separately is not stated.