Radiology & Imaging AI
B

Behold.ai

UK company whose red dot platform sits at the autonomous end of imaging AI: it reports chest X-rays it classifies as High Confidence Normal autonomously, removing them from the radiologist worklist (about 15 percent of studies, according to the company), triages suspected lung cancer for urgent reporting, and has a companion CT head product. Work published in Clinical Radiology reported a 0.33 percent error rate on the auto reported studies and a 60 percent reduction in missed lung cancers when triage ran alongside consultant radiologists. The only FDA clearance, from 2020, is for pneumothorax triage and was granted to the original company.

That company, Behold.ai Technologies Limited, entered administration in January 2025 after failing to win contracts under the NHS AI Diagnostic Fund, and NICE withdrew red dot from its recommendations in February 2025. A successor, Behold.ai Global Technologies Limited, acquired the intellectual property and assets and relaunched the platform, positioning it as an alternative to outsourced reporting for the NHS and the US.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 27, 2026
Compare Behold.ai with other vendors
Founded
2015
Headquarters
London, United Kingdom
Website
www.behold.ai
Categories
radiology-and-imaging-ai, clinical-decision-support
Indexed Products
red dot Chest X-Ray (High Confidence Normal autonomous reporting, lung cancer triage), red dot CT Head, red dot pneumothorax triage (FDA cleared, K191556)
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

The model is the product and the business model depends on it. red dot classifies chest X-rays, marking those it judges normal with very high confidence for autonomous reporting and those suggestive of lung cancer for urgent reporting, and a companion product triages CT head scans.

The company positions the service as an alternative to outsourced radiology reporting, claiming a 50 percent cost saving against outsourced reporters, so the AI substitutes for purchased reporting capacity rather than decorating another product. There is no services layer beneath it; remove the model and nothing is left to sell.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

red dot acts alone on one class of study. Chest X-rays it identifies as High Confidence Normal are reported autonomously and removed from the reporting workload, about 15 percent of studies according to the product page; those suggestive of lung cancer are prioritized for urgent reporting and same or next day CT; the rest go to radiologists through the trust's RIS or PACS worklist, which red dot updates with a normal or abnormal notification.

The company cites an error rate of 0.33 percent on the autonomously reported studies against 13.5 percent for consultant radiologists, from work published in Clinical Radiology. That is the autonomous channel named and routed, with an error rate attached.

The rest of the structure is not published: the confidence threshold, the studies excluded from autonomous reporting (age, projection, inpatient or portable films), any override path, and any audit of autonomously reported studies after the fact. Because no clinician opens an auto reported film, those controls are the safety case. Who holds clinical responsibility for an auto reported study that proves abnormal is not stated either.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

Behold.ai describes what red dot does, not what produces the output. The product and how it works pages describe the classes it assigns (High Confidence Normal, suspected lung cancer), the notification it sends back to the RIS or PACS and the share of studies auto reported, and localization has been shown through heatmaps.

No model architecture, training data (size, sources, trusts, equipment makers, time period), version or update practice is published, and the 2020 FDA 510(k) summary for the pneumothorax triage device describes it only as AI based software. Performance figures, however specific, describe validation rather than the model. For a product that reports studies no clinician opens, knowing which model version made the call, and when it changed, is part of the audit trail a department needs.

BB on Model Supply Chain DisclosureSubstantial partial disclosure, or a chain that is structurally short: an in house build, a cleared model that cannot be quietly swapped, or a deployment where the transfer does not occur at all. Naming the model provider exits the band below into this one; the axis rises from here on the completeness of the party list and on the terms that govern data once it arrives.
Vendor Published

The chain is short. red dot is Behold.ai's own model, cleared by the FDA in 2020 as a pneumothorax triage device (K191556) and sold as the company's own classifier, so the model layer is not a third party's. The how it works page states that chest X-ray images and messages reach the red dot platform over an encrypted VPN and that all patient examination data resides in fully NHS accredited data centers.

What is not named is the operator of those data centers, the cloud provider if any, or any subprocessor, and after the 2025 asset purchase it is not stated whether the hosting arrangement carried across from the original company.

BB on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed deployments with dated outcome figures and enough method to test them, or published research short of independent validation.
Peer Reviewed Publication

Published research and named NHS deployments, tempered by what happened to the product. Two papers in Clinical Radiology underpin it: one on autonomous diagnosis of normal chest radiographs, reporting 15 percent auto reported at a 0.33 percent error rate, and one reporting a 60 percent reduction in missed lung cancers when triage ran alongside consultant radiologists on a tumor enriched dataset.

The company has published real world results from NHS trusts, including a Somerset evaluation of 3,794 images, a Calderdale and Huddersfield report of shorter lung cancer waiting times, and Basildon processing 4,415 chest X-rays in 3.5 days against 4 to 8 weeks by outsourcing, and a Health Research Authority registered evaluation of red dot version 2 was planned.

For CT head the company reports removing more than 60 percent of scans from the workload at a 93 percent negative predictive value, without a source. The counterweight: NICE withdrew red dot from its recommendations in February 2025, and the original company entered administration. A prospective evaluation of autonomous reporting in live use is the evidence the claim calls for.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

General assurances, and nothing on what happens to the studies. The how it works page states that images reach the platform over an encrypted VPN and that all patient examination data resides in fully NHS accredited data centers. No retention period for images or classifications, no statement on whether customer studies are used to train or improve the model, and no de identification practice is published.

The retention question matters more here than for an assistive tool: for an auto reported study, the platform's record of what it saw and at what confidence may be the only assessment the examination received, and a later review of a missed finding depends on it being kept. Safety engineering, meaning guardrails and how a safety event is handled, is not published; the confidence threshold is an oversight control, described under autonomy.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

The company states no business associate status; its product and technology pages describe NHS accredited data centers and an encrypted VPN rather than a regulatory position. The site also carries a privacy policy, the document where its data protection role for the service and any position on US patient data would be stated.

The deployments on record are in the NHS, where UK data protection law applies, but the home page describes the company as focused on radiologists in the USA as well as the NHS, and its only US clearance is for pneumothorax triage, so the United States position matters.

The contracting entity is the other open question: the original Behold.ai Technologies Limited entered administration in January 2025, a successor acquired the assets, and agreements signed by the original company do not bind the successor automatically.

CC on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are described with an outside check behind them, such as independent penetration testing on a stated cadence, but no attestation against a recognized framework. A certification that tests the software security features rather than the vendor operations, such as federal health IT certification, is an outside check of this kind.
Vendor Published

The product and technology pages describe controls, an encrypted VPN for images and messages and hosting in NHS accredited data centers, and name no information security certification of the company's own. The NHS accreditation described belongs to the data centers, not to the company's operations. Registration with the Care Quality Commission, which the successor has cited, concerns whether care is safe and well led and is not an information security attestation.

NHS suppliers commonly hold a Data Security and Protection Toolkit submission or Cyber Essentials certification; neither is named on the pages describing the product, and the company's privacy policy is the published document where either would most likely appear. The corporate history adds a point: assurance work done by the original company does not carry to the successor automatically.

DD on FDA and Regulatory StatusThe positioning is unclear or unsupported: clinical claims with no regulatory position stated, or language implying a status the databases do not carry. An open enforcement action that names the product also grades here, whatever the positioning: an FDA warning letter with no close out letter posted, or a consent decree in force. The note says which of the two applies, and the grade returns to the positioning bands when FDA closes the action.
Regulatory Filing

The company markets a clinical capability beyond any regulatory position it states. What it sells is autonomous reporting of chest X-rays classified as High Confidence Normal, removed from the worklist without a radiologist's read, alongside lung cancer triage, and its home page says it is completely focused on helping radiologists in the USA and the NHS. The pages describing the product state no regulatory position for the seller.

The only FDA clearance for the product is K191556 (28 February 2020, 21 CFR 892.2080, product code QFM), granted to the original Behold.ai Technologies Limited for red dot as a triage and notification tool for adult chest X-rays with features suggestive of pneumothorax: passive notification for worklist prioritization, not for stand alone diagnosis, and not removing cases from the standard workflow.

The original company entered administration in January 2025 and a successor acquired the assets; the successor does not name the clearance, and which authorizations transferred is not stated. The product has also carried CE and UKCA marking, and NICE withdrew it from its recommendations in February 2025. Autonomous normal reporting offered to US radiologists sits outside the only US clearance, which excludes removing cases from the workflow, and nothing published says it is withheld from US sites.

CC on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureResponsible artificial intelligence is committed to in policy language with no evaluation behind it. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No results by patient group are published for a product that removes studies from human review. The 2020 FDA summary for the pneumothorax triage device reports 888 cases from four sites in the US and UK without subgroup results, and the published error rate for autonomous normal reporting is given for the whole population.

If performance varies by age, sex, body habitus, projection or equipment, patients in the weaker group are the ones whose abnormal film is reported normal and never opened. Chest X-ray classifiers trained on public datasets have underdiagnosed female, Black, Hispanic, younger and Medicaid insured patients (Seyyed-Kalantari and colleagues, Nature Medicine, 2021).

The confidence threshold is a control on how much the model decides, described under autonomy, not an evaluation of how it behaves across groups, and no governance framework or post market monitoring commitment is named.

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route the affected person can exercise against the vendor. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here. A statutory right that runs to the covered entity rather than to the vendor does not reach this band on its own: every other route here asks something of the vendor, and being located in a particular jurisdiction is not conduct.
Regulatory Filing

An error rate with its denominator is on the record in the product's own FDA filing. The 510(k) summary for red dot (K191556, February 2020), filed by the original Behold.ai Technologies Limited whose assets the current company acquired, reports standalone performance on 888 adult chest X-rays from four sites in the US and UK (299 with pneumothorax, 589 without), against a consensus of at least two ABR certified radiologists: sensitivity 94.65 percent (91.46 to 96.91) and specificity 87.95 percent (85.04 to 90.46).

That figure covers pneumothorax triage only, not autonomous normal reporting, and it is a test set result, not performance in use. For autonomous reporting the company cites an error rate of 0.33 percent on the 15 percent of studies auto reported, from work in Clinical Radiology, without the denominator on the product page.

No warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment attaches to the output, and who answers for an auto reported study that proves abnormal is not stated: the radiologist did not read it, the referrer received a normal report, and the company supplied the classification.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

red dot writes back into the reporting workflow. The how it works page states that after analysis it sends an electronic notification back to the trust RIS, or to PACS where reporting is PACS driven, marking each examination as normal or abnormal and prioritizing it in the existing worklist; for auto reported studies that notification is the report.

That is one directional writing into the record of the examination, deeper than a read only overlay, and it runs at named NHS trusts, including Somerset, Calderdale and Huddersfield, Basildon and Southend, where the company has published deployment results. No RIS or PACS vendor is named and no HL7 or FHIR interface or connector list is published.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

One hosted option with its residency committed. The how it works page states that images and messages reach the red dot platform over an encrypted VPN and that all patient examination data resides in fully NHS accredited data centers, so for NHS customers the data stays in the UK health service's accredited estate.

What is open is the operator of those data centers, tenant isolation, whether a local deployment is offered, and where US studies would be processed given the company's stated US focus. The corporate history makes continuity part of this: the processing location is where the only assessment of an auto reported study was made, and a department needs its own record of those studies if the service ends, as the original company's administration showed can happen.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No price is published, and the pricing basis is stated only relatively: the company positions red dot as an alternative to outsourced reporting, claiming a 50 percent cost saving against outsourced reporters and up to 70 percent lower outsourcing costs. That gives a buyer a benchmark, the per study outsourcing rate, without a figure a buyer can apply. The dominant commercial question is continuity rather than price.

The original company entered administration in January 2025 after failing to win NHS AI Diagnostic Fund contracts, NICE withdrew the product from its recommendations the following month, and a successor acquired the assets and relaunched it.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

Two narrow, high volume targets, named and partly validated. On chest X-ray red dot reports normal studies autonomously and triages suspected lung cancer, with published research in Clinical Radiology and deployment results from named NHS trusts behind it; on CT head it triages acute findings and rules out normal scans, for which the company reports removing more than 60 percent of scans from the workload at a 93 percent negative predictive value without a published source.

The settings on record are NHS trust radiology departments. Depth over breadth is a deliberate choice and not a gap. The home page now describes the company's AI as covering all modalities, which goes beyond the two products described. Which referral sources, patient groups and projections the autonomous channel is validated for is not stated.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Behold.ai

Vendors in the same categories as Behold.ai whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Imaging AI business of Nasdaq listed Nano-X Imaging, formerly Zebra Medical Vision, acquired in November 2021.

Lithuanian radiology AI developer based in Vilnius, part of Sectra, the enterprise imaging company, since 2026.

Paris based imaging AI company whose Rayvolve suite reads plain radiographs: AZtrauma detects fractures, dislocations and joint effusions, AZchest covers chest findings including…

Romanian imaging AI company based in Timisoara whose Rayscape CXR analyzes chest X-rays, detecting and localizing 148 findings across 17 clinical classes, including tuberculosis, with bone…

contextflow reads chest CT and shows the radiologist comparable cases alongside its findings.

New York company, founded in 2024, building deep learning tools for PSMA PET/CT in prostate cancer and theranostics.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor; confirm the successor entity's terms
Undisclosed. Positioned against the cost of outsourced reporting rather than published as rates. No business associate status is published. The only US clearance is for pneumothorax triage and was granted to the original company. Not disclosed. red dot receives images over an encrypted VPN, hosts data in NHS accredited data centres, and writes a normal or abnormal notification back to the RIS or PACS worklist. Vendor Published

No pricing is published. The company positions red dot as an alternative to outsourced radiology reporting, claiming a 50 percent cost saving against outsourced reporters and up to 70 percent lower outsourcing costs, which gives a buyer the per study outsourcing rate as a benchmark but no figure to apply.

Continuity is the larger commercial question: the original Behold.ai Technologies Limited entered administration in January 2025 after failing to win NHS AI Diagnostic Fund contracts, NICE withdrew red dot from its recommendations in February 2025, and a successor acquired the assets and relaunched the platform. A buyer should establish which authorizations, support obligations, indemnities and data return terms the successor offers.