Clinical Trials AI
A

Aetion

Aetion makes the Aetion Evidence Platform, software for designing and running real-world evidence studies on health data. Datavant completed its acquisition of Aetion in July 2025, and the platform is now sold by Datavant as part of its Life Sciences business; aetion.com forwards to datavant.com. Customers are drug and device makers, payers and regulators, who use it for comparative effectiveness and safety studies, external control arms, label expansions and health technology assessment submissions.

The platform runs studies with pre-specified protocols, protocol locking, templated study designs and full audit trails. Aetion Substantiate handles regulatory-grade descriptive and causal analyses, and Aetion Activate, launched in August 2025, prepares analysis-ready datasets with point-and-click tools and a hosted coding environment. Datavant is adding AI agents built on frontier language models, including Explore Assistant, which turns plain-language questions into queries, and Measures Builder, which drafts study algorithms, with scientists reviewing their output at set points.

The platform's method was tested in RCT-DUPLICATE, an FDA-funded project led by Brigham and Women's Hospital that emulated 32 drug trials in claims data, registered every protocol in advance and ran the studies on the Aetion Evidence Platform. Results in JAMA in 2023 showed close agreement where the trial design could be reproduced in claims data and weaker agreement where it could not. Evidence produced on Aetion Substantiate also supported FDA's 2024 approval of Dupixent for adolescents with chronic rhinosinusitis with nasal polyps. The platform is sold through AWS Marketplace, where a 12-month contract is listed at $600,000.

AI Health Index verifiedSeptember 29, 2026
Compare Aetion with other vendors
Founded
—
Headquarters
New York, New York, United States
Categories
clinical-trials-ai, clinical-reference-and-evidence
Indexed Products
Aetion Evidence Platform, Aetion Substantiate, Aetion Activate, Explore Assistant, Measures Builder
Buyer Segments
Pharma / Life Sciences, Medical device manufacturers, Payer, Government
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
CC on AI CentralityArtificial intelligence is a feature layer on a product whose value stands without it. A learned component is a model whose parameters are estimated from data: machine learning, or a statistical model fitted to population data, including one then updated on the patient measurements. A fixed formula, a rule set, or a feedback controller that adjusts a dosing factor from the patient own readings is not one, however patient specific its output and whatever the vendor calls the adjustment.
Vendor Published

The core of the Aetion Evidence Platform is statistical method rather than machine learning: cohort definition, confounding adjustment and comparative effect estimation run as specified epidemiologic methods in software. That engine is what customers have bought for a decade, and it works without any learned model.

The learned components sit on top. Datavant, which has owned Aetion since July 2025, describes an agentic layer built on frontier large language models: Explore Assistant turns plain language questions into executable queries, Measures Builder drafts study algorithms through guided natural language, and agents call the platform's existing tools for data exploration, privacy assessment and measure creation. These speed up the work but do not produce the effect estimates.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

The platform limits what an analyst, or an agent, can do quietly. Study workflows support protocol locking, controlled access to interim results and full logging of analytic actions, and each study keeps a plain text audit trail. For the AI agents, Datavant names the review points: its data insights team checks agent recommendations on data sources against prior experience, scientists check attrition tables after cohort generation, agents reach production only after passing prespecified thresholds, and performance is monitored afterward.

The thresholds are not published, and nothing states what an agent may not do on its own, such as whether it can alter a locked protocol or move an exploratory result into a prespecified analysis.

BB on Model and Technology TransparencyThe approach or the suppliers are named without the version and update discipline behind them. Naming a supplier is the entry to this band both here and on Model Supply Chain Disclosure, which ask different questions of the same disclosure: who receives the data, and what produces the output.
Vendor Published

The statistical side is open: the epidemiologic methods, including target trial emulation, active comparator designs and confounding control, are published by named authors and documented in Datavant's descriptions of its study framework. The AI side is described by approach: frontier large language models at the core, constrained by structured data, retrieval over vetted scientific material, and agents that call the platform's validated tools rather than writing analyses freely.

The language models and their providers are not named, and no versions or release history are published, so a change in the model behind an agent would not be visible.

CC on Model Supply Chain DisclosureThe architecture is described and no model provider is named. Naming a hosting provider alone does not lift a record out of this band. Record the host in the note, because it matters for residency and breach scope, and grade on the model layer, which is the question this axis is named for.
Vendor Published

The architecture is described but the model layer is not named. The agents run on frontier large language models from providers Datavant does not identify, with retrieval over study protocols and prior analyses and tool calls into the Aetion Evidence Platform and Datavant Connect. The platform is hosted on Amazon Web Services and Datavant Connect runs on AWS Clean Rooms, but naming the host does not say who receives prompts or study context.

Datavant publishes no subprocessor list on its open site, though its trust portal may carry one. Data sources come from a network of more than 300 partners licensed separately by the customer.

AA on Clinical and Operational EvidencePeer reviewed or independently evaluated performance, prospective and multi site where the claim requires it, with the method available to read. The grade describes the strength of the evidence, not its direction: a rigorous study that found no benefit grades by its design, and the note leads with what it found.
Peer Reviewed Publication

The platform has been tested against randomized trials, with the method public. In RCT-DUPLICATE, led by Brigham and Women's Hospital and funded by FDA, researchers emulated 30 completed and 2 ongoing drug trials in insurance claims databases, registering every protocol on ClinicalTrials.gov before analysis; the emulations were run on the Aetion Evidence Platform (JAMA, 2023). Overall agreement with the trials was a Pearson correlation of 0.82, with 75% agreeing on statistical significance. In a post hoc analysis, correlation was 0.93 for the 16 trials whose design could be closely emulated and 0.53 for the 16 that could not. The two ongoing trials were emulated before they reported. First results for 10 trials appeared in Circulation in 2021, and JAMA published a correction notice to the 2023 paper in April 2024.

A named regulatory use also exists: Sanofi and Regeneron used Aetion Substantiate, with Optum claims data, for evidence supporting FDA's 2024 approval of Dupixent for adolescents with chronic rhinosinusitis with nasal polyps. Three caveats apply: one Aetion employee coauthored the JAMA paper and two other authors disclosed consulting fees or equity, the trials were chosen because they suited claims data, and none of this evaluates the newer AI agents.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

The platform mostly handles licensed, deidentified research data, and the published terms answer only part of what matters. The license agreement says the customer owns its data and results, puts licenses and consents for data sources on the customer, and lets Aetion use statistics on platform usage internally, deidentified or aggregated before any disclosure.

The AI layer raises questions the documents leave open. The agents run on frontier language models from unnamed providers, and their retrieval context includes hundreds of deidentified or redacted study protocols and prior analyses, which suggests past customer work informs the tools; no statement says whether a customer's own protocols, queries or data can reach a model provider, how long anything is kept, or whether it trains a model. Datavant does describe how it limits hallucinations (narrow task scope, clear instructions and retrieval from vetted material), which is real safety engineering, but no retention schedule or training position is stated.

Regulatory and Compliance
CC on HIPAA and BAA PostureA status is stated but not supported: compliance is claimed, or business associate status stated, without the underlying document, including where the only privacy notice published covers the website rather than the service that handles patients. The mirror case grades here as well: a substantive privacy document that reaches the service, with no statement of business associate status anywhere and no scope position taken. One of the two elements the band above asks for is present, which is a grade below it and not a grade at the floor.
Vendor Published

Most studies on the platform use de identified data, where the controlling instruments are the HIPAA de identification standards and the license for each data source, not a business associate agreement. The published license agreement takes a position that fits this: the customer is responsible for licenses and consents for its data, and the agreement contains no HIPAA or business associate terms. Datavant states that it acts as a business associate for its medical record retrieval work for providers, and it sells HIPAA Expert Determination as a service, but neither statement is made for the evidence platform.

No business associate status or scope is stated for this product.

DD on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are asserted with nothing independent behind them, or nothing is published. Read the note before concluding anything: this is the grade most often corrected on a second pass, because assurance material frequently sits on a parent domain or inside an old announcement rather than on the product pages.
Vendor Published

Nothing readable names a security certification for this product. Datavant runs a trust portal at trust.datavant.com with a certifications section, including an entry for HITRUST, but which certifications it holds and what they cover is not shown outside the portal. Datavant's security overview page says its technology has passed hundreds of customer security assessments without naming any audit, and the license agreement has no security commitments from Aetion. Aetion's own security material is no longer reachable, because aetion.com now forwards to datavant.com.

A certification Datavant holds for its connectivity or retrieval business may not cover the evidence platform. No published attestation names the Aetion Evidence Platform with a scope and audit period.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalized for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Vendor Published

No device claim is made and none applies: this software produces evidence for submissions and is not itself reviewed by FDA. What governs is the electronic records rule and FDA's real-world evidence guidance. Datavant says the platform supports 21 CFR Part 11 through audit trails, user accountability, system validation and traceability, with protocol locking and logging aligned to FDA, EMA and PMDA expectations; these are the company's statements, with no validation package published.

The regulatory record is real but is not a status. FDA funded the RCT-DUPLICATE project that tested the platform's method, and evidence produced on Aetion Substantiate supported the 2024 Dupixent adolescent label expansion. Neither is FDA approval of the platform.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with. A framework covering the vendor whole portfolio counts when its scope reaches this product; what it cannot supply is the product specific evaluation the band above asks for. Published results within the one group where the performance of this product is most at risk also sit here: evaluation on the question this axis asks, short of the comparison across groups the band above requires. A medical device clearance or certification, and the quality system behind it, does not reach this band on its own; it is graded under regulatory status. A regulator reviewed plan governing how the model may change does reach it.
Vendor Published

Datavant describes a named process for governing the AI agents (April 2026). Scientific evaluations are the control system: agents must meet prespecified thresholds before production, evidence generation agents are benchmarked against historical cohort definitions, and agents are tested on choosing fit for purpose data, implementing study algorithms correctly and controlling for confounding. More than 50 epidemiologists build the evaluations, agents are rolled out one task at a time, and performance is monitored after release. The statistical methods behind the platform are published in the peer reviewed literature under named authors.

No evaluation result is published, the thresholds are not stated, and nothing is reported by patient group or data source. The retrieval layer draws on hundreds of de identified or redacted study protocols and prior analyses, and nothing says how that corpus is selected or whether its gaps shape what agents propose.

BB on AI Liability and RecourseA published falsifiable commitment, or a real correction route the affected person can exercise against the vendor. A published error rate with its method and denominator grades here. A statutory right that runs to the covered entity rather than to the vendor does not reach this band on its own: every other route here asks something of the vendor, and being located in a particular jurisdiction is not conduct.
Vendor Published

The end user license agreement for the Aetion Evidence Platform is published with the AWS Marketplace listing, and it carries commitments a customer can enforce. Aetion warrants that the platform will be provided substantially in line with the order and its documentation, and that its services will be performed in a professional and workmanlike manner with reasonable skill and care. It indemnifies the customer against third-party claims for intellectual property infringement, breach of confidentiality, gross negligence and bodily injury.

The results are not covered. The agreement says Aetion does not warrant that results generated on the platform will meet the customer's objectives, disclaims all other warranties, and caps each party's liability at the fees paid in the 12 months before a claim. Studies are auditable, with protocol locking and tamper-proof logs, so an error can be traced.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

This is research software that never touches a clinical record system. Its connections are to licensed research datasets: claims and electronic health record derived data from Datavant's network of more than 300 data partners, with some sources, such as Optum Clinformatics, already connected to Substantiate, plus linkage through Datavant's tokenization. Analysts work in R, SQL and Python inside the platform, and the customer is responsible for licensing and connecting any third party database.

No buyer system of record is named as an integration and no common data model commitment is published, so it is unclear whether a study specification can move to another platform without being rebuilt.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

The deployment is stated. The license agreement has the customer pay for an Amazon Web Services instance that hosts the platform, set up to Aetion's specifications, so each customer runs on its own instance; the Marketplace listing describes the product as software as a service deployed on AWS and says other deployment options exist. Datavant Connect, which lets customers assess third party datasets, runs on AWS Clean Rooms within the customer's own secure research environment.

No AWS region is committed, and the processing path for the AI agents is open: they run on frontier language models from unnamed providers, so it is not stated whether prompts or study context leave the customer's instance.

Commercial
BB on Commercial TransparencyA price or a pricing basis is published without full tiers, so a buyer can size the cost before making contact.
Vendor Published

The cost can be sized before a sales call. The AWS Marketplace listing, sold by Datavant, shows a 12 month contract for the Aetion Evidence Platform at $600,000, with one pricing dimension, named users, set in a private offer by user count and use cases. The license agreement adds a three year initial term that renews yearly unless either side gives 30 days' notice, and makes the customer pay for the AWS instance that hosts the platform and for connecting any licensed third party databases.

There are no tiers, and the listed figure is a starting point for negotiation. Scientific services from Datavant's epidemiologists are sold separately and not priced.

BB on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is named with validation behind part of it.
Vendor Published

The platform serves research rather than care, for drug and device makers, payers and regulators, across the product lifecycle: clinical development, external control arms, post approval safety, label expansion, comparative effectiveness and health technology assessment. It is not limited to a therapeutic area; what it can study depends on the data a customer licenses.

Validation covers part of that range. RCT-DUPLICATE tested drug trials in claims data, mostly cardiovascular, diabetes and other chronic disease, and the named regulatory use is one label expansion. Conditions poorly captured in claims are harder to study, and no list of therapeutic areas or regulators where evidence from the platform was accepted is published.

Alternatives

Alternatives to Aetion

Vendors in the same categories as Aetion whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Palo Alto company whose clinical trial platform runs electronic outcome assessment, electronic consent, televisit and participant apps for decentralized, hybrid and site based studies, now…

Medical AI company, with offices in Jersey City and Athens, whose Synapsis AI model reads full electronic medical records and answers specific clinical questions from structured and…

Campbell, California company selling a clinical data platform and AI modules to pharmaceutical and biotechnology sponsors and contract research organizations.

Truveta is owned by 30 US health systems that contribute de-identified health records every day to a shared research dataset.

Research Triangle Park, North Carolina provider of clinical research services, health data and technology to life sciences companies.

Oncology clinical trial matching and enrollment company based in Boca Raton, Florida.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the fifteen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
$600,000 for a 12-month contract (AWS Marketplace listing, private offer)
$600,000 baseline
Annual contract priced by named users and use cases, sold by Datavant as a private offer through AWS Marketplace. Three-year initial term under the published license agreement, renewing yearly. Not stated for this product. The license agreement has no HIPAA terms and makes the customer responsible for data licenses and consents. Not published. The customer pays for the AWS instance that hosts the platform and for connecting any licensed third-party databases; scientific services are quoted separately. Vendor Published

The AWS Marketplace listing, sold by Datavant, shows one pricing dimension (named users) and a 12-month contract figure of $600,000, with final terms set in a private offer by user count and use cases. The published license agreement sets a three-year initial term that renews yearly unless either side gives 30 days' notice, caps each party's liability at the prior 12 months' fees, and makes the customer pay for AWS hosting and third-party database connections. Scientific services from Datavant's epidemiologists and data licenses are priced separately. Ask how the fee scales with users and what services and data are included in a quote.