Drug Discovery AI
A

Atomwise

Structure based drug discovery company built around AtomNet, a patented deep convolutional neural network trained on structure activity data and protein structures to predict small molecule bioactivity in three dimensions, applied as a virtual alternative to physical high throughput screening across an ultra large synthesizable compound library.

The company's central evidence is the AIMS initiative, published in Scientific Reports in April 2024 as the largest and most diverse virtual high throughput screening campaign reported to date: AtomNet was applied to 318 targets through collaborations with more than 250 academic labs across 30 countries, and found structurally novel hits for 235 of the 318 targets evaluated.

The paper explicitly addresses historical limitations of computational screening by reporting success on targets with no known binders, without high quality crystal structures, and without manual cherry picking of compounds, and reports that selected molecules were novel drug like scaffolds rather than modifications of known bioactives. Commercial posture is partnership led rather than independent clinical development, with disclosed collaborations including Sanofi, Hansoh Pharma and Eli Lilly. A lead internal candidate is an allosteric TYK2 inhibitor discovered using AtomNet.

AI Health Index verifiedJuly 27, 2026
Compare Atomwise with other vendors
Founded
Headquarters
San Francisco, CA
Categories
drug-discovery
Indexed Products
AtomNet, AtomNet PoseRanker, AIMS programme
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
AA on AI CentralityThe artificial intelligence is the product. Remove the model and there is nothing left to sell.
Vendor Published

AtomNet is the product and the moat. It is a patented deep convolutional neural network that predicts small molecule bioactivity in three dimensions from structure activity data and protein structures, and the entire commercial proposition is that it substitutes for physical high throughput screening rather than assisting it. There is no instrument franchise, no assay business and no data brokerage underneath.

The company's own published study frames the claim in exactly these terms, concluding that computational methods can substantially replace high throughput screening as the first step of small molecule discovery.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The oversight mechanism is empirical and unusually well evidenced. In the AIMS programme, model selected compounds were physically synthesized and assayed by more than 250 independent academic laboratories, so predictions were adjudicated by third party wet lab results rather than by the vendor. That is a stronger check than most peers can point to.

Held at B because compound selection criteria, ranking thresholds and the rules for when a target is judged unsuitable for the method were not located in published form, so the decision layer between model output and experimental commitment remains undocumented.

AA on Model and Technology TransparencyWhat is under the hood is named: proprietary or adapted foundation models identified, training data characterised, and versioning and update practice published so a buyer knows when the system changed.
Vendor Published

The method is in the peer reviewed literature rather than in marketing copy. The core screening result was published in Scientific Reports in April 2024, and methodological work including AtomNet PoseRanker appeared in the Journal of Chemical Information and Modeling under an open access licence, with the architectural approach stated specifically as a three dimensional convolutional neural network operating on protein ligand structure. Author affiliations and competing financial interests are declared in the papers, with employees identified as such. A reviewer can read the method, examine the benchmarks and disagree in print.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no provider is named.
Vendor Published

The clinical form of this axis does not reach this product, so it is graded on the analogous one rather than marked not applicable. The platform operates on protein structures and compound libraries with no patient data in the workflow, which bounds the chain structurally and is a fact about the product rather than a claim about its controls.

The sensitive material that does exist is a partner's target and compound information, and the confidentiality obligation covering it sits inside collaboration agreements rather than in anything published, so a prospective partner can establish nothing before entering one. Nothing is enumerated: no hosting provider, no sub processor list, no retention position, and no statement of whether structures or results submitted by one partner contribute to models used for another.

That last question is the substantive one in this category and it is not a privacy question. A screening platform improves as it sees more protein ligand pairs, so a partner has a direct interest in knowing whether their chemistry improves a service sold to a competitor pursuing the same target. Ask who hosts the platform, for a sub processor list, for retention on submitted structures, and for an explicit statement that partner material does not train shared models.

AA on Clinical and Operational EvidencePeer reviewed or independently evaluated performance, prospective and multi site where the claim requires it, with the method available to read.
Vendor Published

The strongest platform level evidence in this category, and the reason is that it reports its own denominator. The AIMS study applied AtomNet prospectively to 318 targets through more than 250 academic laboratories across 30 countries and found structurally novel hits for 235 of them, which means 83 targets did not yield and the paper says so.

It further stacked the deck against itself deliberately, reporting success on targets with no known binders, without high quality crystal structures and without manual cherry picking of compounds, and showing that selected molecules were novel scaffolds rather than modifications of known bioactives. Publishing the failure count alongside the success count is a candour benchmark this index has found rarely.

Buyers should be equally clear about what this evidence is not: it is preclinical hit finding validation generated largely by third parties, not clinical validation, and no molecule from the platform with human efficacy data was located.

BB on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipCategorical commitments are published, such as no training on customer data, without the retention schedule or the safety engineering behind them.
Vendor Published

Not applicable in the provider sense and rated accordingly rather than penalized. The platform operates on protein structures and compound libraries with no patient data in the workflow. The confidentiality obligation that does exist covers partners' target and compound information and sits inside collaboration agreements.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here.
Vendor Published

Not applicable. Counterparties are pharmaceutical companies and academic laboratories engaged in preclinical discovery, not covered entities transferring protected health information.

CC on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are described with an outside check behind them, such as independent penetration testing on a stated cadence, but no attestation against a recognised framework.
Vendor Published

No SOC 2, ISO 27001 or equivalent attestation was located and no trust centre was found. Public materials describe the compute architecture, including NVIDIA accelerated computing on Amazon Web Services with the WEKA data platform, but infrastructure description is not an attestation and should not be read as one during diligence.

One artifact does exist that is unusual for this category and worth pointing a buyer at. The company publishes the research agreement governing its academic collaboration programme as a document anyone can read, rather than describing its terms in prose or holding them behind a negotiation. For a vendor whose central data question is what happens to a partner's target information inside its environment, a published agreement is exactly where the confidentiality, ownership and use terms live, and being able to read them before making contact is a meaningful transparency. It is not a security attestation and does not substitute for one, but it answers a different and closely related question that most peers leave entirely opaque. Read it, and establish whether the commercial partnership terms mirror it or differ.

Two retrieval cautions belong on this record. The company name shares a prefix with several unrelated technology companies that publish detailed security and compliance pages, and those pages surface prominently in searches here; none of them belong to this vendor. Separately, business model and revenue breakdown claims about this company circulate on template style commercial analysis sites, including specific figures for upfront fees, revenue mix and licensing share. Those trace to no company source and should not be used in diligence, the same caution this index already records against a peer in this category.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalised for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Regulatory Filing

The screening platform is not a regulated device and is not presented as one, which is correct. At asset level the disclosed lead is a novel allosteric TYK2 inhibitor discovered using AtomNet, with an IND filing described as planned as of 2024 reporting. No confirmed IND acceptance, registered trial or clinical data for a platform derived asset was located in this review, so regulatory standing is materially behind the peers in this category that have dosed patients.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with.
Vendor Published

The best governance disclosure in this category, though the company does not frame it as governance. The domain relevant bias question is whether a model only works where data already exists, and the AIMS study attacks that question directly by reporting performance on targets with no known binders and without high quality crystal structures, including protein protein interaction and allosteric sites that are historically underserved by computational screening.

That is a published characterization of where the method does and does not hold. Held at B rather than A because there is no formal governance framework, no model card and no statement of intended and unsuitable use, so the disclosure is a byproduct of good science rather than a governance commitment.

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route for the affected person. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here, and so does a jurisdiction whose law gives the patient an enforceable right to correct an inaccurate record.
Peer Reviewed Publication

The method is in the peer reviewed literature rather than in marketing copy, with the core screening result published in a named journal and methodological work appearing under an open access licence, so a reader can obtain the paper without a subscription and disagree in print. The architecture is stated specifically as a three dimensional convolutional network operating on protein ligand structure, which is a claim a reviewer with the relevant training can evaluate on its merits.

One feature deserves particular credit because it comes from a standard the vendor did not set. Author affiliations and competing financial interests are declared in the papers, with employees identified as such, which means a reader weighing a favourable result knows who produced it and what they stand to gain.

This index has recorded the same pattern elsewhere as a transparency requirement imposed by a third party, and it is worth naming as a route into this band in its own right: publishing in venues that enforce interest declaration means the disclosure survives whatever the vendor would have chosen to say. Held below the top grade because nothing attaches commercially.

No warranty, indemnity, service level or remediation commitment was located, and a published benchmark for a screening method is not an error characteristic for a partner's own campaign. Ask what hit rate the deployed system achieves on targets like yours, and against what baseline.

Integration and Deployment
BB on EHR and Interoperability DepthNamed systems with read access or one directional writing, or standards support with named deployments behind it.
Vendor Published

Not applicable. This is a preclinical virtual screening platform with no provider workflow surface and no EHR touchpoint.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

The commercial model is collaboration and screening engagement rather than deployed software, so tenancy and residency terms do not arise in the usual form and none were located. Partners submit targets and receive prioritized compounds, which means the practical data question is what happens to a partner's target information inside the vendor environment, and that is addressed by contract rather than by architecture.

Commercial
BB on Commercial TransparencyA price or a pricing basis is published without full tiers, so a buyer can size the cost before making contact.
Vendor Published

No rate card exists and none would be meaningful given the engagement model, but headline deal structures are public and specific, with reported collaborations including Sanofi at approximately 1.2 billion dollars, Hansoh Pharma at up to approximately 1.5 billion dollars and Eli Lilly at up to approximately 560 million dollars in potential value. Per programme economics and the split between upfront, research funding and success milestones are not disclosed. Reporting also indicates the organization has become leaner while focusing on advancing AtomNet derived candidates, which is a material commercial fact for anyone assessing counterparty durability.

AA on Setting and Specialty CoverageWhere the product is validated to operate is named and supported, settings and specialties both, whether the coverage is broad or deliberately narrow.
Vendor Published

The broadest demonstrated coverage in this category, and demonstrated is the operative word. The AIMS study reports finding novel hits across every major therapeutic area and protein class, tested across 318 targets nominated by more than 250 independent laboratories in 30 countries rather than selected by the vendor, and explicitly includes historically difficult classes such as protein protein interactions and allosteric sites. Modality is confined to small molecules, which is the real limit here rather than therapeutic area.

Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Not published
Discovery collaboration and screening engagement with milestone and royalty economics. Academic access has been provided through a collaborative research programme. Not published. Vendor Published

No rate card is published and the engagement model is collaboration rather than software licensing. Reported headline deal values include Sanofi at approximately 1.2 billion dollars, Hansoh Pharma at up to approximately 1.5 billion dollars and Eli Lilly at up to approximately 560 million dollars in potential value, though the split between upfront payments, research funding and success milestones is not disclosed.

Notable commercially: the AIMS programme gave more than 250 academic laboratories across 30 countries access to AtomNet screening, which is a materially different access posture from the partnership only platforms in this category. Reporting also indicates the organization has become leaner while focusing on advancing AtomNet derived candidates, which buyers should factor into counterparty durability.