Diagnostics & Genomics
4

4baseCare

Precision oncology company operating hospital linked genomics laboratories across India, Dubai, Nepal, and the Philippines, paired with OncoTwin, an AI clinical decision support platform that draws treatment insights from real world clinico genomic and outcomes linked data. Its stated thesis is that most genomic reference data represents Caucasian populations, and it builds population specific panels for South Asian and other underrepresented groups.

AI Health Index verifiedJuly 28, 2026
Compare 4baseCare with other vendors
Founded
2019
Headquarters
Bengaluru, Karnataka, India
Categories
diagnostics-and-genomics, clinical-decision-support, clinical-trials-ai
Assessment

Capability Axes

An AI Health Index grade measures what a buyer can verify from public sources on the date shown. It is not a rating of how good the product is. A vendor can build an excellent system and grade low on an axis because it publishes nothing an outsider can check. How grades read

AI Capability
BB on AI CentralityThe model is the engine of a core module. The platform carries other value, but this capability does not exist without it.
Vendor Published

Two businesses sit under one name and only one is AI led. The core revenue engine is a genomics laboratory network running next generation sequencing panels, which is wet lab diagnostics rather than AI. OncoTwin, the clinical decision support layer that derives treatment insights from clinico genomic and outcomes linked data and is stated to learn continuously from real world results, is genuinely AI led. Buyers should be clear which they are purchasing, because the grade for the platform alone would be higher than the grade for the company as a whole.

BB on Autonomy and Oversight ModelThe oversight structure is described and one part is missing, commonly the threshold at which the system stops or what happens after it is wrong.
Vendor Published

Correctly positioned as decision support rather than autonomous decision making: the stated function is to support oncologists with faster and more confident insights, with the treating clinician retaining the therapy decision. Molecular tumor board intelligence is listed among the services, which situates the output inside an existing multidisciplinary review structure rather than around it. No disclosure was located on how model derived recommendations are presented against their evidence, so the reviewability of an individual recommendation is unverified.

CC on Model and Technology TransparencyThe architecture is described in general terms with nothing identified. Proprietary is asserted rather than explained.
Vendor Published

The data strategy is disclosed clearly and the model is not. The company is specific that it builds population specific reference data, having developed a South Asian population specific cancer gene panel by profiling the whole exome and transcriptome of a stated 1,500 plus cancer patients across India, and it names custom in house algorithms for treatment recommendation. No model architecture, validation methodology, or performance figures for OncoTwin itself were located.

DD on Model Supply Chain DisclosureNothing establishes who else sits between a patient record and an answer.
Vendor Published

Nothing identifies any party in the chain, and a second reading shows the data is the strategy rather than a byproduct of it, which makes the absence more consequential than usual. The company states it is building a large longitudinal clinico genomic database drawn from populations that existing genomic references under represent, that its decision support platform learns continuously from real world clinico genomic data, and that its population specific gene panel was constructed from patient data gathered across its own network, with laboratories embedded inside partner hospitals across several countries.

Two things are true at once and a fair reading needs both. The founding thesis is correct and the work is valuable: genomic reference data is heavily skewed toward European ancestry populations, that skew produces worse care for everyone else, and closing it is a genuine public good very few organisations are attempting.

And the mechanism by which it closes is that patients in under served regions supply the genomic and outcome data that makes a private database valuable precisely because no one else holds it. Nothing published addresses what patients are told about secondary use when consenting to a diagnostic test, whether database inclusion is separable from receiving the test, what governs use for platform development or pharmaceutical partnerships, whether anything returns to the contributing institutions or communities, or the retention and withdrawal position given that genomic data is durably re identifiable. A hospital partner should get all of that in writing.

CC on Clinical and Operational EvidenceNamed customers, or vendor reported percentages with no method, denominator or reference standard. Scale of use is recorded here and is not treated as evidence of benefit.
Vendor Published

Evidence is stronger on the diagnostic side than the AI side. The assays are described as validated to detect somatic mutations with high sensitivity and specificity including low frequency alterations, the company reports more than 10,000 patients tested and collaborations with over 300 oncologists, and research has been presented at ASCO. Selection into the Memorial Sloan Kettering iHub program is a meaningful third party signal for OncoTwin specifically. What does not yet exist publicly is outcome evidence that OncoTwin's recommendations change treatment decisions or results, which is the claim that would move this grade.

CC on AI Safety and PHI StewardshipGeneral assurances of privacy and security that do not answer the questions artificial intelligence raises: what is retained, what reaches a model, and what happens to it there.
Vendor Published

Converted from Not Rated. No data protection or stewardship framework was located, and a second search makes the gap more consequential rather than less, because it shows the data is the strategy rather than a byproduct of it.

The company states that it is building a large longitudinal clinico genomic database drawn from populations that existing genomic references under represent, that its decision support platform learns continuously from real world clinico genomic data, and that its population specific gene panel was constructed from patient data gathered across its own network. Its laboratories are embedded inside partner hospitals across several countries, so the records originate with those institutions and their patients, and the stated expansion path adds further regions.

Two things are true at once here and a fair reading needs both. The founding thesis is correct and the work is valuable: genomic reference data is heavily skewed toward European ancestry populations, that skew produces worse care for everyone else, and closing it is a genuine public good that very few organisations are attempting. And the mechanism by which it closes is that patients in under served regions supply the genomic and outcome data that makes a private database valuable precisely because no one else holds it.

That is the stewardship question, and nothing published answers it. What are patients told about secondary use when they consent to a diagnostic test. Whether database inclusion is separable from receiving the test. What governs use of the accumulated data for platform development, for pharmaceutical partnerships, or for validation against datasets held abroad. Whether any of it returns to the contributing institutions or communities. And what the retention and withdrawal position is, given that genomic data is durably re identifiable and cannot be meaningfully anonymised.

A hospital partner or a pharmaceutical counterparty should get all of that in writing. It is the kind of question a research ethics committee would ask and a commercial diligence process often does not.

Regulatory and Compliance
BB on HIPAA and BAA PostureBusiness associate status is stated and supported by a substantive privacy document, with the agreement or its scope not fully published. For a vendor outside the United States, an equivalent regime documented to this depth grades here.
Vendor Published

Converted from Not Rated. A scoping determination rather than an absence finding, and the prior reasoning was right: the reason no posture is published is that the regime largely does not apply to how this company operates.

The laboratories sit in India, Dubai, Nepal and the Philippines, serving patients and hospitals in those markets. The instruments that govern that processing are the national data protection laws of the jurisdictions involved, together with any local rules specific to genetic and health data, which several of those countries treat as a distinct category. The United States health privacy rule reaches a vendor through its relationship with a covered entity, and that relationship is not the shape of this business. Grading the absence of a business associate agreement as a gap would misdescribe the company.

What that means practically, and it is the useful part of this row. A United States institution engaging this company is not stepping into an existing compliance posture; it would be constructing one. It would need to establish whether the company will accept business associate status at all, which entity would sign, and how cross border transfer of genomic sequence data and linked outcomes is handled in both directions. Genomic data is durably re identifiable and moves under export and localisation rules in several of these jurisdictions independently of any privacy analysis, so the transfer question is not answered by an agreement alone.

Held at B rather than higher because the company publishes no data protection position for its own markets either. The scoping is clear; the disclosure within that scoping is not.

CC on Security Certifications and Trust CenterControls are described with an outside check behind them, such as independent penetration testing on a stated cadence, but no attestation against a recognised framework.
Vendor Published

Converted from Not Rated. No SOC 2, ISO 27001, HITRUST or equivalent information security attestation was located and there is no trust centre.

The distinction the prior note drew is the important part of this row, and a second search has now confirmed both halves of it. The company does hold a real and demanding accreditation: its Dubai laboratory achieved College of American Pathologists accreditation in March 2025, and it describes accredited facilities across its Indian network. That is not a token. Laboratory accreditation of that kind examines analytical validity, proficiency testing, personnel qualifications, specimen handling and procedural documentation, and it is hard to obtain and hold.

It says nothing whatever about information security. It does not examine access management, encryption, network segregation, incident response, change control or supply chain. A buyer looking at a page of accreditation marks can easily read them as covering the whole operation, and here they cover the wet laboratory and the assay, not the platform, the database or the movement of sequence data between countries.

That matters more for this company than for most laboratories, because the accredited laboratory is only one half of what it sells. The other half is a clinical decision support platform reasoning over an accumulating clinico genomic database, and no assurance of any kind attaches to that.

Ask for an information security attestation separately and by name, and confirm what it is scoped to. If the answer is the laboratory accreditation, that is an answer to a different question.

CC on FDA and Regulatory StatusNo device claim is made and the product is scoped accordingly. Most administrative and operational products sit here and are not penalised for it, because this axis grades the appropriateness of the positioning rather than possession of a clearance.
Third Party Estimated

No FDA clearance is claimed and no United States regulatory pathway is evidenced, which is consistent with a company operating outside the United States market. The substantive quality credential is CAP accreditation from the College of American Pathologists, confirmed by CAP itself for the Dubai Science Park laboratory in March 2025 and stated for facilities across India.

CAP accreditation is a real and verifiable standard for laboratory operations, but it is not a regulatory clearance of the AI platform, and buyers should not treat OncoTwin as carrying any device authorization.

BB on AI Governance and Bias DisclosureA governance framework with named process behind it, such as certification to an artificial intelligence management standard, or material written for a customer own review committee to evaluate the product with.
Vendor Published

Unusual and worth noting: bias is the company's stated founding thesis rather than an afterthought. It argues publicly that most genomic datasets and clinical trials overrepresent Caucasian populations, that cancer behaves differently across populations, and that this creates treatment discrepancies for South Asian patients, then builds population specific panels in response. That is a substantive engagement with representational bias that most vendors in this index never attempt. It stops short of an A because there is no published governance program, monitoring commitment, or measured performance comparison across the populations in question.

CC on AI Liability and RecourseMechanisms exist that let someone challenge an output, such as audit trails, source traceability or review before commit, with nothing standing behind the output and no route for the harmed party.
Vendor Published

The data strategy is disclosed clearly and the model is not, which is the reverse of the usual pattern in this lane and worth crediting on its own terms. The company is specific that it builds population specific reference data, having developed a regional cancer gene panel by profiling the whole exome and transcriptome of a stated cohort of more than fifteen hundred cancer patients, and it names custom in house algorithms for treatment recommendation.

Describing how the reference was constructed is the harder half to disclose and the more consequential one, because a variant interpretation is only as good as the population it is compared against, and a reader can judge whether a cohort of that size supports the claims being made for it. Held at C because the recommendation layer is undescribed.

No model architecture, validation methodology or performance figures were located for the treatment recommendation platform, and no warranty, indemnity or remediation commitment attaches. That layer is where the consequential output sits, since a recommendation reaches an oncologist's decision, and the reference panel work does not substantiate it: building a better comparator establishes that variants will be called more accurately for this population, and says nothing about whether the treatment inference drawn from those variants is sound. Ask for validation of the recommendation layer specifically, concordance with a tumour board, and how the system behaves on variants of uncertain significance.

Integration and Deployment
CC on EHR and Interoperability DepthIntegration is claimed through standards or a middleware layer with no system named and nothing to verify.
Vendor Published

Integration is physical and organizational rather than technical: the hospital linked laboratory model places sequencing capability inside partner institutions including named hospitals in India, which shortens turnaround and embeds the company in the clinical pathway. AI powered medical record management is referenced as part of the patient platform. No HL7, FHIR, or named EHR integration was located, so a buyer should not assume results flow into the chart automatically.

BB on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyOptions and residency are stated with isolation or the processing path left open.
Vendor Published

The in hospital laboratory model is itself a data residency answer, and a deliberate one: the company describes moving away from shipping samples to centralized metro labs so that testing and analysis happen locally, with CAP accredited facilities in Bengaluru, Jammu, Kerala, Nepal, Dubai, and the Philippines. For institutions in markets with data localization requirements this is a genuine structural advantage. Cloud hosting and residency terms for the OncoTwin platform layer are not separately disclosed.

Commercial
CC on Commercial TransparencyNo price is published and the posture is discoverable: a buyer can establish how the product is sold and what drives the cost before contacting the vendor. Most of the index sits here.
Vendor Published

No published pricing for the genomic panels or for OncoTwin, and no disclosure of whether the platform is sold separately from testing or bundled with it. Reported company revenue figures and funding are public, but nothing that lets a buyer estimate cost.

CC on Setting and Specialty CoverageCoverage is claimed broadly without specifics, or stated clearly with nothing validating it yet.
Vendor Published

Single specialty by design, which is oncology, spanning solid tumor profiling, ctDNA liquid biopsy, and hereditary germline risk testing, with services extending to molecular tumor board intelligence and clinical trial optimization. Geographic coverage is the more distinctive dimension: active in India, Dubai, Nepal, and the Philippines with stated plans to enter eight to ten additional countries. United States and European institutions are not the served market today.

Tracked Since Listing

What Changed

Material product, regulatory, evidence and commercial changes at 4baseCare, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.

Aug 18, 2026Product / capabilityPartially verified

4baseCare launched TARGT Indiegene V2, a cancer profiling panel expanded to cover 2,206 genes. The updated panel is positioned by the vendor as providing precision oncology insights tailored for diverse and historically underrepresented populations.

Bears on: Setting and Specialty CoverageSource
Our read on this change →Tracked since Aug 2026
Comparisons

Compared With

Each comparison carries a written verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side. Pairs that cross a category boundary are grouped separately, and their verdicts state where the boundary sits rather than manufacturing a head to head.

Commercial

Pricing

Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.

Entry Price Pricing Basis BAA Tier Implementation Source
Contact the vendor
Undisclosed. Revenue derives from genomic testing volume with the OncoTwin decision support layer of unclear commercial separation. No BAA posture published. Operating jurisdictions are India, the UAE, Nepal, and the Philippines, where local data protection law rather than HIPAA governs. Not disclosed. The hospital linked laboratory model implies a capital and operational arrangement with partner institutions whose terms are not public. Vendor Published

No pricing was located for either the genomic panels or the OncoTwin platform, and it is not disclosed whether the platform is sold separately from testing or bundled with it. Company reported revenue of over 35 crore rupees for fiscal 2025 with a stated target of 100 crore within 12 to 18 months indicates scale but does not help a buyer estimate cost.