Axuall
Axuall, based in Cleveland and founded in 2018, runs a provider data network that it describes as spanning more than 30 billion data points from public and private sources, real world practice patterns and primary source verification, assembled into a verified super record for each clinician. It sells three products on top of the network to health systems and staffing firms: Explore, which finds and prioritizes clinicians for recruiting with AI powered insights; Confirm, which supplies primary source verified data to speed onboarding and credentialing; and Sync, which keeps provider data current by pushing verified updates into systems such as Epic's provider master file, directories, rosters and scheduling tools, with validation rules routing exceptions to staff. Clinicians can hold their verified credentials in a digital wallet, and the verification method is covered by US Patent 12,079,891.
Cleveland Clinic is named as using Sync to manage external provider records, and Hartford HealthCare is quoted; the company reports that Sync cuts data maintenance costs by 80 percent. It publishes API documentation, integrates with HealthStream's CredentialStream, and describes its network as SOC 2 compliant, with a trust center linked from its site. Its privacy policy covers credential holders and does not address HIPAA; no pricing, model description or accuracy figure for the AI functions is published.
Capability Axes
An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read
Real AI on top of a data network that is the asset. The home page describes a provider data network spanning billions of data points from real world practice and primary sources, building a super record for every clinician, with AI assisted insights on top. The products are Explore (finding and prioritizing clinicians for recruiting with AI powered insights), Confirm (primary source verified data for onboarding and credentialing) and Sync (pushing verified provider data into record systems, directories and rosters). Sync derives each clinician's clinical focus from real world practice and billing patterns, which is inference, and the company announced AI functions for its credential wallet in 2025.
The value underneath is the network, the verification and the integrations: remove the models and a verification service and data feed remain.
Automated within a determinate task, with an exception route described. Sync matches a customer's provider roster against the verified network and pushes updates into the systems of record on an ongoing basis with no manual entry; custom validation rules in its Workbench catch mismatched NPIs, deactivated providers and affiliation gaps before they enter the customer's systems, giving the team control over exceptions. The company has reported more than 200,000 primary source verifications a day at a match rate above 99 percent. Credentialing and privileging decisions remain with the medical staff office; the platform supplies verified data rather than approvals.
What is missing is what happens to the updates that pass the validation rules: they flow into the record system's provider master file without a person seeing them, and nothing describes how a wrong update is detected and reversed. How often pushed updates are later corrected is not published.
The verification method is public; the AI is not described. The company holds US Patent 12,079,891 for digital credential verification and management, which puts a technical description of the method in the public record, and it publishes API documentation for developers. Sync's method is set out in three steps: match the roster against the network, enrich and push chosen fields, and route exceptions through validation rules. The network is quantified at more than 30 billion data points from public and private sources, real world practice patterns and primary source verification.
What is not published is anything about the models: how clinical focus is derived from practice and billing patterns, how candidates are prioritized in Explore, what the AI functions announced for the wallet do differently from rules based matching, or how any of them are evaluated and versioned.
The data network is described and no party in it is named. The company says the network draws on a curated collection of public and private data sources, real world practice patterns and primary sources, more than 30 billion data points in all, including claims and encounters; the privacy policy mentions third party service providers for website analytics. No model provider, hosting provider, claims data supplier or subprocessor list is named.
For this product the supply chain runs inward as well as outward: who licenses the claims and encounter data the network uses, and on what terms, matters as much as who processes customer data.
Named customers and headline figures, with no method behind them. The Sync page names Cleveland Clinic, whose IT director describes using it to keep external provider records current and to meet federal notification of admission requirements, and reports that Sync cuts operational costs of data maintenance by 80 percent and the results routing error queue by 86 percent. The home page quotes Hartford HealthCare's chief clinical officer on clinician population data. The company has also named Lehigh Valley Health Network as a customer and cited HealthStream reporting up to 70 percent faster application processing for its CredentialStream customers after integration.
None of the figures names the customer it came from, the period or the baseline, and the HealthStream figure comes from an integration partner rather than an independent source. There is a case studies page, which may fill some of this in.
Security properties are described and the questions about data use are not answered. The company describes its network as fault tolerant, auditable and tamper proof, and the privacy policy for credential holders, effective February 2024, says information is used to provide the services and is not sold, that subscribers are intended to use shared credentials for quality assurance, peer review and credentialing, that deleted information may persist in backups, and that data is maintained in the United States.
Nothing states whether provider data, or the claims and encounter data behind the network's practice patterns, is used to train or improve the AI functions; how long source documents and verification results are kept beyond general record retention policies; or whether the claims data is de identified and on what basis.
A service level privacy document exists and no HIPAA status is stated. The privacy policy covers the website, the clinician's digital credential wallet and the other Axuall services, and describes collection of credential holders' information from credential issuers, sharing with subscribing hospitals for credentialing and peer review, US storage, and data rights requests. It does not mention HIPAA, protected health information or business associate status, and the company does not state that its products sit outside patient data.
That silence matters more than it would for a pure credentialing tool. The core dataset is provider identity data (NPIs, licenses, DEA registrations, board certifications, sanctions), which sits largely outside HIPAA, but the network also draws on billions of claims and encounters to derive practice patterns, and Sync pushes data into a hospital's Epic provider master file. Whether any of that involves protected health information, and whether the company signs business associate agreements, is not stated. Nor is any agreement named for the data written into customers' record systems.
A SOC 2 attestation is claimed for the network, and the trust center where the report would sit loads dynamically, so what it holds is unconfirmed. The company has described its data network as SOC 2 compliant, alongside fault tolerant, auditable and tamper proof design, and its footer now links a Trust and Security center at trust.axuall.com.
The wording the company has used, SOC 2 compliant rather than a completed Type II examination, leaves the report type open, and no period, auditor or scope is stated outside the trust center. Nothing describes penetration testing or vulnerability disclosure.
No FDA clearance is claimed and none applies. Credentialing, provider data maintenance and recruiting intelligence are administrative functions; nothing here diagnoses, treats or informs treatment.
The regimes that apply sit elsewhere. NCQA and URAC standards govern primary source verification, verification timeframes and recredentialing; CMS conditions of participation and state licensure boards set the obligations hospitals carry; payer network rules and federal directory accuracy duties apply to the provider data Sync maintains, and Cleveland Clinic describes using it to meet the federal notification of admission requirement. No NCQA or URAC certification is stated, and whether the company operates as a delegated verification organization or as infrastructure for a customer's own credentialing decides whether one is expected.
Nothing published on how the models are governed or tested. There is no responsible AI statement, evaluation method, matching accuracy by name type, error taxonomy or accountable owner; Sync's validation rules govern data quality rather than model behavior.
The exposures are specific. Identity resolution and sanctions screening against licensing boards, the DEA registry, the OIG exclusion list and malpractice records produce false matches that cluster on common surnames, names transliterated from non Latin scripts and compound surnames; a false positive delays a clinician's start and income, a false negative admits someone whose record was never truly checked. Explore prioritizes candidates for recruiting and Sync labels each clinician's clinical focus from billing patterns, both of which can carry the biases in the underlying claims, for example under representing clinicians whose patients are uninsured.
Mechanisms exist to catch and see errors, and nothing stands behind the output. Sync's validation rules catch mismatched NPIs, deactivated providers and affiliation gaps before they enter a customer's system; clinicians hold their own verified credentials in a wallet, so the person most likely to notice an error can see the record; and the company describes its network as auditable. The privacy policy gives credential holders access and deletion requests.
The site publishes no warranty, accuracy commitment or remediation term; the terms of use may carry one. The consequences run both ways: a false match or a wrong sanctions hit delays a clinician's start and income, and a missed one lets an unverified provider through; a wrong update pushed into a hospital's provider master file misroutes results and referrals until someone notices. Neither a dispute route for clinicians nor an error rate on pushed updates is published.
Named integrations that write into a major record system in production, with public documentation. Sync pushes verified provider data into the customer's systems of record, naming Epic's provider master file (SER) alongside data management platforms, directories, rosters, scheduling tools, applicant tracking and CRM systems, and it reads the customer's roster to match it against the network. Cleveland Clinic is named as running Sync to manage a high volume of external provider records. The company publishes API documentation for developers from its footer, and it has integrated with HealthStream's CredentialStream through the hStream ecosystem so those customers can use its verified data without replacing their credentialing platform.
The interoperability here runs in both directions that matter for provider data: in from about 30 billion data points and primary sources, out into the record and directory systems a health system runs on. Epic is the only record system named as receiving pushed updates, and the fields each destination accepts are not listed.
A hosted network service with United States storage stated and nothing else committed. The privacy policy says the website and the information it covers are maintained in the United States and that the services are intended for people located there, and the company describes the network as fault tolerant. Customers consume it as a service, with clinicians holding their verified credentials in a wallet on the network and enterprise data pushed into customer systems.
No hosting provider, region, tenancy model or retention period is published, and the privacy policy says deleted information may persist in backups under general retention policies.
The offer is enumerated, and none of it is priced. The enterprise platform is sold as three products, Explore for recruiting intelligence, Confirm for onboarding and credentialing, and Sync for provider data maintenance, to health systems and staffing firms through a demonstration, with public API documentation for integration. The company frames value in operating cost and time: Sync is said to cut data maintenance costs by 80 percent, and the company has cited 15 or more days saved on onboarding.
What no page states is the unit of charge (per clinician record, per verification, per facility or a platform fee), whether the products are priced separately, or implementation fees. Because the products sit alongside an existing credentialing platform and record system, a buyer is adding cost to an existing stack.
Health systems and staffing firms across the clinician lifecycle, with validation behind part of it. The company names its buyers as health systems and staffing firms and its uses as workforce planning, precision recruiting, credentialing and onboarding, and directory integrity management. Validation is named at Cleveland Clinic (Sync, for external provider records and admission notifications) and Hartford HealthCare (clinician population data), and the company has named Lehigh Valley Health Network. Coverage extends to physicians, advanced practice providers, specialists and nurses.
The named validation sits with large health systems; no staffing firm or recruiting customer is named. The services are stated to be for people located in the United States.
Alternatives to Axuall
Vendors in the same categories as Axuall whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.
Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
CertifyOS sells a provider data platform to health plans, health systems and digital health companies.
Particle Health sells access to patients' medical records through a single API.
Clearwave sells front office automation to specialty practices, multi site groups and health systems: scheduling, call handling, insurance eligibility, pre registration, clinical intake…
Element5 automates the administrative back office of post acute care.
Emitrr is a patient communication platform for independent practices that puts texting, phones, faxing, online forms, reviews and scheduling in one system, with AI agents that take calls…
Luma Health, founded in 2015 in San Francisco by Adnan Iqbal, Aditya Bansod and Tashfeen Ekram, sells what it calls an operational AI platform for patient access.
Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.
Compared With
Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
| Entry Price | Pricing Basis | BAA Tier | Implementation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Contact the vendor
|
Undisclosed. Three products (Explore, Confirm, Sync) sold to health systems and staffing firms. | Not stated. The privacy policy covers credential holders and the services without mentioning HIPAA or business associate status. | Not disclosed. Integration runs through public APIs, pushes into systems such as Epic's provider master file, and a HealthStream CredentialStream connection. | Vendor Published |
No pricing is published. The platform is sold as three products, Explore, Confirm and Sync, to health systems and staffing firms through a demonstration, with public API documentation for integration. Because the products sit alongside an existing credentialing platform and record system, a buyer is adding to the stack, and should model the cost against the maintenance and onboarding time the company says it saves (80 percent lower data maintenance cost for Sync; 15 or more days on onboarding), neither of which is published with a method.
Ask for the unit of charge and rate for each product and the implementation cost of the Epic integration.